We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Swan Country Pub and Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
41 Main Road, Higher Kinnerton CH4 9AJ, Wales
+44 1244 292933
Website
Today
12:00 - 20:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 17:00
Tue - Fri 12:00 - 20:00
Sat 12:00 - 19:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 89: English reviews
Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Booked for 5 adults, one child and a toddler and were not disappointed. Very reasonably priced at £8.95 a head. Generous meat portions and a lovely selection of veg. Deserts at £2.95 couldn't be ignored either. All the staff were friendly and efficient. Will definitely be coming back again.

Helpful?
Thank MusingJules
neil b, Owner at The Swan Country Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us. I would just like to let you know that our carvery is priced at £7.95 for adults and £4.00 for children under 12. We look forward to welcoming you again here at The Swan. Kind regards, Neil and Barbara More 

Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly staff - have been several times for Sunday carvery but today meat was especially excellent so tasty family meal for eight - we will be back for sure

Helpful?
Thank suecannon50
neil b, Owner at The Swan Country Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your review ,hope to see you again soon ,I will pass on the message to the staff. Thanks Neil More 

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went for evening meal, whilst on first day of a stay at anearby holiday cottage. Excellent food, service and value for money. Steak pie nearly as good as my mum's. Wife had a steak which she fully enjoyed.

Helpful?
Thank ADEJOE
neil b, Owner at The Swan Country Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Swan .I'm glad you enjoyed your meals, hope to see you again Neil & Barbara More 

Shotton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our family have visited this place 3 or 4 times over the last 18 months. There is always at least 8 of us adults and kids and we have really enjoyed it. Great carvery good starter menu and sweet menu - good value for monye

Helpful?
Thank Dave F
neil b, Owner at The Swan Country Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review

Hope to see you again soon ,were glad you enjoyed your visit. Thanks Neil & Barbara More 

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Possible the single worst evening in a pub ever. Poor selection of beers / ciders and made to feel most unwelcome and disappointing. Thank God they patrons are friendly. Oh and thank Morrisey. Hang the DJ!

Helpful?
Thank jonesey6969
neil b, Owner at The Swan Country Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you did not find anything enjoyable at the swan, With regards to the poor selection of drinks ,we stock Thatchers Gold on draught , Magners bottled and Brothers wild fruit , we stock Carling Coors and San Miguel on draught , bottled we have Peroni ,Bud, Becks, Stella , Erdinger Weiss beer WKD blue... More 

Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2017

My friend and I visited the Swan for lunch. We were made very welcome and enjoyed a delicious meal. Nothing was too much trouble and the food was reasonably priced. I can't imagine why I have not been there for at least 18 months. I have already made plans to visit again in 2 weeks time with different friends.

Helpful?
1 Thank Handbells2013
neil b, Owner at The Swan Country Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review

thank you so much for the time you spent to write this review ,I hope you enjoy your next visit as well, comments like these really boost our staff and moral .We have a new menu offering more steaks and a different range of specials. Kind regards More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2017

My husband and I were invited to the Swan for New Year's Day lunch. Our table was reserved and ready. Service was immediate at the table..........no queuing at a till to order. There were a choice of starters. I had the pate which was really nice. I then had the carvery for mains. They were generous with the meat, turkey,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Karin S
neil b, Owner at The Swan Country Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you again here at The Swan. More 

Wrexham County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Every Sunday we used to go and try to find somewhere for proper Sunday Lunch, plenty of places advertise great prices but you could have better at home. Now we go to the Swan because fabulous choice of meats, roasties, mash to die for and fresh veg and so reasonable priced would definitely recommend

Helpful?
Thank yaliexpat
neil b, Owner at The Swan Country Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Went as a family for a meal on boxing day was very disappointed we sat at our table and the waitress took our order they brought all adult starters out then said the kids starters would not be a minute we had all eaten starters so went to bar to find out were kids starters were they then told me... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank bekiboo135
derbyshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2016

Had a lunch meal pie &mash , pretty sure it was packet mash frozen veg ,price ok for what you got. Large place which was ok. My wife had a snack which was fine & good value.

Helpful?
1 Thank bucksDerbyshire
neil b, Owner at The Swan Country Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. In response to your comments, I'm pleased that your wife enjoyed her toastie. The peas on your meal were frozen as fresh peas are not in season, however the carrots were fresh and we have NEVER used packet mashed potato. If you had addressed your comments to me while you... More 

Travellers who viewed The Swan Country Pub and Restaurant also viewed

Higher Kinnerton, Flintshire
Chester, Cheshire
 
Penyffordd, Flintshire
 

Been to The Swan Country Pub and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 6 - US$ 17
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Television, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 20:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 20:00
Thursday
12:00 - 20:00
Friday
12:00 - 20:00
Saturday
12:00 - 19:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 41 Main Road, Higher Kinnerton CH4 9AJ, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  North Wales  >  Flintshire  >  Higher Kinnerton
  • Phone Number: +44 1244 292933
Description
Since September 2015 we are trading as a value food pub with a range of entertainment .We are child friendly , but have a policy of no children after 9pm. We have a food hygiene rating of 5.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Swan Country Pub and Restaurant and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Swan Country Pub and Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?