We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Mexican, Southwestern, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1101 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302-5116 (11th)
+1 303-444-3690
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:59
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Mon 11:00 - 21:00
Tue - Wed 11:00 - 22:00
Thu - Sat 11:00 - 23:59
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

196 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 192: English reviews
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ended up here after our friends first choice was an hour to an hour and a half wait. Enjoyed the roof, playlist, food and service. Our server was friendly and didn't seem to mind that we were a little weird and rowdy. Loved my veggie fajitas and no one else had any complaints. I was a little concerned about the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Zoe K
Derek S, General Manager at Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review

Zoe, Thanks for the great review. We love weird and rowdy! Glad you had a great time. Thanks again More 

Johnstown, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Not impressed!! We were hoping to be in and out, since we had tickets to the CU Volleyball game at 6. We got to the restaurant about 4:30 and there wasn't hardly anyone there. Perfect right, or so we thought. Service was painfully slow, and the food was even slower coming out. When it finally did arrive it was cool... More 

Helpful?
Thank afpeace
Derek S, General Manager at Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. I wanted to apologize for your experience. We pride ourselves on fast friendly service and delicious hot food and I am sorry we failed you this time. I hope you will give us another chance to show you this was a one off. More 

Berkley, Michigan
Level Contributor
202 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a delicious lunch here on a beautiful day - they had "moisturizers" running to keep you cool. Being shot with mist was a little weird but it was good food and the view is awesome.

Helpful?
Thank IntegrityMatters52
Derek S, General Manager at Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review the Rio. Glad you had a great time, hope to see you soon. More 

New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
134 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2016

Dined with friends in the bar area to skip the wait (though it would have been short). Service was pleasant, $7 margaritas were tasty but tequila was definitely on the cheap side. Food was decent. All in all would return.

Helpful?
Thank Classic247
Derek S, General Manager at Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. Glad you had a great time. We offer several different styles of margaritas if you are looking for a tequila upgrade or you can choose from our huge selection of fine tequilas. See you soon. More 

Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2016

This RG restaurant experience left me with no appetite. There was no line, and roughly 1/3 of the tables were occupied. We were seated promptly. The first warning was the dank and horrible smell of dirty table rags, food and spilled drinks. The second warning was we were seated next to a table of loud and inebriated patrons. Naturally because... More 

Helpful?
Thank jakeo254
Derek S, General Manager at Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review

Jakeo254, I wanted to apologize for your experience. We strive for great service and it sounds like we failed you this time. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We will certainly use your feedback to improve. More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2016

The atmosphere here is quite busy, especially during dinner hour. Although their food is very delicious, if you enjoy Mexican food. The winner here is their Margaritas! Not only are they delicious but somehow you just don't want one Margarita, they're that good! :) My suggestion is to try to get there around 5 pm or as soon as they... More 

Helpful?
Thank JillandCarlos
Derek S, General Manager at Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review. We really appreciate you taking the time. Look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Granada Hills, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2016

We had a wonderful dinner at the Rio Grande, it was traditional Mexican fare with a wide assortment of tequilas and other tropical/exotic drinks. The frajitas were particularly good but everyone in our party loved their dinner. They also have a rooftop bar where you can enjoy dessert and view the Flatirons.

Helpful?
Thank Bridget B
Derek S, General Manager at Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for the 5 star review! Glad you had a great time. Look forward to seeing again next time. More 

San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

In town for labor day weekend. Great view on roof top. Humbling to see staff carry the food from first floor to 3rd floor roof. Good food, like music as bar next door roof top.

Helpful?
Thank Meg S
Derek S, General Manager at Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Glad you had a great time. Hope to see you again next time you are in town. More 

Granite Bay, California, United States
Level Contributor
107 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2016

Visiting boulder and the family we were with decided on Rio Grande. Living in Mexico, I wasn't too excited. The girl who checked us in was nice and efficient. No problem there. But from there the problems began. They brought water and chips fast and then...30-40 minutes later she took our order. They brought us our meal in about 15-20... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robin M
Derek S, General Manager at Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Glad you enjoy the food. I wanted to apologize that it took so long for the server to close out your table. We strive for fast and caring service and I apologize that we failed you. I hope you will give us another chance next time you are in town. More 

Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2016

The Rio is a great spot for happy hour, date night, or to meet friends. Delicious margaritas and a huge menu. The rooftop area is wonderful in the summer.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
Derek S, General Manager at Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant, responded to this review

Sarah, Thank you for being such a great regular customer, we really appreciate you. More 

Travellers who viewed Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 20
Cuisine
Mexican, Southwestern, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 21:00
Monday
11:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:59
Friday
11:00 - 23:59
Saturday
11:00 - 23:59
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1101 Walnut St, Boulder, CO 80302-5116
    (11th)
  • Location: United States  >  Colorado (CO)  >  Boulder
  • Phone Number: +1 303-444-3690
Description
Step away from the Pearl Street Mall and escape to the Rio. Featuring a rooftop deck with spectacular mountain views - for a little weekend spirit every day of the week. The Boulder Rio is seriously good, whether you're bringing the family for dinner or just bringing your thirst for a good time.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rio Grande Mexican Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?