We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Poor House Bistro

Claimed
Order Online
Grubhub

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2016 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

Menu

BRUNCH
$5.0
Beignets
Three hot beignets covered with powdered sugar
$6.0
Bread Pudding
Served with praline sauce
$9.0
Creole Breakfast
Two eggs, ham, bacon, or sausage, grits or hash browns, toast
$10.0
Cajun Scramble
Three eggs scrambled with andouille sausage, bell pepper, onion and Cajun spices, served with Po Boy toast and hash browns
$12.0
Jambalaya Scramble
Our chicken and sausage jambalaya scrambled with three eggs
$9.0
Biscuits & Slow Roasted Meat
Your choice of beef drippin's, pork Cochon de Lait, or spicy BBQ chicken, served over two homemade buttermilk biscuits
$9.0
Creamy Grits & Slow Roasted Meat
Your choice of beef drippin's, pork Cochon de Lait, or spicy BBQ chicken, served over creamy grits
$9.0
Biscuits & Tasso Cream Gravy
Spicy Tasso ham cream sauce, served over two homemade buttermilk biscuits
$9.0
Griddle Cakes with Fresh Fruit
Three pancakes served with your choice of ham, bacon, or sausage, with a side of fresh fruit
$12.0
Pecan Pancakes with Fresh Fruit
Three pancakes mixed with chopped pecans, served with your choice of ham, bacon, or sausage, with a side of fresh fruit
SIDE ORDERS
$2.0
One Egg (Any style)
$4.0
Ham, Bacon or Andouille Sausage
$4.0
Grits or Hash Browns
$3.0
Toast, Buttermilk Biscuit or Pancake
$3.0
Fresh-Fruit Cup
BEVERAGES
$2.0
Chicory Coffee
Regular or Decaf
$2.0
Juice
Orange or Apple
$7.0
PHB Bloody Mary
$7.0
Mimosa
PRICE RANGE
US$ 10 - US$ 15
Meals
Dinner, Lunch, After-hours
CUISINES
Bar, American, Cajun & Creole
FEATURES
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
41
51
13
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
41
51
13
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jambalaya beignets sausage bread red beans and rice muffuletta po boy muffalettas fried oysters sandwiches fries shark tank sharks game new orleans style food cajun cooking buzzer went off great live music a great evening
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On our way through San Jose, my daughter and I were looking for a spot to get a quick bite to eat for lunch. We happened upon the Poor House Bistro and gave it a try. The lunch was good, and I wished that we...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Phyllis S
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fun place with solid Cajun cooking and good blues lineup for entertainment. I had Jambalaya and our party also ordered the muffuletta and the combos which were all delicious and true Cajun. Decent lineup of beers and wines. Fast and reasonably priced. Fun!

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank Bob E
Reviewed 14 November 2018

A friend and fellow music lover was visiting from out of town. I checked the music schedule and Daniel Castro Band was playing! We went early to get a table. The music was fantastic! The food was great. My friend's meal was ready within a...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Michael C
JayM3195, Owner at Poor House Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2018

Hi Michael, Thank you for your review. We hope to always exceed your expectations when you visit Poor House Bistro. Hope to see you again soon. Let the Good Times Roll! -Jay

Reviewed 9 November 2018 via mobile

We caught up with friends for drinks, dinner and music. It was crowded and we waited a while before ordering dinner. Food is decent and reasonable. We ordered food at the counter and picked it up when our buzzer went off. It’s very casual and...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank JVTietjens
JayM3195, Owner at Poor House Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review. We are pleased you enjoyed your time here with friends. Hope to see you back soon. Let the Good Times Roll! -Jay

Reviewed 15 October 2018

We've been going to the Poor House for years. They have amazing food. The BBQ shrimp is to die for. Jambalaya you won't believe. And my personal favorite, red beans and rice. This is right down the street from the Shark Tank (SAP Center) and...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank GoPlaces816175
JayM3195, Owner at Poor House Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to give such a thorough review. We are glad you enjoy both menus and the music! We appreciate your business. We'll see you Sunday for brunch ;). Let the Good Times Roll! -Jay

Reviewed 4 October 2018

This place does a really good job at attempting the New Orleans feel and cuisine, from the live music to the jambalaya. I highly recommend the Blackened Chicken & Tasso Pasta, and also the Cajun Fries. They happen to be my favorite items on the...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank chris_young23
JayM3195, Owner at Poor House Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Hi Chris, Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We appreciate your business. Please come again soon. Let the Good Times Roll! - Jay

Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Walking distance from Amtrak, I popped in for lunch. Happy hour wine $3. Ordered the mixed seafood with fries and slaw. Delicious! Oysters, shrimp and cat fish fried with creole spices served with two tartars, white and orange. But the fries, from real potatoes were...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Stephanie1178
JayM3195, Owner at Poor House Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Hi Stephanie, Thanks for the review. We are glad you were able to enjoy the food and happy hour. We appreciate your business. Please come again soon. Let the Good Times Roll! -Jay

Reviewed 11 August 2018

We went here on my birthday. I love thier beignets! They have all the usual foods from New Orleans. They also have the special coffee.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Linda I
Jay M, Owner at Poor House Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Linda, Thanks for choosing us to help celebrate your birthday. Please come again soon. Thank you for your business. Let the Good Times Roll!

Reviewed 31 July 2018

We just happened to go here before a concert. The food is very good and the portions are pretty large. We had the muffuletta, some crawfish and the roast beef Po boy. All was very good . If you’re going to SAP make sure to...More

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Blouie888
Jay M, Owner at Poor House Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Hi, Thank you for your business. We are glad you enjoyed your time here. Please come visit us again soon. Let the Good Times Roll!

Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

For years I have heard great live music coming from this location. Finally, I found time to find out what it is all about. We will be back, with friends. I ordered a whole muffuletta and I would have eaten it all if I had...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank gregorys247
Jay M, Owner at Poor House Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Hi Greg, Thanks for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed your visit, and we hope to have you back soon. Let the Good Times Roll!

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 77 nearby hotels
AC Hotel by Marriott San Jose Downtown
136 reviews
.56 km away
Arena Hotel
415 reviews
.60 km away
Hotel De Anza
704 reviews
.70 km away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
1,046 reviews
.81 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 2,524 nearby restaurants
Henry's Hi-Life
322 reviews
.68 km away
Whole Foods Market
80 reviews
.48 km away
Paesano Ristorante Italiano
89 reviews
.74 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 265 nearby attractions
Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph
266 reviews
1.00 km away
Children's Discovery Museum
418 reviews
.82 km away
SAP Center
672 reviews
.28 km away
The Tech Museum of Innovation
911 reviews
.95 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Judy1636
16 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Linda I | Reviewed this property |
No reservations accepted here.
1
Vote
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing