We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dead Fish

20050 San Pablo Ave, Crockett, CA 94525-1028
+1 510-787-3323
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good34%
  • Average13%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (17 reviews)
“crab” (85 reviews)
“seafood” (35 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 AM - 10:00 PMAll hours
American, Seafood, Soups, Gluten Free Options
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
20050 San Pablo Ave, Crockett, CA 94525-1028
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

11 - 20 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2017

I've been coming here for years and have experience Sunday brunch, lunch and dinner. Every time it's been great, a little pricey but great. This time we came here to celebrate my mom's birthday. The service and food was wonderful, also surprising here with a...More

Thank NativeCAMamaBear
Cody G, General Manager at The Dead Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for the fantastic rating. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal with us! We pride ourselves on providing exceptional service to our guests at all times so it's very pleasing to hear that we were able to accommodate you during...More

Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

I had the chapinno and it was amazing! The sauce was fantastic. It would be great in a pasta dish as well.More

Thank USA1Emil
Cody G, General Manager at The Dead Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Guest, Thanks for the amazing review. We're thrilled to hear that you had a great dining experience with us! It's wonderful that you enjoyed your meal - the chapinno was an excellent choice! We hope to see you soon to share an even more...More

Reviewed 18 August 2017

Summary based on one lunch with friends: --ok, but nothing special. Expensive for what you get. --view from patio is ok, but nothing special --food is ok, but nothing special --service is ok, but... --free parking, but the lot to the right is a bit...More

Thank Richard H
Cody G, General Manager at The Dead Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

We appreciate the feedback, Richard. We're happy you had a pleasant meal with us despite not exceeding your expectations. We'll address your concerns with the appropriate members of our team moving forward. We do hope to host you again soon for a more positive experience.

Reviewed 17 August 2017

I really like this place. It's in a very unexpected location off the beaten path with awesome views of the Bay looking toward Benecia and Vallejo and the new bridge. The seafood is very fresh and good. Great outdoor seating area in the shade with...More

Thank Iris S
Cody G, General Manager at The Dead Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thanks for the 4-star rating and review, Iris! We're thrilled you had such a pleasant time with us! We strive to offer top-notch service alongside our delicious food. It's fantastic you enjoyed our location and cuisine. That's what we like to see! We appreciate your...More

Reviewed 14 August 2017

This little gem of a restaurant is a destination place for lunch or dinner. Located high on a bluff overlooking Cal Maritime and just over the Benicia Bridge, the restaurant serves delicious seafood. We had a great crab and avocado appetizer and main dishes were...More

Thank Elizabeth G
Cody G, General Manager at The Dead Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you for the excellent review, Elizabeth! It's outstanding you had such an amazing experience with us! We're delighted you enjoyed our fresh and delicious dishes so much and that our team made you feel so welcome and assisted you in any way. We aim...More

Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Their calamari steak melts in your mouth. I would highly recommend it. The roasted crab was a bit small portion for the price.More

Thank Deborah F
Cody G, General Manager at The Dead Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Thanks for your review, Deborah! It's fantastic you had such a wonderful experience with us! We're delighted you enjoyed our mouthwatering dishes so much. The calamari steak was a great choice, a real fan favorite. We strive to ensure our guests have a memorable experience...More

Reviewed 9 August 2017

This restaurant is a small chain belonging to the same group as the Franciscan, Cioppinos, The Stinking Rose, etc. The crab is roasted and oh so good. They do roaseted combos like shrinp, mussels and crab too. The prime rib is also excellent. In fact...More

Thank Melinda B
Cody G, General Manager at The Dead Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you for sharing the outstanding review, Melinda! It was a pleasure hosting you and providing you with a perfectly cooked meal. Serving our guests only the most exceptional cuisine is something we take very seriously and we couldn't be happier that you had such...More

Reviewed 9 August 2017

Making reservations were easy and simple. No wait time until we were seated. Appetizers and food were amazing. You have the option to sit at the bar, get seated at a inside table or have the option to sit outside to enjoy the beautiful view....More

Thank Coco_8116
Cody G, General Manager at The Dead Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you for sharing, Coco! We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful meal with us at The Dead Fish. We're so glad that you loved your meal and our service. We aim to please our guests with our warm hospitality and delicious...More

Reviewed 8 August 2017

Lovely location, great seafood and good service: overall memories are very good. One disappointment however. We booked over a week in advance for a party of 9: a Golden Wedding celebration, and we asked for a table with a nice view. We were place outside...More

Thank MichaelP24442
Cody G, General Manager at The Dead Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you for the 4/5 rating, Michael! We're happy you had a pleasant experience with us and appreciated our location and service. It's unfortunate you had such challenges with your seating. We're disappointed we couldn't accommodate your needs and fix the problem. We hold ourselves...More

Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

Well the view and location is spectacular. They have outside dining and binoculars at some tables near the windows. The food is very good a little spent what do you expect.More

Thank toohuge
Cody G, General Manager at The Dead Fish, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Dear Guest, Thanks for the amazing review!  It's wonderful you enjoyed your time with us so much!  We're delighted you appreciated our convenient location with its beautiful views.  We love sharing our breathtaking sights with our guests and your praise lets us know we're succeeding!...More

Nearby Restaurants
Bull Valley Roadhouse
132 reviews
4.32 km away
The Nantucket
59 reviews
.33 km away
Ricky's Corner
5 reviews
3.81 km away
Nearby Attractions
Benicia State Recreation Area
63 reviews
4.21 km away
San Francisco Bay Ferry Vallejo Service
264 reviews
5.67 km away
Franklin Canyon Golf Course
5 reviews
5.67 km away
Benicia Capitol State Historic Park
62 reviews
6.40 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
21 February 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from KKLMinnesota | Reviewed this property |
I would Not recommend it! Too busy, too crowded! I would be surprised if it is allowed. I work at a restaurant , dogs are not allowed on the deck at all. We have a couple picnic tables down in the grass and if your dog is on... More
26 June 2015|
Response from GiantsFan23 | Reviewed this property |
I have never brought a bottle, but according to their menu, they do not charge a corkage fee. :)
Jan B
20 June 2015|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Karen C | Reviewed this property |
Only service dogs, I believe. The "patio" is more like upscale cabana's although there are some tables and chairs, too.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$ 20
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View
Open Hours
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 20050 San Pablo Ave, Crockett, CA 94525-1028
  • Location: United States  >  California (CA)  >  Crockett
  • Phone Number: +1 510-787-3323
Enjoy spectacular views of the new Carquinez Bridge and serene San Pablo Bay while dining on the lushly planted patio with heated and cooled cabanas and twinkling lights. Unique weekend brunch with specialty cocktails. Specialties include 100% USDA Certified Prime, Prime Rib and whole Dungeness crab. Unique dining rooms for an intimate dinner or a large group. "We may have a funny name but we're dead serious about our food!!"
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing