We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The White Hart

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
British, Pub, Bar
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Butts Lane, Bishopstone, Salisbury SP5 4AA, England
+44 1722 780244
Website
Monday
Closed
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 21:00
Tue - Fri 12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Sat 12:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 62: English reviews
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our Local Dining Out Group booked it's Christmas Dinner at The White Hart. Everything was pre-planned and pre-ordered. The atmosphere was lovely, the food was excellent and we were looked after extremely well for the whole evening. During the evening we had a visit from Sarum Morris Mummers which we had not expected and it really made the evening with... More 

Helpful?
Thank LocalDiningOutGroup
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

Went in for quiet drink n meal with a friend ... but Twas chaos.... 90 people were arriving for a celebration 😱 Twas unable to eat, let alone get up to bar..!!😳 However, have Been before and enjoyed meal....👍

Helpful?
Thank Susan D
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Stopped here mid day during a sporting activity and had the most delicious chicken ham and leek pie!! Base was shortcrust pastry top was puff pastry will go back just for that however the malteser cheesecake should not be missed either!!!

Helpful?
Thank 120ruthb
salisbury
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

There's always this fear that when new people take over a well establish and well loved place standard will drop. Well fear not my friends! Went to celebrate my sons birthday, (the little treasure is, oh blimey, jeez no he can't be, 29 on Monday!) and he likes his steaks medium rare, whoa betide any waiter/chef/doting parents (I know what... More 

Helpful?
Thank daventrace
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2016

A group of 13 of our friends visited The White Hart on Saturday 6th August for a birthday dinner. We all chose our food, 3 courses on the evening. The food was really delicious, well presented and everyone was really pleased. Special thanks to Tom and his team in the kitchen. We were made to feel very welcome. The whole... More 

Helpful?
Thank LocalDiningOutGroup
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

Went to The white hart with my family for a meal and the staff where very welcoming! The food was great and prices where reasonable I would definitely come again and recommend to others ❤️

Helpful?
Thank lazyeight61
Tisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2016

well here i am again after another family occasion which was made very special the staff always make a effort to make things nice we all had off the main menu our ages are from 50 to 80 and none of us found it hard to choose something special my friend had the fish dish and even though i don,t... More 

Helpful?
Thank debbie h
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2016

A group of us met there recently, having had good reports of the pub, but we found it disappointing. As two of us had an allergy to alcohol (used in most of the recipes) we were left with a choice of ham, eggs and chips or Indian curry - or a burger. I was sad that the ham and chips... More 

Helpful?
Thank epicure57_11
Thewhitehartbish, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this review

We are very sorry you felt that your meal/meal choice was disappointing. We take comments like this very seriously. We have a large range of meals over several different menu's. So we are not qiute sure why your choice was limited. I am sure however that possibly you were only provided with our lunch time menu's. Yet if you had... More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

Recently visited the White hart after a day out at the festival . We came in on the off chance of food as we could see the car park was full . The atmosphere was fantastic and it so happens Friday night is curry night . I had the chicken tikka masala and my partner had the red Thai pulled... More 

Helpful?
Thank mcmair2012
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2016

We cycled past the pub seeing the steak night sign. We decided to stop on our return trip to find on steak night they had no steak. We ordered two pints, a curry and a lasagne. One of the pints were off, the curry was worse than what's you would find from your microwave and the lasagne was black on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Trapped A
Thewhitehartbish, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this review

We are really sorry your experience was poor. We are glad that you have brought this to our attention. It is our aim to give every customer the best experience & we aim to put this right for you. If you could contact us directly on 01722 780244 or email us on thewhitehart.bishopstone@gmail.com We hope to hear from you soon More 

Travellers who viewed The White Hart also viewed

 
Ebbesborne Wake, Wiltshire
 

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
British, Pub, Bar
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Reservations
Good for
Business meetings, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Butts Lane, Bishopstone, Salisbury SP5 4AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Salisbury  >  Bishopstone
  • Phone Number: +44 1722 780244

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The White Hart staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?