We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Beatons Tea Rooms

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Square | The Square, Tisbury SP3 6NH, England
+44 1747 871819
Website
Today
08:30 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 09:00 - 17:00
Mon - Sat 08:30 - 17:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 118: English reviews
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stopped by here en route to Bath. It is a lovely, relaxing place and serves up some of the most terrific carrot cake that we have ever tasted. A far cry from all the monotonous corporate brands that characterise most British high streets. And the coffee and tea was also of a very high standard. No Liptons yellow label... More 

Helpful?
Thank stalixbxl
Westbury
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Been here three or four times and the service is always slow...but today Saturday 25 March...broke all known records for slowness. It was excruciating watching the two front of house staff, they didn't appear to have a clue; starting tasks, then moving on to something else before completing the original task. Wandering around with no apparent sense of urgency, or... More 

Helpful?
Thank JohnWestbury
Patrick D, Owner at Beatons Tea Rooms, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us. We do genuinely appreciate all feedback, and especially when we don't get things quite right. Clearly the service you received was not up to the standard we expect of ourselves, and for this I can only apologise. As you have noted, we did have one trainee on and on that particular day,... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent service, lovely selection of teas. Scones were delicious. A bit expensive, but worth paying for friendly service and good food.

Helpful?
Thank Jon A
Hampshire
Level Contributor
99 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2017

This was our first visit and really enjoyed it. Unlike some afternoon teas, you could choose your own sandwiches and cakes from a selection, and were offered a choice of sweet or savoury scones. A comprehensive list of tea was available. The quality and service was very good.

Helpful?
1 Thank BenHampshire
Tisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Iv been a couple of times never get a feeling of being that welcome not friendly the young girls seemed bored and unwelcoming just seems abit snobby and no reason to be as it's a tea room a nice tea room lovely cake selection great menu but the dull service spoiled a nice treat

Helpful?
Thank debbie h
TisPatrick, Owner at Beatons Tea Rooms, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us, and for your positive comments about Beatons, and our freshly baked cakes ! I am afraid though that you clearly did not experience the best of service from our team. Our team make every effort to deliver the great service we are renowned for, and despite ‘swan like’ appearances its often difficult... More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

We visited today, 2 adults and our 2 children. There is no child's menu or any option for children's food. We ordered sandwiches/tuna & cheese on toast. However, I paid £6 for one piece of toast with some tuna and cheese on it? Considering a round of sandwiches consists of two pieces of bread I would have expected two. It... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lucy J
TisPatrick, Owner at Beatons Tea Rooms, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us and your feedback, we hugely value it and the time and trouble taken to make it. Rest assured that children are welcome at Beatons. We don’t offer a specific Children’s menu but are always happy to split dishes, provide extra plates for sharing and do what we can to accommodate. Although we... More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2016

Everything's fine here, but I have mentioned the coffee a few times in the past. I have been there about 4 times since they opened and the coffee is always bad, but I live in hope. My espresso did have a crema but tasted feeble. I suspect that it was ordinary coffee poured into a small cup. My friend's cafetiere... More 

Helpful?
Thank L R T
TisPatrick, Owner at Beatons Tea Rooms, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, we do take feedback very seriously, especially when we don't quite get it right. Thanks for the positive feedback on the breakfast, its always great to know we are doing well. More importantly though, you were not happy with the coffee. I can confirm we do use Arabica beans and that all our coffees are made... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

Excellent afternoon tea with great service in cosy setting. Special visit here was well worth the journey. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Daytripper366
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2016

There is a very comprehensive drinks menu and some nice cakes however I was very disappointed that despite the high quality price the service did not match it. I went with a toddler and baby and definitely wouldn't recommend it as a family venue, no high chairs just boosters and no sensible small child options on the menu. We shared... More 

Helpful?
Thank Annabel B
TisPatrick, Owner at Beatons Tea Rooms, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us, we do hugely value all feedback and especially any where we don’t seem to have got it quite right. The team did report to me the incident of your husband spilling the hot tea, and how understandably frustrating and upsetting that was for you both. However, other than assisting in drying the... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2016

Beatons is our excuse to cycle around Tisbury, a 10 mile ride justifies tea and the BEST carrot cake in the country. During extensive research, we mark all others on the Beatons Scale, theirs is 10*.

Helpful?
Thank Su L

Travellers who viewed Beatons Tea Rooms also viewed

 
Tisbury, Wiltshire
Tisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Beatons Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Cafe, British, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 17:00
Monday
08:30 - 17:00
Tuesday
08:30 - 17:00
Wednesday
08:30 - 17:00
Thursday
08:30 - 17:00
Friday
08:30 - 17:00
Saturday
08:30 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Square | The Square, Tisbury SP3 6NH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Tisbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1747 871819

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Beatons Tea Rooms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?