We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Malswick House

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British,
Malswick, Newent GL18 1HE, England
+44 1531 822634
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good16%
  • Average7%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“burgers” (14 reviews)
“steak” (9 reviews)
“ratatouille” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Malswick, Newent GL18 1HE, England
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Met up with friends here for lunch on my travels just because it was a convenient place from an internet search. What a find! Great traditional pub with log fire, beautiful husky dog and delicious food. Friendly, helpful staff. Came back on our way back...More

Thank Alexandra G
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I visited late Sunday lunch time with another couple and our baby. We were greeted by two gorgeous dogs who once they had said their hellos went back to sleep and we didn't see them again. We were disappointed they weren't serving...More

Thank Kimberlysj2013
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited 4 times as we were staying nearby in our caravan. Welcoming and very friendly. Even our dog was welcomed by the Siberian Husky just inside the door! The food served was all homemade and very good. From pesto and mediteranian veg on a Ciabatta...More

Thank Barbara M
Reviewed 9 September 2017

Booked for a Monday evening.On arrival told we could perhaps have a sandwich.Barman said we work 7 days a week you have to understand it's to much to cook every day.We left. Why not tell us when we booked? What an attitude! One to miss...More

Thank J C
WharfHouse, Guest Relations Manager at Malswick House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Sadly this is not correct as no booking had been made with us as we not accept bookings on Monday or Tuesday as the restaurant is not open. We serve food Wednesday to Sunday lunchtimes and Wednesday to Saturday evenings. The bar is open Monday...More

Reviewed 3 September 2017

The food was nice; they have a wide range of different burgers. However, the sour cream was not the best. Complements to the sous-sous-chef! The burger selection gets a 8.5/10, my personal favourite being the 'Avocado Supreme'.

Thank Xx_TEH_HAMBURGLER_xX
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

When we arrived we where told they where busy (there was only a table Of 6 and a table of 4 in there the rest where empty) so we would have a half hour wait. We were given menus and a drink and then left...More

Thank Charlotte1231
WharfHouse, Guest Relations Manager at Malswick House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

We would always suggest that you book. We are pleased that the team were honest with you that having not booked there would be a wait as everything is made and cooked from fresh. Sorry things were not as you wish, and we hope you...More

Reviewed 26 August 2017

Had the worst meal ever last night. I had to send back my inedible steak, replacement one only marginally better. Other meals were uninspired and nothing like the website menu. There are plenty of much better pubs locally, upset we picked this one!

Thank Sue R
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Outstanding service. Outstanding food. The ambience was perfect for the occasion. Thoroughly recommended

Thank NEIL M
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We went for lunch but were told they don't do lunch on Mondays and Tuesdays ( doesn't say this on their website) but that we could choose something from the sandwich menu. We opted for a roasted veg and pesto and a ham, tomato chutney...More

Thank Strudelpops
Reviewed 11 August 2017

Well, why haven't i been here before ? I live locally and yes it is a drag to walk along the main road to get to it - but WELL WORTH IT. The service was caring, the food good value and the drinks fine

1  Thank M G
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Kilcot Inn
424 reviews
3.92 km away
The Royal Exchange
260 reviews
6.05 km away
The Farmers Arms
70 reviews
6.09 km away
The Grapevine
16 reviews
6.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
The International Centre for Birds of Prey
905 reviews
3.54 km away
Briery Hill Llamas
5 reviews
3.92 km away
Hillside Brewery
106 reviews
6.70 km away
Dymock Poets
7 reviews
7.04 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Blondedisney
4 December 2015|
Answer
Response from Lovetoeat4242 | Reviewed this property |
I think lunch is served 12-3.. You could ring them though to be sure...
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 7 - US$ 37
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
9:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
9:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
9:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
9:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
9:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
9:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Malswick, Newent GL18 1HE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Gloucestershire  >  Forest of Dean  >  Newent
  • Phone Number: +44 1531 822634
  • E-mail
Description
Malswick House looks like an old country inn from the outside, but the surprise is that once you step inside the look and atmosphere feels very informal, contemporary, light and relaxing, not like a traditional pub at all! The menus are unique and offer an excellent selection of home-made food at reasonable prices, which can be enjoyed with a real ale or glass of wine from our wine list or a choice of many other drinks including Italian coffees. In September 2013, The Herefordshire & Gloucestershire Canal Trust bought the freehold of Malswick House via its commercial arm, The Wharf House. All profits from Malswick House will be donated to the Herefordshire and Gloucestershire Canal restoration. Malswick House has recently undergone a complete refurbishment and is now a fabulous destination pub/restaurant with a lovely courtyard garden with tables in the dappled shade from the grape vines. We also have a disabled ramp at the main doors at the front which has improved access from the large car park, and a wheelchair friendly loo too. We are looking forward to welcoming our customers both old and new. The Herefordshire & Gloucestershire Canal Trust is a registered charity which has the ultimate aim of completing full restoration of the Canal from Gloucester to Hereford - an ambitious but achievable goal. Eventually the Canal will run along the back of The Travellers Rest creating superb views from the garden.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing