We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crown & Garter

₹₹ - ₹₹₹, British,
Inkpen Common, Hungerford RG17 9QR, England
+44 1488 668325
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good28%
  • Average16%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“sirloin steak” (4 reviews)
“parfait” (2 reviews)
“wine list” (5 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Inkpen Common, Hungerford RG17 9QR, England
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Second visit to Crown & Garter, after eating there in March for a birthday. This time we went for a Father's Day lunch on Sunday. Was certainly busier than our previous mid-week meal. Were a little wary after a great lunch in March to see...More

Thank 888The-Drivers888
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived at Crown and Garter at 4:30 on a Sunday, and we were told that food will start to be served at 5. Therefore we ordered some drinks and moved to the garden. Both the garden area and the pub are lovely. At 5...More

Thank Miguelal1984
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited for Sunday lunch, bit too hot for roast dinner (although they did look great). We had fish pie and homemade burger. Dessert was excellent, chocolate fondant and white chocolate and salted caramel tart. Highly recommend the homemade walnut ice cream. Lovely setting, really good...More

Thank Richard S
Reviewed 4 May 2018

Looked ok on arrival but very quiet for a Sunday evening, no roasts in the evening and a limited and fairly expensive menu. Do not have wine by the glass, it is very expensive, a mistake or a rip off?More

Thank david f
Honesty G, General Manager at Crown & Garter, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Thank you very much for your review, and please accept our apologies, that we did not meet your expectations. I will discuss the menu with our head chef, and we do, have wine by the glass, and is in our wine list. Thank you again...More

Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

We had just completed a good 10 mile walk through the beautiful countryside and decided to have a meal at the Crown and Garter at the end. We arrived close to the end of food service but the fantastic team found a table for 7...More

Thank Stevejohnson1975
Reviewed 13 April 2018

A friend and I visited for lunch and opted for the smoked haddock fishcakes with chilli sauce with a side of chips. We were both very disappointed, the fishcakes were really tasteless, neither of us could taste smoked haddock at all in fact so bland...More

Thank Hazeltokki
Honesty G, Public Relations Manager at Crown & Garter, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Hi Hazel, Sorry for the delay in replying and I'm sorry to hear you have had bad experiences at the Crown & Garter. I can ensure you that all our food is cooked fresh to order and nothing is reheated. Did you mention the quality...More

Reviewed 14 March 2018

If you appreciate quality food, perfectly cooked, perfectly presented and served, then look no further! the venison was perfect with a dash of delicious sauce. It tasted as good as it looked. Attentive staff who clearly enjoy working here and love to serve you their...More

Thank sas369
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed for two nights during the recent cold snap. Couldn’t fault the room in the courtyard bedroom complex. All spotless, especially the en suite with walk in shower. Super king size bed, good quality linen and pillows, tea/coffee making facilities - the flask of...More

Thank Rwwminstrel
Reviewed 22 January 2018

Thank you for a wonderful lunch. We have had tried the pub a couple of times before and it was ok not bad but just ok. This time round they have certainly found themselves and we were hugely encourage. Wonderful menu choices and fantastic quality...More

Thank yandy2016
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Came for lunch over New Year. Sadly experience was ruined by a large table in the restaurant who were allowing their noisy, screaming children to run all around the restaurant. No attempt was made but either the parents or the management to get the to...More

Thank Hazeltokki
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Hungerford
Three Swans Hotel
145 reviews
1.68 km away
The Bear Hotel Hungerford
359 reviews
1.96 km away
Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel
1,431 reviews
5.17 km away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
920 reviews
5.74 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Downgate (Hungerford) ltd
92 reviews
1.35 km away
Moonlight Indian Restaurant
80 reviews
1.55 km away
Borough Arms
16 reviews
1.48 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hungerford Wharf
89 reviews
1.73 km away
Kennet Horse Boat Company
80 reviews
4.30 km away
Littlecote Roman Villa
15 reviews
4.59 km away
Combe Gibbet
34 reviews
5.19 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Crown & Garter staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 33 - US$ 46
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Inkpen Common, Hungerford RG17 9QR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  Hungerford
  • Phone Number: +44 1488 668325
  • E-mail
Description
The Crown & Garter's newly refurbished restaurant is the place to enjoy good British cooking. The largest part of the refurbishment costs was the amount spent on the kitchen, so we hope that the investment will be reflected in the food that comes to your table through it's doors. But of course, the kitchen isn't only about new equipment and having lots of space, primarily it is about people who work in the kitchen and we have spent a great deal of time and effort finding a superb staff to cook for you. The team is led by Matthew Ambrose our Executive Chef. A local man from Marlborough, who trained at Claridges, where he came third in the British Culinary Federation Young Chef of the Year in 2011. In 2013 he achieved the highest marks for kitchen and the title of Royal Academy of Culinary Arts Young Chef of the Year 2013. He is a very talented young chef whose meals will definitely excite your palate.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;