We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cliff House Hotel Restaurant

| Ardmore Bay, Ardmore, Ireland
+353 24 87800
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good21%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“tasting menu” (38 reviews)
“amuse bouche” (18 reviews)
“foie gras” (8 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Irish, Seafood, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
₹₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
| Ardmore Bay, Ardmore, Ireland
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Locals will claim this as the most 'high end' place to dine in the area but I would disagree. The ambience was ok, albeit a little stuffy. And my filet was tough and well undercooked. However, my dining companion loved it so....inconsistent at best I...More

Thank megilchr
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear megilchr Thanks for visiting. I am sorry that your experience was disappointing but glad your companions was great. Why not come back and try us again? Am sure you will enjoy it. Kind regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was the first time I have been offered a selection of gluten free breads... three in fact. I must confess though that I only liked one of them. But wow all the same. The staff were very attentive to ensuring my meal was GF...More

Thank Fbfol14
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Fbfol14 Thank you so much for visiting and glad that you enjoyed your meal with us. Hope to see you back soon, Kind regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Food and staff lovely. Room was small - really disappointing. Spa relaxation room was full after my treat so had to relax in pool area. Really ruined the experience. Bar is uninviting.

Thank yhm10
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear yhm10 Thank you for your review and your comments are noted. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Kind regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The restaurant is lovely with fantastic service. The food was lovely but not spectacular which i was surprised with.

Thank Karima C
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Karima C Thank you for your visit and for your review. Kind regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My partner and I were staying at the hotel in August and dined in the restaurant one evening. We were so glad we did. My partner chose from the standard evening menu and was incredibly happy with his choices. I had booked a vegan menu...More

Thank Charlottefarebrother
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Charlottefarebrother Thank you so much for visiting us and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. And thank you for giving us advance notice of your dietary requirements - that helps us immensely. Until the next time, Kind regards Adriaan Bartels...More

Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

It was our first Michelin experience and it was worth every penny. We have spent around 2 hours in lovely accompaniment of great, delicious food and very kind and informative staff. It was a real pleasure. Thank you!

Thank Filip O
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Dear Filip O Thank you so much for visiting us and glad you enjoyed your meal. Hopefully the first of many. Kindest regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager

Reviewed 1 December 2017 via mobile

This restaurant is really a great spot. The food, restaurant and location are amazing! We were a party of 5 dining at the restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed other experience. The beetroot macaroon was the perfect start to the meal. The food was inventive, different and...More

Thank AineMaire222
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

Dear AineMaire222 Thank you so much for dining with us and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Many thanks and until the next time, Kind regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager

Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Probably should have written this review earlier as I can’t wax lyrical about the food like I would like to. The food is as good as it looks in the pictures. The service and setting are 10/10. Its relatively inexpensive give the Michelin quality food....More

Thank Sleepypriest78
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear Sleepypriest78 Thank you so much for your very kind review - we look forward to welcoming you back again sometime. Kindest regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager

Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal at the Cliff House. Eaten in a few Michelin restaurants but the presentation here was spectacular. Like most tasting menus we found some dishes were nice but some superb in particular the mackerel, foie gras and lamb. Beautiful dining room overlooking...More

Thank ZittaN
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear ZittaN Thank you so much for dining with us and reviewing your meal. Glad you enjoyed it and hope you will get a chance to stay over in the future. Kindest regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager

Reviewed 19 October 2017

My husband and I dined at the House Restaurant. We made a special detour on our trip through Ireland just to stay at the Cliff House hotel and to experience the Michelin dining excellence. Unfortunately, while the food was top notch, the service was not....More

Thank mcnew2017
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear mcnew2017 Thank you for your visit and for reviewing your meal with us. I am very sorry that you had a poor experience on this occasion - as you can see from the other reviews this is a very rare occurrence. Notwithstanding this I...More

PreviousNext
12345635
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Ardmore Hotels
Cliff House Hotel
1,785 reviews
.00 km away
Round Tower Hotel
91 reviews
.94 km away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
364 reviews
8.79 km away
Evergreen House
44 reviews
9.09 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Whitehorses
390 reviews
.67 km away
Shipmates Restaurant & Take-Away
73 reviews
.76 km away
The Ardmore Gallery and Tearooms
34 reviews
.64 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cliff Walk Ardmore
207 reviews
.38 km away
St Declan's Well and Oratory
122 reviews
.74 km away
The Round Tower
39 reviews
.75 km away
Ardmore Pottery & Gallery
47 reviews
.21 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
irishfancy198
12 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from AdriaanBartels | Property representative |
You can email us but the telephone should be answered - 024 87800. Please let me know if this works. Kind regards
0
Votes
halovanic
29 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from LizardHntr | Reviewed this property |
They will not judge you, but I recommend not wearing holey jeans, dirty work clothes or beach wear.
0
Votes
Anthony M
25 February 2016|
Answer
Response from Adriaan B | Property representative |
Smart casual.
-1
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Valet Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, View, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: | Ardmore Bay, Ardmore, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Munster  >  County Waterford  >  Ardmore
  • Phone Number: +353 24 87800
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing