We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Butterfly

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Hua Huan 7831, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
02944461441
Website
Today
19:45 - 00:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Mon - Sat 19:45 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

627 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 221: English reviews
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I would definitely go back, the wine for every dish was jusy perfect, enjoyed the wines! And the food was delicious, you should do a reservation cause it is kind of a private ambient.

Helpful?
1 Thank Yolanda D
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Enjoy a delicius food step by step in warm athmosphere. Taste different exotic condiments in each selected plate

Helpful?
1 Thank Jar2212
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Butterfly offers a fixed menu multi-course (5-6 courses I recall) fine dining experience. The restaurant determines the menu offering daily, but you can contact them in advance to arrange for some customization (although they had forgotten our requests, so be sure to reconfirm them immediately prior to your day of dining). The restaurant is small, formal and quaint; it's located... More 

Helpful?
Thank Travelavel
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Didn't disappoint. We weren't sure where to go so we did our homework and Butterfly was an absolute delight. The staff were attentive and explained each course to us with great care and pride. Degustations do make a lovely change from having to pour over menus and listen to other diners reading their menus aloud like they're auditioning for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank rogerclarke01
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent service with delicious and beautifully presented degustation menu. Traveled the world and dined at many fabulous restaurants but this is something special. We are looking forward to coming back!

Helpful?
Thank Katiuska C
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We heard from our hotel that this is the best restaurant in the area. That might well be as it's definitely a step up from a large number of Parillia places, however if you have being in fine dining places in London, Paris or NYC then pls manage your expectations. The food was good, beef and desserts were nice, but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Diptyque_en
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were so disappointed after our dinner at the Butterfly. From the service to the food itself, nothing was done well. We were never told that this restaurant was strictly a tasting menu or how many courses were offered. We also were not asked about any food allergies, preferences, etc. On several courses many of us did not finish or... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Becky M
andylopez77, Propietario at Butterfly, responded to this review

Dear Becky. Apologies for reiterating the same answer to our reply to Alison above (your complaints are more or less the same). We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience at Butterfly. It appears that there was a misunderstanding regarding the style of dining we provide and are reputed for. Your complaint is that there was... More 

Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The chef tried to be too cute and different and just ended up confused. The beef was almost raw and chewy and the reduction served with it bitter. The dessert had great presentation, but the cookie under the chocolate covered mousse was "mushy". The most disappointing part to the evening was the wait staff never asked did we enjoy the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
andylopez77, Propietario at Butterfly, responded to this review

Dear Robert. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience at Butterfly. We see that from both commenters above Alison M and Becky M (we assume you are all from the same table) that you were expecting not expecting that Butterfly specialised in degustation. For that we are truly regretful, but would like to point out... More 

Bray, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

Everything about this restaurant was classy. We were eating with Argentinian friends and the ambiance was just right, from the professional but unobtrusive service to the superb food. I could not fault anything. It is a must if you are visiting Bariloche.

Helpful?
Thank Raycomerford
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

We had a wonderful birthday meal. Recommend the tasting menu, with tasting wines, which were all Argentinian.

Helpful?
Thank _rosalind_smyth

Travellers who viewed Butterfly also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Been to Butterfly? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 50 - US$ 65
Cuisine
European, Argentinian, South American, International, Contemporary
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
View, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Monday
19:45 - 00:00
Tuesday
19:45 - 00:00
Wednesday
19:45 - 00:00
Thursday
19:45 - 00:00
Friday
19:45 - 00:00
Saturday
19:45 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hua Huan 7831, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
  • Location: South America  >  Argentina  >  Patagonia  >  Province of Rio Negro  >  San Carlos de Bariloche
  • Phone Number: 02944461441

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Butterfly and other visitors
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Butterfly staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?