We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Morgenhof Restaurant

) #94 of 195 Restaurants in Stellenbosch ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ African
R44, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
+27 21 889 2024
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good41%
  • Average15%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“lunch” (15 reviews)
“yellowtail” (2 reviews)
“filet” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
African
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
DETAILS
R44, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2017

We have been to the restaurant previously and stopped off for a lunch in their grounds and thoroughly enjoyable it was too. Friendly but informal staff and a good choice of food made for a pleasant lunch accompanied by a couple of glasses of their...More

Thank woodieslocksheath
Wine T, Manager at Morgenhof Restaurant, responded to this review

We are so very happy you had a wonderful time! Looking forward to having you back soon! Kind regards, Tayla Tasting Room Manager, Morgenhof Estate

Reviewed 1 March 2017

We chose the restaurant due to its convenient location just outside Stellenbosch. My vegetarian main meal with humus and tikka was absolutely outstanding and the fish of the day (kabeljou) was also very good. R13 for a glass of good Sauvignon Blanc - excellent value...More

Thank Emarie B
AnitaStreicherNel, Public Relations Manager at Morgenhof Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Emarie, Thanks for taking the time to write us a lovely review! We really appreciate it and we also agree that our offerings are both delicious and value for money! Regards, Anita

Reviewed 21 February 2017

A pleasant and relaxed lunch,The cheese platter was devine The surroundings are very beautiful as is the stellenboch and Paarl area The Sauvignon Blanc was well priced and a beautiful bouquet Well recommend a stop here

Thank multiplace
AnitaStreicherNel, Public Relations Manager at Morgenhof Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - we also think our cheese platter is divine! ;-) Regards, Anita

Reviewed 24 October 2016

We came in for lunch after an incredible day of horseback riding through wine country with Capetown Horse Riding. We dined on the patio among the peacocks and loved the dramatic backdrop: a view of this gorgeous wine estate. It does not get any better...More

Thank Jessica A
AnitaStreicherNel, Public Relations Manager at Morgenhof Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words and lovely review! We hope to welcome you back soon!

Reviewed 18 October 2016

My son and I had a superb Sunday lunch at Morgenhof. It was a typical winter's day in Stellenbosch...rainy and cold, but we had a crackling fire and very good service, not to mention the generous portions (drinks and food), to cheer us up. The...More

Thank Annelie G
AnitaStreicherNel, Public Relations Manager at Morgenhof Restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review and yes our fortified wine is the best!

Reviewed 7 October 2016

Morgenhof is a very pretty wine farm with an amazing underground barrel cellar. The wines are generally very good with the Cabernet Franc being particularly good. The wine tasting server was very knowledgeable on his subject. The lunch service was quite slow and the food...More

Thank atomic_mass
AnitaStreicherNel, Public Relations Manager at Morgenhof Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback - we appreciate it!

Reviewed 26 July 2016

We had a great experience while also buying wine, the service is great and the food is excellent, will go back there anytime!!!

Thank 629johant
AnitaStreicherNel, Public Relations Manager at Morgenhof Restaurant, responded to this review

Hallo there! We would like to thank you for your review of our Estate recently! We hope to welcome you back soon again! ;-)

Reviewed 19 June 2016

lovely, nice people, nice views and nice food. We have been before and would certainly go again next time we are in Africa

Thank Deborah_L123
AnitaStreicherNel, Public Relations Manager at Morgenhof Restaurant, responded to this review

We are very pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to welcome you back again soon! ;-)

Reviewed 8 May 2016

Mothersday lunch Good antipasta starter pity about store bought bread. Disappointing not having all Morgenhof white wines available. Lamb cuttlets more fat then meat. Kudu Fillet dry with bland du. with springbok wontons dry and after being deepfried too long, Very average for high price...More

1  Thank jacqueso
AnitaStreicherNel, Public Relations Manager at Morgenhof Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Jacques, Sorry that you had a bad experience at Morgenhof yesterday. Very much to our disbelief we were faced with an unexpected power failure which lasted for several hours and resulted in many problems on the day, i.e not being able to bake fresh...More

Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

Spoiled ourselves to a delightfully, romantic breakfast for our wedding anniversary. We were the only guests and received a beautiful glass of bubbly to celebrate our 24 years together. They set a table for us outside in the little courtyard with peacocks watching over us....More

Thank LizelDV
AnitaStreicherNel, Public Relations Manager at Morgenhof Restaurant, responded to this review

Lizel, Thanks for the kind words! We are very pleased that you had a great experience celebrating your wedding anniversary! Please call again soon for your "wintry lunch" - our winter menu is about to be launched in the next few weeks! ;-) Regards, Anita

Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Ohna S
Where can I find your menu online?
26 October 2016|
Answer
Response from AnitaStreicherNel | Property representative |
Hi Ohna, it can be found on our website under VISIT and by clicking on the "Winter Menu" block - we are in the process of finalising our Summer Menu and will have it out by 1 Nov. You can always email me and I will send it... More
0
Votes
Ohna S
Where can I find your menu on your website?
26 October 2016|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from AnitaStreicherNel | Property representative |
Under restaurant under winter menu-we're finalising our summer menu at the moment which will be out 1 Nov OR email me and I'll mail it to you!ANITA
0
Votes
Bunuss
Why is your wine especially the Chenin Blanc in the restaurant increasing at such an alarming rate? 60.00 is good value but R90.00 is too much and enough reason to go elsewhere. You have too much competition. 50 percent increase in just a few months is ridiculous.
20 October 2015|
Answer
Response from AnitaStreicherNel | Property representative |
Dear Bunuss, I think there must be a misunderstanding somewhere. Our Chenin Blanc has always been a high end wine.We are known for it to be a premium wine as it is produced from 48 year old vines. To make a wine of this... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 15:30
Monday
09:00 - 15:30
Tuesday
09:00 - 15:30
Wednesday
09:00 - 15:30
Thursday
09:00 - 15:30
Friday
09:00 - 15:30
Saturday
09:00 - 15:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: R44, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Stellenbosch
  • Phone Number: +27 21 889 2024
  • E-mail
Description
Morgenhof Restaurant is situated on the picturesque Morgenhof Estate - a few kilometres outside Stellenbosch on the R44 towards Klapmuts and Paarl. The Restaurant serves lovely light lunches and offers good value for money.