We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mugg and Bean

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Shop 15-17, West End Mall | Main Street, Knysna, South Africa
+27 44 382 7104
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 33: English reviews
Nampula, Mozambique
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2017

I used to really enjoy going to M&B. I started going in 2004 when I was in Nelspruit for an extended period of time. The value was excellent for the type of food they made. I feel they continue to make good healthy food, but the value is gone. Prices are too high for what you get and even the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jon B
Belfast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Popped in for breakfast for 2 as not too busy with about 6 empty tables. Staff friendly and coffee arrived reasonably quickly before a lengthy wait - after numerous enquires and no breakfast in sight after 45 mins in a half filled place we left without receiving our breakfast !!Poor management response and did not seem too worried about the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maldoug
Curtis P, Manager at Mugg and Bean, responded to this review

I am sorry that you had a bad experience and, contrary to what you may think, management were extremely concerned about the bad service on that particular day. So much so that we decided to close the shop at 11am, to prevent further problems. Unfortunately, like many other businesses in Knysna on that day, we had an extremely bad staff... More 

Nassington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2016

As always Mugg & Bean delivers with superb coffee an excellent choice of food & muffins that cannot be resisted in a variety of flavours. All I can say is get this coffee chain to the UK quickly and I will run a one as they far exceed the quality in my view of the coffee chains already existing in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank united01
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Absolutely TERRIBLE!!! This is a CLASSIC and recipe has been BADLY misinterpreted. If you cannot do it true to the REAL Croque, rather exclude it from 5he menu. It's ham not bacon. It's a real cheese/mustard sauce. Not microwaved processed cheese which ended up a shrunken mass which you could not even cut. Loose the rocket, avo and tomato. That's... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maureen N
Mugg B, Owner at Mugg and Bean, responded to this review

I must admit that I am a bit surprised that Maureen ordered Mugg & Bean's Croque Madame if she is suck a stickler for tradition and CLASSIC dishes. It states very clearly on the menu what is in it : 'Back bacon, tomato and rocket between two slices of M & B toast, topped with a creamy mustard cheese sauce,... More 

Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Had a muffin and croissant with cheese and jam. The coffee was what made our visit special as they were beautifully decorated. I ordered the double shot, but I think that just means a bigger cup of weak coffee. Waitress was friendly.

Helpful?
Thank June v
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
89 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

We went here on out guides recommendation and were disappointed. We had brunch and other than the skillet the food was average. Service was attentive. Prices are a bit on the higher side as compared to South Africa.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sompan
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

Mugg and Bean @ Knysna Mall has the most delicious coconut, carrot, ginger soup. Taste: just what i needed, warm hearty even better than moms soup. Thank you Mugg & Bean.

Helpful?
1 Thank MargieRichterWilmot
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2016

Friendly staff made up for a generous but disappointing cheese cake, which was not helped by the over-sweet blueberry jam topping. Could not finish it :(

Helpful?
1 Thank wwkudu
Mugg B, Owner at Mugg and Bean, responded to this review

Its good to hear that our staff were friendly - thank you, I will pass it on. As far as the cheese cake is concerned, the reason that we don't automatically add the topping (as some branches do) and leave it up to the customer to decide, is precisely because the topping is very sweet and not to everyone's taste.... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile

If you are hungry then the Mugg and Bean is the place for you. Generous sized servings including vegetarian options. The cappuccino is one of the best I have tasted with the quality being the same on each visit. (Thank the barrister). Andrewe and Debbie the owners are hands-on and attentive to the patrons and staff. Amongst other long serving... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Glasgow
Level Contributor
325 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2016 via mobile

I love the Mugg and Bean and would die for the Lemon Meringue. The waitress informed me that I had the last slice. Although tasty it was not up to the usual standard and smaller than expected- it should not have been served. Rest of the food was OK and liked the outside bit with play area. I am sorry... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dave1408
Mugg B, Owner at Mugg and Bean, responded to this review

Hi Dave. I am sorry that you had a bad experience at our establishment and really wish that you had asked to speak to a manager as this would have been sorted out immediately. I personally noticed yesterday with the Lemon Meringue that after cutting the second-to-last piece, the last one was smaller than it should be, so I didn't... More 

Travellers who viewed Mugg and Bean also viewed

 
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Mugg and Bean? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Cafe
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Shop 15-17, West End Mall | Main Street, Knysna, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Knysna
  • Phone Number: +27 44 382 7104
Description
Situated Central. Convenient for afternoon lunch or Business meetings.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mugg and Bean staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?