We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Seafood at the Marine - CLOSED

Marine Drive | at The Marine Hermanus, Hermanus, South Africa
+27 28 313 1000
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good30%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (39 reviews)
“fish cakes” (3 reviews)
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
Contemporary, Fusion, Mediterranean, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Marine Drive | at The Marine Hermanus, Hermanus, South Africa
All Details
Reviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2016

I am surprised that this restaurant is not more highly rated - however now that it has had a revamp and is under the wing of Templehoff of Greenhouse Constantia fame it can only move up the ratings.The setting is elegant,service impeccable and the food...More

Thank petesaund
Reviewed 24 November 2016

The restaurant is split across the entrance corridor with no outside aspect, which is a shame as the other restaurant in The Marine (closed in evenings) has lovely sea views. All staff were helpful and friendly. Found the menu a little pretentious, however dishes ordered...More

Thank GastrodontUK
TheMarineteam, General Manager at Seafood at the Marine, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2016

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I am very sorry to read that your experience with us was not what you have anticipated, but that you did enjoy the fish and chips. It is one of our...More

Reviewed 22 November 2016

As it was busy we struggled for reservations but then found we could get in at the Marine...panic, could we afford this. YES we could, in actual fact the restaurant was very reasonably priced for the quality of the seafood. Lovely surroundings, comfortable, good friendly...More

Thank oneval
TheMarineteam, General Manager at Seafood at the Marine, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2016

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your experience in Origins. We are so excited about our new menu and to read such positive feedback keeps all of us...More

Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

Amazing service. Friendly, welcoming, happy staff. All the dishes were freshly prepared in the open kitchen. We could sea our food being played up. Very tasty indeed and beautifully presented. A fabulous place for a beautiful romantic dinner. We lived it.More

Thank AlitNorthamptonUK
TheMarineteam, General Manager at Seafood at the Marine, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2016

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I am delighted to read that you had a lovely time whilst dining with us. That is very important to us. It is quite intriquing to see the kitchen brigade operating...More

Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

The Marine hotel is a stunning location. The restaurant is a the front of the hotel and has been set up so that some of the tables are in a room that has access to the sea view. Unfortunately this means the food has to...More

Thank Hannah G
TheMarineteam, General Manager at Seafood at the Marine, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2016

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I am very sorry to hear that your experience in Origins did not meet your expectations. I take this extremely serious and will do my best to ensure that no other...More

Reviewed 3 November 2016

When we arrived did the Food and Beverage Manager welcome us and was he not sure of our booking and after words apologized because he did not keep track of time. The restaurant was not busy and only a few staff members was visible. We...More

1  Thank Charl1973
Reviewed 27 October 2016

The restaurant is quite small, so it is best to book in advance. The service was excellent, with attention from both the Manager and Waitress. Unfortunately they had run out of Oysters (it was Sunday evening to be fair) so our first choice wasn't available...More

Thank Robert S
TheMarineteam, General Manager at Seafood at the Marine, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2016

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your recent review of us. I was glad to read that you enjoyed your experience here. You will just have to come back for the Oysters to enjoy it. Thank you for your continued patronage of us. Kind...More

Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Really great, awesome food!! Especially the Thai fish cakes! But not so good wine list. It was a special occasion for us, and we should have brought our own and just paid the R50 corkage. But we will definitely go again. Thank you guys.More

Thank NikkiOtto
TheMarineteam, General Manager at Seafood at the Marine, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2016

Dear Guests Thank you so much for choosing to celebrate your special occasion with us. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your food. I can agree with you that the fish cakes are delicious. It is always a winner and the presentation is...More

Reviewed 13 October 2016

Normally I'm not too keen on hotel restaurants, however booking at the restaurant at The Marine was not a mistake. The food was excellent, as was the service. Sadly on the Sunday evening we were there we were only 1 of 4 tables so there...More

1  Thank An_Expat_Wife
TheMarineteam, General Manager at Seafood at the Marine, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2016

Dear Guest Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am glad to read that even though you were a bit hesitant at first you enjoyed yourself with us. I have shared your feedback with our teams and thank you for your continued patronage...More

Reviewed 10 October 2016

Great choice of food superbly presented and of top quality. Excellent service and wine list and good value given in a 5 star hotel. Sorry we only ate here onceMore

Thank Mike R
TheMarineteam, General Manager at Seafood at the Marine, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2016

Dear Guest Thank you for your great comments. It is much appreciated. You will just have to return to us very soon to experience the facilities we offer much more. We have such little time for pleasurable things. Not enough hours in the day when...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Betty Blue Bistro
381 reviews
.15 km away
Pear Tree
929 reviews
.22 km away
Fusion Restaurant
761 reviews
.25 km away
The Cuckoo tree
183 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hoy's Koppie
99 reviews
.63 km away
Lembu Gallery & Studio
60 reviews
.43 km away
Cape Whale Coast
31 reviews
.60 km away
The Whale House Museum
128 reviews
.33 km away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Average prices
US$ 20 - US$ 30
Good for
Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Marine Drive | at The Marine Hermanus, Hermanus, South Africa (Formerly Seafood at The Marine)
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Overberg District  >  Hermanus
  • Phone Number: +27 28 313 1000
  • E-mail
Description
True to its name, SeaFood at The Marine's menu offers guests a seafood menu showcasing the ethically sourced local ingredients that the Overberg region has to offer.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing