We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Milkwood

) #38 of 84 Restaurants in Hermanus ₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Beach Road | Onrus Beach, Hermanus 7201, South Africa
+27 28 316 1516
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good29%
  • Average16%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“pork belly” (14 reviews)
“steak” (14 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Beach Road | Onrus Beach, Hermanus 7201, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 263 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

First time visit to Onrus and to Milkwood - lovely quaint with relaxed feel, good food, good service but do check your bill that all is in order as per prices quoted on board etc. (rated service average due to error made on bill, one...More

Thank TulipGypsy
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I am sure this place will be stunning to visit in peak season. We only had drinks and starters. Place was very quiet and lacked atmosphere. Food was good, but a bit pricy. Not really sure if we will visit again....

Thank TanyaGroen
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have been to Milkwood a couple of times before and the food was average. But tonight I was blown away. The best pulled lamb gnocchi I ever had. Chef Melfrod did an excellent job. All the food we ordered were of top quality. The...More

1  Thank Derick V
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Way to expensive for what you get. We went to milkwood at least 4 times a week. Now they have changed everything. As a local I don't think you will see me again.

Thank liezeldj
Reviewed 19 June 2017

For our first night in Onrus we had dinner at the Milkwood. We were warmly welcomed by Lee who showed to our table which had a splendid view over the Onrus river, Our starters were scallops followed by chicken with fennel together with bottle of...More

Thank Tony_Eileen
Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

VERY disappointed with the half-price fish and chips special today! The grilled fish was a bit bigger than a sardine and there was no salad - apparently salad is for the "normal" fish and chip days.... Carol, the manager told us that all the fish...More

3  Thank Cathy C
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

What a dismal start to the day. Being the first guests in we thought we would be all set for a good breakfast. Unfortunately our waitress didn't feel the same. Upon forgetting our order completely she returned for another try. I'm glad she did as...More

1  Thank bellfarm
TheMilkwood, Owner at The Milkwood, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

There were four of you who joined us for breakfast yesterday and your experience was clearly unacceptable. We launched our new breakfast menu yesterday and you were the first customers too try it; unfortunately the waitress that you had serving you was unable to get...More

Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

We have been trying and trying and trying Milkwood since we bought our holiday home in Onrus more than 20 years ago, but to no avail. Probably situated on one of the best spots on the South African coast, it seems as if it simply...More

1  Thank HannesEsme
Reviewed 4 May 2017

We have been coming here for a few years and seen a few owners in that time. 4-5yrs ago this place was good enough to be a culinary destination, rather than just a place to eat a snack while watching our kids paddle in the...More

Thank rmpott
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

Located on the water's edge overlooking the beach and playful children. Best for drinks I would say as the cakes were below average. Service was not the best.

Thank Madré H
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Moltenos
121 reviews
.78 km away
Casa Biera-Mar Portuguese Restaurant Pizza
44 reviews
1.34 km away
The Milkwood & Beach Hut
6 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hoy's Koppie
97 reviews
5.54 km away
Cape Whale Coast
19 reviews
5.54 km away
SANSA Space Science
14 reviews
4.60 km away
Old Harbour Museum
48 reviews
5.79 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Milkwood staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 9 - US$ 15
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, View
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Beach Road | Onrus Beach, Hermanus 7201, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Overberg District  >  Hermanus
  • Phone Number: +27 28 316 1516
  • E-mail
Description
Set on the beautiful shores of Onrus Beach, here at The Milkwood we have spectacular views with delicious food to match. Come and join us during the day for a yummy breakfast or scrumptious lunch, or sit at the bar enjoying some Tapas with a cocktail or local craft beer. In the evening our seasonal dinner menu and specially selected wine list will ensure you have a truly special experience with us.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing