We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
10th Avenue Grotto Beach | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
+27 28 314 1392
Website
Today
09:00 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

673 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 547: English reviews
Garden Route, South Africa
Level Contributor
420 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location, relaxed vibe and laid back service. The size of the sushi is tiny compared to other sushi restaurants I've been to. That was our starter, but we went to the restaurant for main course after sitting at the beach bar all afternoon. My mussels were served in a very watery cream sauce that was tasteless, and to make... More 

Helpful?
Thank m0zchick
Chantal J, Public Relations Manager at Dutchies, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Mozchick, we hope you mentioned your dissatisfaction to the manager on duty so that we could have corrected the matter at hand. We try our best and we certainly would like to know if our customer is not happy so that we can make an attempt to change the situation for the positive. More 

Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Awesome location on the beach, and I mean on the Beach. Excellent Sushi. Cold Beer! Good wine list! Should be 5 stars right? Then you meet the Owner or manager, did not ask, which ruins the whole experience. Wanted something for the kids to eat, nope they don't serve anything at the Beach side for kids and No you can't... More 

Helpful?
Thank 399derekv
Chantal J, Owner at Dutchies, responded to this review

Dear Derek, We hear your frustration, but it was mentioned to you that unfortunately we cannot serve any warms foods at the lounge. The summer lounge and the restaurant has different systems in place and different management. I apologise profusely if I came across grumpy, it was not intended at all. It is very unfortunate that we did not have... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have tried Dutchies several times over the past few years. Every time something is an issue. if not with all their rules when they serve what, when they open, not doing this, not doing that. I have walked out without ordering food numerous times. I need to stop trying to support them and 'hope' something has changed. The main... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nico v
Chantal J, Public Relations Manager at Dutchies, responded to this review

Dear Nico, There is just two things that we would like to respond on. Firstly we have systems put into place (which you have mentioned as rules) in order for our kitchen to be ready for the next service, i.e breakfast or lunch. This is not a purposeful act to be difficult but merely this is the systems we have... More 

JHB
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived after a long day at work just the view alone is worth the visit service good just a fantastic place to relax

Helpful?
Thank jillm987
Chantal J, Public Relations Manager at Dutchies, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We sincerely appreciate it! More 

Caledon, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped there after a long walk in the beach with friends and just relaxed with a glass of wine. The restaurant was booked for a special occasion so we didn't stay for supper

Helpful?
Thank Verna2014
Chantal J, Public Relations Manager at Dutchies, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Verna, we appreciate it! We hope to see you for supper soon! More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
173 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great sidewalk cafe and sunset bar ON the beach. Unbeatable location. Prompt, friendly service, fresh food, good fish. Worth it!

Helpful?
Thank WEALLLUVTRAVEL
Chantal J, Public Relations Manager at Dutchies, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your rating and review we appreciate it and we are so glad your time with us was positive! More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On the beach, food freshly prepared, local wines and coffee you should enjoy. Breakfast and lunch food. Dogs welcome.

Helpful?
Thank Mick2014
Chantal J, Public Relations Manager at Dutchies, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback Mick. We appreciate it! More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Perfect setting overlooking the ocean with a good menu and "Specials" as well as great cocktails.Friendly helpful staff despite being extremely busy and not too long to wait for food. Staff happy to move umbrellas to avoid hot sun.

Helpful?
Thank judy362017
Chantal J, Public Relations Manager at Dutchies, responded to this review

Dear Judy, Thank you for your review and feedback, we are so glad you had a good enjoyable time with us! We hope to see you soon again! More 

Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A lovely venue with plenty of parking and dog friendly. Good menu but limited beer variety. Lovely. View of the vast beach and sea. Owners very friendly but staff slow and not very interested - maybe Monday blues?

Helpful?
Thank KingsleyP631
Chantal J, Public Relations Manager at Dutchies, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time in providing us feedback, would you be able to send an email and give us more information about your visit to Dutchies? Our email address is info@dutchies.co.za , thank you very much. More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely food but really long wait! Worth it though... lovely sushi and cocktail bar on the beach too. A popular, chilled place.

Helpful?
Thank jackyclarkjc
Chantal J, Public Relations Manager at Dutchies, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and review Jacky, we appreciate it! We hope to see you soon again! More 

Travellers who viewed Dutchies also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Dutchies? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 4 - US$ 26
Cuisine
Bar, Seafood, European, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Romantic, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 21:00
Monday
09:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 21:00
Thursday
09:00 - 21:00
Friday
09:00 - 21:00
Saturday
09:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 10th Avenue Grotto Beach | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Overberg District  >  Hermanus
  • Phone Number: +27 28 314 1392
Description
Stukje Nederland aan een zonovergoten strand. In de maanden oktober en november liggen de walvissen te paren of te baren in de baai. Huisgemaakte Kroketten, bitterballen en garnalen kroketten zijn hier de Hollandse specialiteit. Ontbijt , lunch en diner met uitzicht op het prachtige strand, de zee in een natuurreservaat.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Dutchies staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?