We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wooden Barrel

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Marine Drive | Shop V56, Village Square, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
+27 28 312 4377
Website
Today
08:00 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 71: English reviews
Bedfordview, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Being semi retired in Hermanus we are regular restaurant visitors. The previous restaurant "Europa" was found to be a far cry from it's Gauteng sister which we frequent regularly. With the name change we imagined the restaurant had undergone a "re-birth". What a huge disappointment! Being creatures of habit we decided to break away from our usual eateries and try... More 

Helpful?
Thank KarinBlair
SMMHermanus, Marketing at Wooden Barrel, responded to this review

Firstly, we are not affiliated with a sister restaurant in Gauteng. The waitors we currently have, are fully trained and have been in our business for a long period of time knowing the menu back to front. Secondly, we are not a bistro but in fact a restaurant where i portions are in par with what any restaurant would serve. More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really bad lunch experience, waited for 60 minutes for our food, numerous enquiries to the waiter and the manager, a lot of promises but no food, left eventually without haven eaten. Manager response to my complains : during busy hours it might take up to an hour to get served. I don't mind the waiting, I mind the lack of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank roelieroelie
SMMHermanus, Marketing at Wooden Barrel, responded to this review

As you know, Easter weekend and School Holidays were upon us this long weekend and we were buzzing in serving customers. We specifically let each and every customer who wanted to be served be aware that there was a minimum of 45 minutes waiting period due to the high volume of tables all wanting to be served at the same... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a great lunch, outside on the terrace, ocean view. Great service from our waitress Florence. Definitely an excellent place to enjoy a nice and fresh meal.

Helpful?
Thank Eveline B
SMMHermanus, Marketing at Wooden Barrel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your compliment as reviews like this really makes us realise what we are working towards, is being met! Looking forward to seeing you back with us. From The Wooden Barrel Team More 

Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
548 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A really lovely place, very good food, great service, in a nice relaxed atmosphere. We would recommend a visit here.

Helpful?
Thank malc1005
SMMHermanus, Marketing at Wooden Barrel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing to us as well as the recommendation. It makes our day to know what we strive for, is being noted. We hope we see you soon. From The Wooden Barrel Team More 

1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great service. Portions are big. Value for money and the views are for FREE ! When last did you see the Owner come to you and ask if all is ok ? They did. Thanx Florence- smiling waitress.

Helpful?
Thank Antonio R
SMMHermanus, Marketing at Wooden Barrel, responded to this review

We are always so grateful when customers take the time in sharing their experience with us and we sure will let Florence know on her great work. See you back soon! From The Wooden Barrel Team More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had lunch on a windy and cold day. The blankets provided came in handy. Service was friendly and professional. The food was very good. My husband normally orders his meat rare,but restaurants seldom gets it right. The chef at Wooden Barrel personally made sure that it was right and warm inside. Overall a good experience

Helpful?
Thank Whalewatchers2014
SMMHermanus, Marketing at Wooden Barrel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time in writing to us. We really do appreciate your review especially since we try our best to make our customers are completely satisfied with their meal and service. Looking forward to seeing you back with us soon! From The Wooden Barrel Team More 

1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful setting,very friendly staff. Lovemore was our waiter and made our visit very enjoyable and relaxing. Food and coffee was great!Thanks for the blanket :) Do visit the Wooden Barrel!

Helpful?
Thank Heinrich C
SMMHermanus, Marketing at Wooden Barrel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and will definitely let our amazing Lovemore know of your comment on him. We also appreciate your recommendation and we hope to see you back with us again! From The Wooden Barrel Team More 

Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Under a new name (previously The Europa). A lovely little spot overlooking the sea and whales. Pet friendly and staff excellent. Food very good and reasonably priced. Well worth a visit

Helpful?
Thank KingsleyP631
SMMHermanus, Marketing at Wooden Barrel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing to us. We are so happy to hear about your experience with us and we look forward to seeing you with us again! From The Wooden Barrel Team More 

Wellington, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although the service received by Lovemore was excellent, the food was rather disappointing. Soggy chips, steak of a mediocre quality, nice calamari though.

Helpful?
Thank GrandDedaleCountry
SMMHermanus, Marketing at Wooden Barrel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing about your experience with us. We not too sure why the quality of the steak was mediocre as our steaks are matured in the fridge between 2-4 weeks making it soft and tender. We will have a look into our chips as to it being soggy More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Excellent lunch with a good table, good food and friendly staff. The owners both came to our table and talked about their menu. A pleasant experience will definitely return again .

Helpful?
Thank judy362017
SMMHermanus, Marketing at Wooden Barrel, responded to this review

Thank you so much Judy for your awesome review as we always love hearing from our clients especially on what their experience was like while with us. We look forward to welcoming you back with us again! From The Wooden Barrel Team More 

Travellers who viewed Wooden Barrel also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Wooden Barrel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 2 - US$ 10
Cuisine
Seafood, International, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Takeout, Highchairs Available, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Cheap Eats, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 21:00
Monday
08:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 21:00
Thursday
08:00 - 21:00
Friday
08:00 - 21:00
Saturday
08:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Marine Drive | Shop V56, Village Square, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Overberg District  >  Hermanus
  • Phone Number: +27 28 312 4377
Description
The Latin expression “denovo” means anew or new beginnings which is a perfect
expression to describe us in what we are now doing.
Jonathan and Liezel Hellings are the new owners of Europa Restaurant Hermanus.
They come out of business backgrounds. We have 3 daughters where only one is
currently still at home. We are involved at the restaurant from opening till closing
Monday till Sunday.
The restaurant was taken over with all the staff of which some had more than 10
years service. We also increased our compliment in certain areas within to better
our service and quality provided. There are numerous tourists frequenting our
restaurant from different countries around the world of which they return
regularly and are on first name basis with our waiters.

Europa Restaurant Hermanus is situated on the piazza in Hermanus overlooking
Walker Bay and the beautiful mountains. There are regular sightings of whales
which at times can be viewed from your seating area. There is outside seating as
well as very cozy inside seating.
We regard ourselves and all our staff as one big family and have the utmost
respect for one another. Without one another we cannot exist.

The restaurant was in dire need of a new look of which was done. We refurbished
inside and outside completely changed the face totally and kept nothing of the

Why make Europa your destination;
1. Wonderful view.
2. Restaurant is practically brand new.
3. Better wind protection than other restaurants around us on the ground
4. Good variety of breakfasts, light meals and for those a little hungrier.
5. Location location location.
6. Friendly waiters.

You can identify us by the dark benches with the comfortable red cushions.

To put it simply we were BOLD, made it BEAUTIFUL and is now BLISSFUL L
“We all have the ability. The difference is how we use it”

Stevie Wonder

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Wooden Barrel and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Wooden Barrel staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?