We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Conservatory

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
93 Brommersvlei Road | The Cellars-Hohenort, Constantia 7806, South Africa
+27 21 794 2137
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 173: English reviews
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
181 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We tried to book for the Greenhouse. But, we were way too late. The location also offers The Conservatory as an option. Great value for money at a nice location. We had tuna sashimi, cheese soufle, grilled fish, springbok and nice deserts. All very well executed. Good selection of local wines. Friendly staff. We'll be back at our next visit.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vanamstel
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Again a great experience in lovely surroundings. Met all our dietary requirements and kept a 7 year old happy by preparing his food so he could eat as soon as we sat down.

Helpful?
Thank melstein13
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
410 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 465 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

It is always a less than perfect start to a meal when the establishment cannot find a reservation, confirmed by email, when you arrive. The Cellars coped, but our table, booked months ago was not wonderful. In the event, my food was just OK and my wife was less than impressed with her main course. The maitre’d solved her issue... More 

Helpful?
Thank grahamee
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Charming and peaceful. Stunning gardens. The High Tea spread dainty and delicious. Chose the low carbon option. Highly recommended. Service good. Will be back soon.

Helpful?
Thank Erica T
AngieSwail, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this review

Dear Erica, Thank you so much for your feedback regarding our High Tea. Much appreciated. Kind regards, Angie More 

Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Great meal and first class service. Would definitely go back . Very knowledgeable wine waiter and all staff were first class

Helpful?
Thank Vivien H
AngieSwail, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this review

Dear Vivien, Thank you for the great feedback. We will see you again soon. Kind regards, Angie More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Extensive menu with several unusual choices. The service is impeccable and the dishes are beautifully presented.

Helpful?
Thank A_regular_traveler57
AngieSwail, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very positive feedback. I will definitely share it with the team. Kind regards, Angie More 

Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff were very pleasant and efficient. The cheese soufflé starter was individually prepared (of course) but rather strong in taste. The steak main was beautifully prepared but very filling. Once again I found the panacotta dessert more like a mousse. Our meal was also unfortunately distracted by rather noisy groups on nearby tables.

Helpful?
Thank sagatourist
AngieSwail, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this review

Dear Sagatourist, Thank you for your constructive feedback. We will definitely take a look at the table allocation of larger groups during service periods. Kind regards, Angie More 

branford
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were eager to eat here, and we had tried booking without success. So we were delighted to book a table for 4 for tonight earlier this week . When we arrived however the young hostess said we had no reservation. We originally had a 6:30 spot but had called this afternoon at 1 pm to see if it could... More 

Helpful?
Thank suehallam
AngieSwail, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this review

Dear Suehallam, I am really dissapointed that you were not able to dine in our Conservatory restaurant. I want to thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and would like to apologize to you and your family for any inconvenience caused. We do value all our guests and i can assure you that corrective action has been taken.... More 

Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the Cellars Hotel and naturally dined at this first class restaurant Wonderful staff, under the ever watchful eye of Dominic, the General Manager A large menu Everything we tried was superb In keeping with high standards there was a superb wine list Without question we shall return. Indeed , we are already preparing for 2018!

Helpful?
Thank VENETIAN2015
AngieSwail, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this review

Dear Venetian25, Thanks for the great feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2018. Kindest regards, Angie More 

Cape Town
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I had a wonderful dinner here. We had booked in advance and asked for the best table which was beautiful. The cheese souffle and prime rib were particular standouts.

Helpful?
Thank Nicole A
AngieSwail, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this review

Dear Nicole, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your dinner at our Conservatory restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to try some of the other delicious items on our menu. Kind regards, Angie More 

Travellers who viewed The Conservatory also viewed

 
Constantia, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Been to The Conservatory? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 25 - US$ 40
Cuisine
European, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly, View, Business meetings
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 93 Brommersvlei Road | The Cellars-Hohenort, Constantia 7806, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Constantia
  • Phone Number: +27 21 794 2137
Description
The Conservatory, situated adjacent to the historic Cellars-Hohenort cellar, offers diners unparalleled garden vistas from both the sun-drenched terrace and the indoor tables. Carefully constructed around a giant 300-year-old oak tree, The Conservatory is one of Constantia's finest daily breakfast, lunch and dinner venues. Here the head chef creates hotel classics alongside modern and seasonally influenced dishes. The Conservatory menu places a great emphasis on fresh produce from both The Cellars-Hohenort gardens and local green-friendly suppliers, and this gives it the unique ability to showcase a true taste of the Constantia Valley. Friendly service and an award-winning wine list ensure that The Conservatory offers guests and locals an exceptional everyday dining experience.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Conservatory staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?