We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Balducci's

Breakwater Blvd | Shop 6162, Victoria Wharf, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 21 421 6002
Website
Certificate of Excellence
All photos (332)
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good31%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“pasta” (124 reviews)
“sushi” (174 reviews)
“steak” (99 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Italian, Seafood, Sushi, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Breakwater Blvd | Shop 6162, Victoria Wharf, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
All Details
Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here
Sponsored by: Balducci's
1. Fantastic.
"I don't think i've ever seen such an extensive menu."
gilhancox
See reviews that mention an extensive menu
2. Love Balducci's sushi
"famous for super fresh world class sushi .."
Imtiaz-waheeda
See reviews that mention sushi
3. We like it so much!
"like it so much especially The pasta butter chicken"
SULIMAN A
See reviews that mention butter
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,123 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

My partner and I went for this restaurant having looked at the reviews on Trip Advisor. Upon arrival, we were greeted and our waitress was friendly. We ordered a starter which came quickly and was good. The night deteriorated from there. I ordered the seafood...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank CandiceB346
Reviewed 4 days ago

This place has really good food and an extensive menu. (Think Cheesecake Factory type menu, without the yummy cheesecake :) We really enjoyed our meal, especially the antipasti platter with the calamari, olives, prosciutto, artichokes and grilled eggplant. Their pastas are really good too, and...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 1999pt
guestrelations7, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear 1999pt, thank you for the great 5 review. We really do appreciate the feedback and we look forward to you joining us again. Regards, Guest Relations manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Not only was our food great but it was really Muzi’s smiling face that made our experience superb. What a positive person- explained the whole menu, recommended great things and we had a beautiful time :) thanks balducci for having us! Oh ya aaaaand- get...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank StefaniaZaretti
guestrelations7, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear StefaniaZaretti, thank you for the great 5 star review. We really do appreciate the feedback and we look forward to you joining us again. Regards, Guest Relations manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wow! This place has such an extensive menu! We were a group of 5 and were welcomed without a reservation on a busy night. Our meals were all different... Salt & Pepper Squid was amazing, Ostrich Lasagne was great, Fillet was perfectly tender and served...More

Date of visit: January 2019
2  Thank whittaker348
guestrelations7, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear whittaker348, thank you for the excellent 5 start review. We always appreciate the feedback and we look forward to you joining us soon again. Regards, Guest Relations manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I went with my hubby looking for some good sushi and he wanted pasta what an unexpected experience. From sitting down to the meals arriving our waiter paid close attention to our needs and wants. The meals arrived and it was really good, fresh fish...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank Babylee10
guestrelations7, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Babylee10, thank you for the wonderful review. We always appreciate the feedback and we look forward to you recommending us to others. Regards, Guest Relations manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Totally over charged for a awful meal that was over cooked. Ruined our Christmas Day Had to ask for vegetables that you would assume came with your dinner. Management totally unhelpful. Wouldn’t recommend this to our worst enemies.More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank anne h
guestrelations7, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Anne h, my apologies that you had a disappointing experience with us. Pls can you email me a copy of the bill to support@slickrestaurants.com so that I can investigate these points that you have mentioned, as this is not our standard. Regards, Guest Relations...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I went here without reservations with my family of four wanting some Italian food. Our server was a nice lady but a trainee. She put us at a small round table but when the food came out it could not fit, which we pointed out...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank nipbone
guestrelations7, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear niphone, thanks for your feedback. The day in question is one of the busiest days in the year and we apologise for not meeting your expectations. We cannot guarantee any table configurations without a reservation and you were obviously accommodated as "a walk in...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Overall a disappointing experience given the initial ‘feel’ of the place when we arrived and the extensive menu. My own steak (fillet) was delicious but the other four meals in the party ranged from “ok” to “not very good”. In particular the beef ribs were...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank iancX6805DX
guestrelations7, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear X6805DX, my apologies that you had a disappointing experience with us. I will investigate these points that you have mentioned, as this is not our standard. We hope to have you try us again soon when you are next visiting. Regards, Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited this resturant we got there without a booking there was ten of us they accommodated us which was a plus the food was not good I had Thai prawns it was terrible my wife had butternut pocsuto pasta below average the Sevice was...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank COZ9808
guestrelations7, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear COZ9808, my apologies that you did not have a memorable dining occasion with us. I will investigate these points that you have mentioned, as this is not our normal standard. We hope to have you visit us again soon to give us another chance....More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a table for 9 for lunch. When we got there they did not have there tables sorted out, then suggested we squash nine people around a table for 6. Manager was aggressive and dismissive in his attitude. I will never come here again.More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Gerhard1101
guestrelations7, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Gerhard101, we are so sorry you feel the way you do about the restaurant. Yesterday was 26 December which is one of the busiest days of the year and we cannot guarantee exactly what time diners will vacate their tables to the minute especially...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 114 hotels in Cape Town Central
The Table Bay Hotel
2,730 reviews
.11 km away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
1,759 reviews
.34 km away
Dock House Boutique Hotel
235 reviews
.36 km away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
831 reviews
.39 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Willoughby & Co
3,707 reviews
.11 km away
Baia
2,844 reviews
.04 km away
Karibu
2,399 reviews
.08 km away
Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar
3,320 reviews
.15 km away
Nearby Attractions
Victoria & Alfred Waterfront
11,894 reviews
.07 km away
The Springbok Experience Rugby Museum
517 reviews
.34 km away
The Cape Wheel
907 reviews
.28 km away
Chavonnes Battery Museum
105 reviews
.38 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Balducci's staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 15 - US$ 25
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Parking Available, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Breakwater Blvd | Shop 6162, Victoria Wharf, V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 421 6002
  • E-mail
Description
Balducci at the V & A Waterfront offers an unrivaled menu of simple, everyday home cooked Italian dishes that reflect the most traditional elements of food and culinary styles. Our simple Italian home cooked food is prepared in a relaxed and restorative style, whilst at the same time being creative, traditional and affordable. Main restaurant open from 11am daily
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing