We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shimmy Beach Club

) #307 of 912 Restaurants in Cape Town Central ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ , Seafood, Sushi
12 South Arm Road, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 21 200 7778
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good33%
  • Average17%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible15%
4 weeks ago
“Disappointing Glamour”
15 May 2017
“Living on its reputation?”
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, Seafood, Sushi, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
12 South Arm Road, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
Reviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Shimmy Beach is a better club than a restaurant. The decor is great but not watched by its service or quality of its food. I will say that a table of 14 is not an easy size to manage, we were allocated one waitron which...More

Thank Antonds1964
ShimmyBeach, Social Media Team at Shimmy Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Anton Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your feedback is much appreciated! We are continually looking to improve our service and are sorry to hear it wasn't up to scratch, I have passed on your review to our management who...More

Reviewed 15 May 2017

We booked on a Sunday for a 21st birthday lunch followed by cocktails on the Heineken Deck as I was assured this was THE place for young people and a great location. That may be true but the service was really not up to scratch...More

Thank annakatrine
ShimmyBeach, Social Media Team at Shimmy Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Anna Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are sorry to hear your experience was not up to scratch. I have passed on your feedback to management. Many thanks.

Reviewed 14 May 2017

Stopped for drinks on a Saturday night - had zero table service outside even though there were team members standing around everywhere doing nothing. wasn't very busy either but that is the season. Very nice outside seating area!

Thank Rhys O
ShimmyBeach, Social Media Team at Shimmy Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Rhys Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we truly value your feedback! Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 11 May 2017

Difficult to find, right in the harbor. This is a great place to hang out, have a cocktail and enjoy the good music.

Thank Norma S
ShimmyBeach, Social Media Team at Shimmy Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks Norma, so glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

Probably not in a position to really rate Shimmy. Went for Quick lunch with my wife on a weekday afternoon. The place I huge with many private areas bar area. Beach area even which looked great. Sushi was tasty enough (although bordering on pricey) and...More

1  Thank Stefan-12345
Reviewed 3 May 2017

Wonderful food, I asked for chicken however our waiters Kudzai and Trevor convinced me that the salmon should be tried ...I was so happy with their recommendation. The chef Mike certainly knows what he is doing and it was the nicest salmon I have ever...More

Thank MrsPFoster
ShimmyBeach, Social Media Team at Shimmy Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are so happy that you enjoyed your experience with us! We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Reviewed 3 May 2017

Shimmy Beach Club is located next to the harbour and its nice on hot sunny day because it serves great cocktails and beers. It is a good family outing during the day because it has a pool for kids to play in while the parents...More

Thank Kabelo M
Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

We were lucky to have a evening at Shimmy's Super friendly atmosphere and management (Stephane). Good music, food, service, just a top, top place. Would love to go back during the day!

Thank OCContour
Reviewed 26 April 2017

Finally got the chance to visit this much talked about venue. Since I am based abroad and Cape Town being my hometown, I endevoured to make it a priority to visit. I missed two previous opportunities and this time around I made no mistake. I...More

Thank Johann O
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Was here for a birthday party on 13th April.I was very impressed with the overall appearance of this place. It looked so very upmarket and the service seemed excellent but the food was very disappointing and the prices were exorbitant. I ordered the mussels starter...More

Thank mervyn l
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Willoughby & Co
2,892 reviews
.79 km away
Baia
2,138 reviews
.76 km away
Gibson's Gourmet Burgers & Ribs
746 reviews
.82 km away
Meloncino
991 reviews
.80 km away
Nearby Attractions
Victoria & Alfred Waterfront
7,774 reviews
.67 km away
The Cape Wheel
606 reviews
.91 km away
Cape Town Diamond Museum
308 reviews
.71 km away
Nobel Square
209 reviews
.96 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
aqilahdavids9
Hi what is the age restriction and entry fee?
1 February 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from ShimmyBeach | Property representative |
Hi there, At events, No Under 18s are allowed, and each event as a different entrance fee. Day to day, we don't have an age restriction, nor entrance fee.
0
Votes
Kiiiirst
What's the dress code for weekend nights?
8 December 2016|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from ShimmyBeach | Property representative |
Hi there, We always encourage a smart casual dress-code in the evenings, but if you're coming from a music event, dress as you please
0
Votes
871edieh
The CLASH of reviews on tripadvisor result in confusion to me Should I stay or should I go ?
26 February 2016|
Answer Show all 7 answers
Response from UKWorldTraveller125 | Reviewed this property |
Definitely go..... I didn't think it was expensive at all! and it certainly wasn't as pretentious as I was expecting. Nice club, good service!
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, Seafood, Sushi, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Reservations, Full Bar
Good for
View, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 04:00
Monday
11:00 - 04:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 04:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 04:00
Thursday
11:00 - 04:00
Friday
11:00 - 04:00
Saturday
11:00 - 04:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 12 South Arm Road, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 200 7778
  • E-mail
Description
Shimmy Beach Club, Cape Town's hottest lifestyle venue, is perfect for romantic meals with a view, tailor-made conferences, glamorous events and Ibiza-style parties. Boasting an elegant 220-seater restaurant, two meeting rooms, tow gorgeous pools and bars, and a sprawling deck leading onto a private beach, it's the place to be!
Top local and international DJ's play on our new poolside stage on weekends throughout summer.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing