We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kyoto Garden Sushi

11 Kloof Nek Road, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 21 422 2001
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good24%
  • Average8%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“scallops” (22 reviews)
“sashimi” (16 reviews)
“rice” (21 reviews)
Open Now
17:30 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
11 Kloof Nek Road, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Delicious japanese food served in a warm comfortable restaurant. Very well thought out menu - the seafood soup is to die for its so authentic. Sushi bar is also there overseen by a Japanese chef. I visited twice it was that good!!

1  Thank BurySt_EdmundsTrevor
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I walk into this empty room, there is another empty room on my right, clearly we are the first two people to enter for dinner. I am greeted by an Asian looking coloured lady with a gorgeous smile as well as a friendly bar tender....More

Thank MatthewSma11
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were soaked to our skin and my grand daughter said to us "We can't go in there, it is too fancy". We opened the door and were warmly welcomed and had a wonderful delicate meal.

Thank Proseccovaldo
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked for the three course winter special at R200 pp. What a disappointment! The tuna tartare starter was tasteless. The tempura was good. The two main courses: ramen noodkrs with duck - the duck was poor quality. The other main - fish with spicy...More

Thank Reddy6
Eamon M, Guest relations. at Kyoto Garden Sushi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Reddy, Thank you for the feedback. But we're bemused. Have you got the right restaurant? Maybe you ate somewhere else, and got us confused with that place? I ask because you write that you had a 3 course winter special for R200, and fish...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went to try the winter special, I having never experienced Japanese cuisine before wasn't too sure what to expect. The dishes were perfectly sized and paired. Loved the Edamame - delicious and perfect for between courses! The vegetable tempura is a must-try and the...More

Thank Tatum A
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Me and my wife visited Kyoto on Friday evening, and were absolutely delighted with what we would call the complete dining experience. Upon arrival, we were instantly made to feel welcome by the polite group of staff - a theme that continued throughout the evening....More

Thank tomhead91
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The food was excellent. Delicate flavors, delicious meal. Sushi and sashimi was extremely fresh. Will definitely be back

Thank masumay
Reviewed 15 August 2017

We have heard a lot of good things about Kyoto Gardens and have been wanting to visit for aaaaages! What had put us off in the past were the prices and fear of not finding anything suitable and substantial to eat for my vegetarian boyfriend....More

1  Thank Jasmin N
Reviewed 7 August 2017

For a sushi place that is rated the top in Cape Town, I find this very hard to believe. The prices were extremely overpriced for what you get, we left there feeling very unsatisfied, empty and having spent far to much for what we received....More

Thank Lorenzo P
Eamon M, Manager at Kyoto Garden Sushi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Lorenzo with two reviews? And the other is another sushi restaurant, to whom he gives 5 stars. We can see right through you.

Reviewed 3 August 2017

We have eaten here several times and the food is always exquisite. I particularly enjoy the tempura and the sushi. But the service is appalling. I had a waiter almost slam the door in my face after my husband entered the restaurant (I was right...More

Thank interio
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Miller's Thumb
1,729 reviews
.00 km away
Arnold's Restaurant
667 reviews
.16 km away
Thali
79 reviews
.25 km away
Hudsons the Burger Joint
276 reviews
.23 km away
Nearby Attractions
Iziko South African Museum and Planetarium
280 reviews
.63 km away
Cape Town Holocaust Centre
70 reviews
.63 km away
The Labia
77 reviews
.37 km away
Great Synagogue
23 reviews
.61 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Craig N
12 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Eamon M | Property representative |
Hello Craig, no problem. Please just ask when you are seated. Regards.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Open Hours
Monday
17:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
17:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
17:30 - 23:00
Thursday
17:30 - 23:00
Friday
17:30 - 23:00
Saturday
17:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 11 Kloof Nek Road, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 422 2001
Description
http://maps.google.co.za/maps/place?hl=en&um=1&ie=UTF-8&q=kyoto+garden+sushi+cape+town&fb=1&gl=za&hq=kyoto+garden+sushi&hnear=Cape+Town&cid=108047996560887617
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing