We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Zest Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
European, French, Mediterranean, Contemporary, Fusion
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
10km from Nelspruit on the R37 Sabie | Mashishing Road | Situated at Kavinga Guest House & Venue, Nelspruit PO Box 19792 1219, South Africa
+27 13 007 0066
Website
Today
09:00 - 15:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 09:00 - 15:00
Tue - Sat 09:00 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 121: English reviews
Nelspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The place is well secluded but very beautiful, excellent for kids and the food is spectacular. Extensive wine list choice and most of all, very friendly service.

Helpful?
Thank lornamaphuthuma
White River, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very Good service within a very beautifull surrounding. The high tea food was not as good as you would order from the menu, which was excellent in the past. This is a recommendable destination for a very tranquil meal with friends.

Helpful?
Thank ritadupreez
Nelspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place to be at ~ 12h00 on Saturdays. Very relaxing atmosphere, excellent service, beautiful view and very good food.

Helpful?
Thank 721nicd
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
178 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2016

A restaurant situated in the Kavinga Lodge. We were 8 guys only trying their starters and all were very pleased. Service fast and friendly. Surroundings beautiful. Only open for the public during lunch 11am – 3pm

Helpful?
Thank Centh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

The food is very good! The table that we sat at was not well ventilated - a fan would have helped. Service was friendly and professional but slow at times.

Helpful?
Thank Gary S
LizelleLundie, Owner at Zest Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Gary. Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment. Kind regards, Lizelle Lundie More 

Nelspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2016

The setting of the restaurant is beautiful at night and very inviting. We ordered a bottle of Meerlust Merlot 2013 from the wine list but were presented with a 2014 bottle without an indication that the 2013 was not available. The salmon was cooked well and was tasty, however the noodles was really bland with no seasoning. The lemon meringue... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Henri N
Bredasdorp
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2016

Food is fantastic, staff go the extra mile to make it unforgettable. It might be a tad pricey but worth it all the way. Thank you

Helpful?
Thank 782laras
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2016

Our experience on Sunday left us a little disappointed. The menu offers a wide range of dishes and the descriptions are mouth-watering and intriguing. However what eventually arrives on your plate is a bit of a let down. While the quality of the food is really good, the dishes turn out to be rather ordinary and all the flavours mentioned... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lindivr
LizelleLundie, Owner at Zest Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment. We are disappointed to know that you feel that you were let down by your expectations. We are however pleased to know that you found the quality of the food acceptable, fresh & well cooked. Although we do not serve vegetables with our main courses, we do offer a delicious... More 

Mpumalanga
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

Great atmosphere, impeccable service and incredible food. Truly a place to visit on your lowveld bucket list. Would go back whenever I get the chance.

Helpful?
Thank amalic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

Absolutely professional staff and unbelievable food. The entire occasion was on budget. Highly recommended

Helpful?
Thank Rob D

Travellers who viewed Zest Restaurant also viewed

Nelspruit, Mpumalanga
Nelspruit, Mpumalanga
 
Nelspruit, Mpumalanga
Nelspruit, Mpumalanga
 

Been to Zest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
European, French, Mediterranean, Contemporary, Fusion
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Romantic, View, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 15:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
09:00 - 21:30
Thursday
09:00 - 21:30
Friday
09:00 - 21:30
Saturday
09:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 10km from Nelspruit on the R37 Sabie | Mashishing Road | Situated at Kavinga Guest House & Venue, Nelspruit PO Box 19792 1219, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Mpumalanga  >  Nelspruit
  • Phone Number: +27 13 007 0066
Description
A visit to Zest will not only tantalise your taste buds, but spoil you with a visual feast of sweeping Lowveld panoramas with a charming country feel. The restaurant is situated on a farm in the hills above Nelspruit – about fifteen minutes from the centre of town – and is surrounded by large peaceful gardens with spectacular views of the Mpumalanga bushveld.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Zest Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?