We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fusion

₹₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Shop 4 Silvervause Centre | Cnr Silverton & Vause Roads, Durban 4001, South Africa
+27 31 202 6182
Website
Today
10:00 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Sat 10:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

35 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 35: English reviews
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
109 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Trainee chef Kyle was on duty at lunchtime, a very pleasant young man but he should have been supervised. Asked if there was fresh line fish he disappeared for a few minutes & returned with the answer only one portion but he failed to find out what fish it was. Two of us ordered duck which was too small a... More 

Helpful?
Thank TnTdurbs
Shaun S, Owner at Fusion, responded to this review

I am truly sorry that your dining experience was not up to standard. I have dealt with the parties concerned, and apologise for us seriously dropping the ball. Unfortunately Kyle is indeed a trainee, and I have not showed him this review for his own sake as he would be really gutted and it would profit him little to stress... More 

Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2016

Its a little pricey for the quality of food. The chef was also drunk as a skunk when he came out to ask about the food. Not a problem to me, as i was packing away the drinks too, but its maybe not very professional - for this reason, i will not rate this as a family friendly restaurant I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jessie_swan
Shaun S, Owner at Fusion, responded to this review

Hi Jessie Thank you for your review... However I am a bit concerned about this drunk chef that you mention that 'he came out', as all my chefs are female.... only my front of house manager is male. I would really appreciate you making contact with me via email on shaunsmith@fusioncooking.co.za. many thanks. shaun More 

Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2015 via mobile

My husband wanted to go somewhere a bit different for his birthday last night, and Fusion is really the only place in Durban that can't be categorized into any "standard" cuisine. The food is interesting and just a bit more exciting than the usual popular places. We started with some tapas, delicious although I thought they were a little too... More 

Helpful?
Thank SAtraveller80
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2015

I cannot understand why this place is not busier! Situated almost next to Durbans famous Cafe 99, I have had the occasion to eat there as well and decided to visit this restaurant for a special anniversary celebration.What a discovery- we had the restaurant literally to ourselves almost walking out as we thought it was tooquiet to be good. Thank... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shivani S
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2015

One-of-a-kind restaurant, wish there were more of them in Durban! Unusual dishes (dishwasher fillet / colour-changing soup / ice cream frozen at your table with liquid nitrogen), diverse flavour combinations, and all extremely delicious. An excellent restaurant and well worth a visit!

Helpful?
Thank roselee85
Durban
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2015 via mobile

Unfortunately was a disappointment . The dish washer fillet , although I insist on a well done , I was medium to rare , I ate it but very unpleasant I don't like raw meat. The nitrogen style ice cream was too hard I rather have a normal ice-cream it is nicer Over all very expensive !!!! No value for... More 

Helpful?
Thank villavalencia
Shaun S, Owner at Fusion, responded to this review

Sorry to hear Fusion was not to your liking - we usually receive many rave reviews as we are well known for our friendly service, good wines and excellent food. With regards to the steak - although we would not recommend a WELL DONE steak, it's a pity you didn't ask the waiter to send it back to be cooked... More 

Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
106 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2015

Wonderfull place to eat! An Enthuiastic selection of wines on hand and you are made to feel welcome !

Helpful?
Thank micim
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2015

SO I tried the dishwasher steak! Yes you read that correctly. They slow cook a steak sealed in a bag, inside a dishwashing machine. It was amazing.

Helpful?
1 Thank BryanDaddy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2015 via mobile

We had a very wonderfully gratifying experience at Fusion. The service was impeccable. The food was exiting, creatively fusing different cuisines. The mussels where to die for. The wine list had some of our favourites. The nitrogen ice cream to the malva pudding was wonderful and even the coffee great quality. Thanks this was value for money and something awesomely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gerrit R
Shaun S, Owner at Fusion, responded to this review

Many thanks for letting us know about your wonderful experience at Fusion. Glad you enjoyed :) kind regards Chef Shaun More 

Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
142 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2015

Nestled between Café 1999 and Unity in the Silvervause complex is a little gem that if you haven’t visited it is time you did. I had often heard and scoffed about the cooking being done in dishwashers, electric blankets and other strange devices but had never experienced them first hand. Being one to believe in the stance of ‘don’t criticise... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank russell a
Shaun S, Owner at Fusion, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review - am so glad you so enjoyed. Particularly nice to hear since I have been away for the past 6 weeks - 5 in France teaching at a hotel school and working in a 2 Michelin star restaurant (got lots of ideas to bring back), and now this... More 

Travellers who viewed Fusion also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Fusion? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
International, Fusion
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Reservations, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Local cuisine
Open Hours
Monday
10:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 21:00
Thursday
10:00 - 21:00
Friday
10:00 - 21:00
Saturday
10:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Shop 4 Silvervause Centre | Cnr Silverton & Vause Roads, Durban 4001, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  KwaZulu-Natal  >  Durban
  • Phone Number: +27 31 202 6182

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Fusion staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?