We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ghazal Sunninghill

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Square, Shop 13 | Corner Naivasha & Rivonia Road, Sunninghill, Sandton 2191, South Africa
+27 11 807 5828
Website
Today
10:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 64: English reviews
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

best quality Indian food in jhb, prawn Corma and butter Naan is the way to go. you do however have to pay for what you get

Helpful?
Thank braddebb
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

We visited in the evening and were a bit concerned as the restaurant was quite empty, but we should not have been. The staff were friendly and brought the drinks nice and quickly. I thought the wine prices were a touch on the expensive side. We had mixed samosas to start and these were nice and tasty with good spice... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brett T
GhazalShill, Owner at Ghazal Sunninghill, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write us a great review! We hope to see you again soon. More 

Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
343 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2017

May 10 dinner: We have been to the other outlet at Peter Place and loved the food and the ambience. This time, we tried this outlet. This is quite a big place and has a separate section for smokers. The lighting is a bit on the dimmer side just like the other outlet. We started with the veg samoosas and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maulin_Parekh
GhazalShill, Owner at Ghazal Sunninghill, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We hope to see you again soon :) More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Myself and my Fiance came here for Dinner ,our first time in this establishment ,we decided to come try it out as we have heard a few compliments on there quality of food .As we entered we where greeted by the Manager which is always a good sign .the waiter took us to our table ,the venue was not to... More 

Helpful?
Thank graham a
GhazalShill, Owner at Ghazal Sunninghill, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide constructive feedback - we will definitely address the points noted and hope to give you an even better experience the next time you visit us :) More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

We had butter chicken and lamb curry. I was just not impressed at all. Both curries were blend. We asked for both to be hot but the whole thing wasn't tasty. The rice was not good either. I'm just dissapointed by the whole thing. They might have changed the chef as I've been here before and didn't have such an... More 

Helpful?
Thank Themba K
GhazalShill, Owner at Ghazal Sunninghill, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience. There have been no major changes. We hope you will come back and try again. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
336 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Were disappointed last time we visited but had a change of heart and very pleased we did. Had a great meal and busy but great atmosphere. Excellent service but be warned expensive. Recommended.

Helpful?
Thank William G
GhazalShill, Owner at Ghazal Sunninghill, responded to this review

Thanks for giving Ghazal a 2nd chance..very happy to hear that we did not disappoint! More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2017

I love curries so always seek out new curry houses. I had eaten at one of the other branches in the past and was somewhat disappointed in the food. This one is no different, I find the curries too sweet for my taste. The layout and entrance of the restaurant is odd and the service was average to below average.... More 

Helpful?
Thank ZS1RA
GhazalShill, Owner at Ghazal Sunninghill, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2016

I was at the Sunninghill branch with my husband for lunch on Saturday, 17th Dec. This was my first time visiting your restaurant. I must admit that it was a very poor experience. You staff was not attentive, and we had to keep calling the waiter. The staff were more interested in sorting out the restaurant, for another function, than... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ashika D
GhazalShill, Owner at Ghazal Sunninghill, responded to this review

Hi Ashika. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your meal with us. Thank you for your feedback - we will definitely use it to improve. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Very good Indian food and ambiance. Consistent good quality food and taste Wine lovers will like their wine list.I have also eaten at their Bryanston branch - equally good.

Helpful?
Thank Rampersad66
GhazalShill, Owner at Ghazal Sunninghill, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review! We really appreciate it and hope to see you soon at Ghazal 😃 More 

Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2016

I don't know why I haven't reviewed Ghazal Sunninghill sooner because we have dined here on several occasions as a couple, with family members as well as ordered food as part of their take away service. Their service is impeccable and can only be matched by the delicious food. I like the fact that whether you decide to dine at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Van_S86
GhazalShill, Owner at Ghazal Sunninghill, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write such a great review! We really appreciate it :) More 

Travellers who viewed Ghazal Sunninghill also viewed

Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Ghazal Sunninghill? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Indian, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 22:00
Monday
10:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 22:00
Thursday
10:00 - 22:00
Friday
10:00 - 22:00
Saturday
10:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Square, Shop 13 | Corner Naivasha & Rivonia Road, Sunninghill, Sandton 2191, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Greater Johannesburg  >  Sandton
  • Phone Number: +27 11 807 5828
Description
Ghazal Sunninghill is a fine dining restaurant specialising in Indian cuisine. To compliment our delicious menu, we have a fully stock wine cellar with only the best South African wines. We also cater in house or at your venue for all function types.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Ghazal Sunninghill and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Ghazal Sunninghill staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?