We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Local Grill

Certificate of Excellence
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
7th 3rd Avenue, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
+27 11 880 1946
Website
Today
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 10:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Mon 18:00 - 10:00
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 14:30
Tue - Fri 18:00 - 22:00
Sat 18:00 - 10:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

363 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 337: English reviews
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited here before heading to the airport after hearing great reviews of it. The reviews lived up to the experience I had eating here. The options of steaks is vast and on the wall each of the cuts age is given so you can select from that also. I opted for a grass fed rib eye steak cooked medium and... More 

Helpful?
Thank kevross85
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Cozy atmosphere, with an extensive and excellent selection of wines. The kitchen tour was very enjoyable and added something special to the evenings experience. I would recommend going in smaller groups, as the kitchen is small. We were in a large group and some members of our party (very large group) had steaks that were not done to order. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank DARead
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If you love beef, there is no better place for you to go in Johannesburg. The selection of meats and cuts, the preparation and the service are simply second to none. First class from beginning to end! The toughest moment is when you finish your meal and have leave, knowing you'll have to wait until the next time... Thank you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael B
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a wonderful experience at this restaurant. We enjoyed the tour of the meat locker, explanation of grain versus grass fed animals, and tasting. The food and service were excellent. The lamb ribs were awesome.

Helpful?
Thank QueenMemphis
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I come here often for their ostrich medallions which are the best I've ever tasted and I love the generous portion of their cranberry sauce. You can choose between grain fed or grass fed beef and you're invited into the kitchen for a tutorial on their cooking methods and their beef's provenance probably although I've never taken them up their... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jill M
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The local grill is a gem located on 7th Street, Parktown North it is a local favorite. The waiting staff are all Male (not sure why that is) our specific waiter needed just a little bit of polishing but was ok. Because we didn't have a reservation we had to wait a while at the bar but that was not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ayanda S
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
698 reviews
404 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had sirloin on the bone here last night with beer battered onion ring as a side. My wife had the wasabi salmon. My wife's salmon was good, but my sirloin was disappointing, a large but thin piece of steak. I expected a thicker, smaller cut. It was also quite bland. The service was excellent - but they should really... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hooggenoeg
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Firstly we sat by the door and bar. Noisy and uncomfortable. We had to look for our waiter a few times and in some cases even got up to look for service. The tour of the kitchen was actually not on . It was not clean, and everyone breathing on you meat in the deep freeze uncouth. Safety issue also... More 

Helpful?
Thank Waynevv
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this review

Hi Wayne Thank you for your review. After 9 years of offering our customers a kitchen tour and taking huge pride in what we are passionate about, your comments although your opinion, seem rather strange and inaccurate. Service we take full responsibility for and I will address this issue. We do include a side dish with every main order however... More 

Johannesburg
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I had many of the best grass fed steaks ever here. However on Friday the grass fed T-bone steaks were not matured enough and the waiter recommended grain fed. I did not enjoy it, it did not meet my expectation, not tasty or juicy but ok. The sides of mash and local salad was great. Don't bother with the milk... More 

Helpful?
Thank johanita1969
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, keep it grass, keep it real! Your continued support is truly appreciated. Regards Steve PS working on the milk tart!! More 

Roodepoort, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2016

The first time I visited this steakhouse a few years ago it was awesome, but this time it was really dissappointing. Some if us had to return our food as it was totally under-grilled (medium well we received rare and medium we also received rare and the prego chicken was bone dry). Also we recieved our "sides" 5 minutes before... More 

Helpful?
Thank LeChefCharles
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this review

Hi Charles Thank you for your comments. We have spoken and addressing your issues. Regards Steve More 

Travellers who viewed The Local Grill also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Local Grill? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 15 - US$ 20
Cuisine
Steakhouse, African, Barbecue
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Monday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 10:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 10:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7th 3rd Avenue, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Greater Johannesburg  >  Johannesburg
  • Phone Number: +27 11 880 1946
Description
Best Steakhouse in South Africa awarded by The Wolftrap steakhouse championships. Offering kitchen tours and beef courses. Beef all aged on the premises and cut to order.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Local Grill staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?