We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Emily Moon

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Rietvlei Road | Emily Moon River Lodge, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
+27 44 501 2500
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

721 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 637: English reviews
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

This is rather quirky in a really nice way and we come here every year. The food and service are very good indeed and the restaurant has plenty of charact

Helpful?
Thank Jack C
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A cab ride up the hill from Plettenberg, Emily Moon is a lively, friendly restaurant. Moderately priced with an interesting menu and a OK wine list. If you're playing with the US dollar, a bargain. We went on a Saturday night and it was crowded and we only could get a late reservation, probably the reason I'm only giving four... More 

Helpful?
Thank WinoRick
Cessy, France
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

With a spectacular sunset over the river estuary Emily Moon is a must but get there in time to enjoy it. This was our sixth visit in as many years and it always excites. We had the rack of lamb and it was perfectly cooked and absolutely delicious. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank colin_long
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I have to say this is probably the most beautiful restaurant I've ever been to, and Ive been to a fair few. From the moment we arrived we were stunned by the character the place has, from the pool, to the quirky ornaments that decorate the place to the views out over the river. The service was excellent and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank MartinFletcher74
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were recommended to go to this place by friends and we had the most fantastic meal. We shared starters all of which were gorgeous and then 4 of us had steaks and 2 lamb ribs. We all agreed we'd never had such tender tasty steaks anywhere that could compare. Our service was fine but we went late by SA... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great place to visit, but what a terrible service. You have to wait too long for your food. I would recommend it, but you don't need to be in a hurry.

Helpful?
Thank Tom 2
emilymoon_sa, Manager at Emily Moon, responded to this review

Hi Tom We are sorry you didn't have a great experience. Please email alex@emilymoon.co.za with the details of the service you received so we can make sure the issues are dealt with. We hope you return again to experience the true Emily Moon magic. More 

Michigan City, Indiana
Level Contributor
369 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our friends favorite place became our favorite place tonight. We had a table with a wonderful view of the river and waterways lit beautifully by the setting sun and a rising sliver of moon. The atmosphere of Emily's is only surpassed by the food. Our friends had the pork bellies. Another person raved about the seafood curry and I swooned... More 

Helpful?
Thank Consultcinda
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A short drive from Plett, this restaurant is set on a hill with a dramatic, panoramic view over the river valley. The night we visited, there had been a violent thunderstorm and we initially thought we would not be able to eat as the power was out. Luckily, electricity restored, the chef was able to produce excellent food but it... More 

Helpful?
Thank jeminab
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the hotel 3 nights and because the food was so wonderful ate there all 3 nights . we would heartily recommend evrery dish and the wine choices were very carefully chosen and priced vrey competitively A magical experience.

Helpful?
Thank anthony b
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went for dinner this evening and alll 3 guests were in agreement the food and service was very average. Such a beautiful venue but food lacking in quality

Helpful?
Thank Sue W
emilymoon_sa, Manager at Emily Moon, responded to this review

Hi Sue Please send the details of your experience to alex@emilymoon.co.za so we can deal with the issues you experienced! We hope you return soon and experience the true Emily Moon magic! More 

Travellers who viewed Emily Moon also viewed

Harkerville, Plettenberg Bay
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Keurboomstrand, Plettenberg Bay
 

Been to Emily Moon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
African, Fusion, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Rietvlei Road | Emily Moon River Lodge, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Plettenberg Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 44 501 2500
Description
Where luxury and peace are to be found in a sweeping river valley. Where the views encompass a wetland, winding river and distant mountains and where the call of the Fish Eagle will forever remind you of the vast skies of Africa .

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Emily Moon and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Stellenbosch, South Africa

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Emily Moon staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?