We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tamanu Beach Resort

₹₹ - ₹₹₹Seafood, , Vegetarian Friendly
Tamanu Beach | Amuri Village, Cook Islands
+682 31 810
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good37%
  • Average13%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“lamb” (11 reviews)
“caesar salad” (3 reviews)
“bread” (9 reviews)
Open Now
7:30 AM - 9:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Polynesian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Tamanu Beach | Amuri Village, Cook Islands
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely rooms with veranda and separate sitting areas in the one bedroom beach bungalow. Beautiful view of the lagoon right outside your door. The islander night was very entertaining and the food abundant. Tropical daily breakfast was included and was fine. The menu did offer...More

Thank 78maeves
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This resort was very relaxing with friendly staff. It is a family business and has a personal feel to it. The villas are very nice with a private outlook each and easy access to the pool and beach. Canoes, paddle boards and snorkels are freely...More

Thank nzwalkers2015
i2taki, General Manager at Tamanu Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia Orana, Thank you for the review of our small resort. We are constantly working on our rooms and our services to keep them up to standard. We are very blessed to have our resort on one of the best stretches of white sand beach...More

Reviewed 9 January 2018

Had lunch here, the outlook over the beach from the resturaunt was to die for, service was great and food excellent.More

Thank Smithy6966
i2taki, General Manager at Tamanu Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Kia orana, Thank you for your review of our restaurant. We have recently had 6 young school students do an internment at the resort. With jobs in our restaurant, front office, kitchen and housekeeping. I am pleased to here the service was great, we are...More

Reviewed 3 January 2018

We also stayed at this resort, but ate at this restaurant because it is excellent. And their Island Night is great with a great buffet. We ate at a couple of other restaurants nearby and Tamanu was the best.

Thank MTLinda
i2taki, General Manager at Tamanu Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Kia Orana Thanks for the positive review - I will pass on your comments to our team in kitchen and restaurant. Meitaki atupaka, Nick

Reviewed 3 January 2018

We travel a lot, mostly staying in mid-end places. However, once in a while, it's nice to splurge. New Years Eve 2017, what a great reason to celebrate - and what a splurge, $500 a night for five nights. When reviewing a luxury place (out...More

Thank martin672014
i2taki, General Manager at Tamanu Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Kia Orana, Happy New Year to our tripadvisor readers. For this reviewer I am very sorry you did not have a good time at Tamanu Beach Resort. Please allow me to address some of your concerns. Out of respect for our Island traditions because New...More

Reviewed 10 December 2017

This was a minute's walk from our budget accommodation, so we often walked here for coffee or wine, and had dinner and snacks a couple times. They always accommodated us even though we were not hotel guests, excepting Sunday reservation BBQ night. Average price for...More

1  Thank Nicole A
i2taki, General Manager at Tamanu Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Kia Orana, Thank you for the review of our beachfront restaurant. We welcome everyone to Tamanu Beach Restaurant, however we are often fully booked on our Thursday "Takurua" Island Night and fire dance show. To avoid disappointment we do recommend that guests try and book...More

Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

Tamanu has a fantastic Island Night! Huuuuuge variety of local dishes buffet style. You will not go hungry. Everything was very well made and tasty. The fire show afterwards was really impressive. Great experience all aroundMore

Thank Lukasz P
i2taki, General Manager at Tamanu Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Kia Orana, Thank you for your review. Our mamas work hard in the kitchen preparing the food- from selecting fresh from the local gardens early in the morning to harvesting our local sea grapes "rimu" from the lagoon the night before. I am sure you...More

Reviewed 10 November 2017

We were not staying at the resort however made reservations on Thursday for Sunday's buffet dinner and entertainment show. We had hoped that this would be a special evening out as it was my husband's birthday. We were one of two tables seated out on...More

Thank afuzzie
i2taki, General Manager at Tamanu Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Kia Orana, Firstly let my apologise for your disappointing experience. Our restaurant team will need to try harder to make those first impressions count and to make all of our guests feel welcome. I do recall meeting you both and fortunately due to two "no-shows"...More

Reviewed 30 October 2017

Our group had a delicious lunch in the resort's restaurant on our first day in Aitutaki, even though we weren't staying there. The restaurant is quite large and is located on the beach and has indoor and outdoor tables, all with views. It's built in...More

Thank Odysseyx
i2taki, General Manager at Tamanu Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Kia orana, Thank you for your comments - our team in the kitchen try very hard to access the best and freshest Aitutaki has to offer. We ensure every dish has a taste of Aitutaki. It can be a challenge to source all ingredients sometimes...More

Reviewed 28 October 2017

Loved our bure with sea views. The accomodation was comfortable and stylish and the staff helpful without being intrusive.More

Thank OkuraLass
i2taki, General Manager at Tamanu Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Kia Orana Thank you for your review of our small resort. We are constantly working to improve our service delivery and product. We have recently refurbished all of our garden bungalows and will commence renovations in the 1 bedroom bungalows during the quiet season. We...More

PreviousNext
12345630
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 10 hotels in Aitutaki
Tamanu Beach
477 reviews
.02 km away
Aitutaki Beach Villas
136 reviews
.20 km away
Etu Moana
954 reviews
.41 km away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
1,212 reviews
.84 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Koru Cafe
924 reviews
3.34 km away
Cafe Tupuna
458 reviews
3.79 km away
Rapae Bay
248 reviews
.85 km away
The Boat Shed Bar & Grill
568 reviews
3.46 km away
Nearby Attractions
Aitutaki Lagoon
889 reviews
3.13 km away
O'otu Beach
67 reviews
3.14 km away
Mount Maungapu
46 reviews
1.00 km away
The Vaka Cruise
541 reviews
3.79 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Tamanu Beach Resort staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 11 - US$ 48
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
View, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
7:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
7:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
7:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
7:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
7:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
7:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
7:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Tamanu Beach | Amuri Village, Cook Islands
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Cook Islands  >  Southern Cook Islands  >  Aitutaki
  • Phone Number: +682 31 810
  • E-mail
Description
Tamanu beach has a beachside 60 seat Bar & Restaurant. We are open for breakfast lunch and dinner with a simple Island style menu. Our feature Island Nights every Thursday are a highlight of Aitutaki dining. Sunday is a relaxed family bbq buffet. The specials menu changes regularly with the freshest catch and seasonal fruits. We do pretty good coffee (getting better every day!) and our sunset cocktails are very tempting.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing