We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pomelo - The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat

1 Persiaran Lagun Sunway 3 | Sunway City Ipoh, Ipoh 31150, Malaysia
+60 5-210 7777
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good25%
  • Average15%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“lobster” (4 reviews)
“nasi goreng” (3 reviews)
“bread” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Malaysian, International, Asian, Healthy, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Persiaran Lagun Sunway 3 | Sunway City Ipoh, Ipoh 31150, Malaysia
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Took my wife for dinner for two and we were bowled over by the architecture and decor. The staffs were amazing and they made us feel more than welcomed. The main course was delicious and elegantly presented. The cheesecake dessert was different but good, the...More

Thank atoq65
raymondkfm, Director of Operations at The Pomelo - The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear atoq65, Thank you for your review and patronage to our Pomelo Restaurant. We are glad that you had a great dining experience and we look forward to seeing you again. Best Regards, Raymond Koh Director of Operations

Reviewed 8 March 2018

one out of the two available restaurant inside the hotel. Superb service by the staff. I will rate the service 5 out of 5. Food is okay rating it 4 out of 5.

Thank 516chrisi
raymondkfm, Director of Operations at The Pomelo - The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear 516chrisi, Thank you for your review and comments. We look forward to serving you again. Best Regards, Raymond Koh Director of Operations

Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

Had dinner here on a recent trip to Ipoh. Food was ok, above average but not fully hitting the mark for me, however prices were ok and not overpriced. Service lacking a little and slow considering they were not that busy. Room for improvement

Thank dghayfield
raymondkfm, Director of Operations at The Pomelo - The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear dghayfield , Thank you for sharing your review. We had taken note on your comments for our future improvements and we look forward to serving you better in the near future. Best Regards, Raymond Koh Director of Operations

Reviewed 7 February 2018

It was quiet when we visit there for lunch in weekday after enjoying the hot spring and pool of Banjaran day package. Staff was nice and friendly. Food taste good. Lucky that we went there in the morning and had an early lunch before go...More

Thank Pun K
raymondkfm, Director of Operations at The Pomelo - The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2018

Dear Pun K, Thank you for you review. We are glad that you had enjoyed your lunch and we look forward to seeing you again. Best Regards, Raymond Koh Director of Operations

Reviewed 29 January 2018

Five star prices. Three star food. Came one afternoon with an English couple. The restaurant was mostly empty but there were many many many flies there. The staff tried to help by lighting a few candles on the table to it didn't help. I was...More

Thank samchew1981
raymondkfm, other at The Pomelo - The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Dear samchew1981, Thank you for sharing your feed back with us. We are so sorry to hear about your dining experience which was unfortunate and regrettable. With regards to the flies issue, we noticed that it was only seasonal and not a prolonged issue. Random...More

Reviewed 24 December 2017 via mobile

For a 5 star establishment that is priced accordingly, Pomelo was disappointing at best. We had one dinner, thinking it was more moderately priced vs Jeff’s cellar, the other restaurant in the establishment. Unfortunately, with the exception of the samba nasi goreng, everything else was...More

1  Thank Vijayakumaran A
raymondkfm, Director of Operations at The Pomelo - The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Dear Vijayakumaran A, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are surprised and disappointed to hear on your dining experience, as we had met you on 2 occasions however this was not brought up to our attention so that immediate action could have...More

Reviewed 18 December 2017

Loved our candle light dinner. The food was great. Alot of bugs, i hope they install bug zappers of some sort.More

Thank Nash M
raymondkfm, Director of Operations at The Pomelo - The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2017

Dear Nash M, Thank you for your great review. We are glad that you had enjoyed your candle light dinner and also glad to inform that we have a newly opened enclosed section which is air conditioned that might be suitable for guests generally to...More

Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

We celebrated my husband birthday at the Pomelo Restaurant at The Banjaran Hot spring Ipoh, there food is just okay and the price I think is just reasonably as the the resort is a luxury resort. The environment of the place is very relax and...More

2  Thank Jocelyn Y
raymondkfm, Director of Operations at The Pomelo - The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Dear Jocelyn Y, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had enjoyed your overall dining experience. For Jeff's Cellar we only cater for set meals due to the challenge of logistics and space, however we do recommend to guests to dine there...More

Reviewed 19 October 2017

Excellent service & value for money feed. Flies scan be a nuisance sometimes. Staff were friendly & offered many suggestions for day trips & things to do & see.

Thank stewartjacks0n
raymondkfm, Director of Operations at The Pomelo - The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear stewartjacks0n, Thank you for your review and patronage to our Pomelo Restaurant. We will be looking forward to welcome you back soon. Best Regards, Raymond Koh Director of Operations

Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Quiet and peaceful ambience surrounding this restaurant Food is good And service is five star too But its far from ipoh city

Thank lengy2016
raymondkfm, Director of Operations at The Pomelo - The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear lengy2016, Thank you for sharing your review. We are glad that you had enjoyed your dining experience in our Pomelo Restaurant. We look forward to seeing you again. Best Regards, Raymond Koh Director of Operations

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 63 hotels in Ipoh
The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat
851 reviews
.01 km away
Lost World Hotel
398 reviews
.65 km away
The Haven Resort Hotel, Ipoh – All Suites
898 reviews
.99 km away
Golden Roof Hotel Sunway Ipoh
5 reviews
1.35 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Coffee Lab
5 reviews
1.93 km away
Citrus Wine & Dine
38 reviews
2.63 km away
Jeff's Cellar
15 reviews
.64 km away
Nearby Attractions
Kek Lok Tong Cave Temple and Zen Gardens
522 reviews
7.29 km away
Perak Cave Temple
361 reviews
5.91 km away
Lost World Of Tambun
1,113 reviews
.58 km away
Elightened Heart Buddhist
21 reviews
5.02 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
esyuhada5
15 April 2018|
Answer
Response from raymondkfm | Property representative |
Dear esyuhada5, Thank you for your inquiry. Yes, all our food prepared are alcohol free and we don't add any non-halal ingredients. You may locate our contact details at our top of Tripadvisor page for your future... More
0
Votes
hapizur14
9 September 2017|
Answer
Response from raymondkfm | Property representative |
Dear hapizur14, Thank you for your inquiry. You may locate our contact details (email) at the top of our Tripadvisor page and kindly write in your request which will be subject to our Management's approval. Have a great... More
0
Votes
Agol A
11 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Raymond-KIpoh | Property representative |
Dear Agol A, Thank you for your inquiry. If you are referring to Pomelo Restaurant, currently our all day dining menu individual items are from a range of RM25 nett to RM200 nett. For unique dining experience in a cave... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Persiaran Lagun Sunway 3 | Sunway City Ipoh, Ipoh 31150, Malaysia
  • Location: Asia  >  Malaysia  >  Perak  >  Kinta District  >  Ipoh
  • Phone Number: +60 5-210 7777
  • E-mail
  • This restaurant is at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat
Description
Acquiring its name from the fruit that Tambun, Ipoh, is famous for, THE POMELO lies within The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat. One of the important components of this concept is spa cuisine – light, healthy and nutritious dishes. The POMELO innovatively incorporates the pomelo fruitinto refreshing spa cuisine for an awakening of the senses. THE POMELO’s spa cuisine menu explodes with flavours of organic fruits, vegetables, fresh seafood and premium poultry. No artificial seasoning or flavorings will be used in the cooking or preparation of food but lots of local fresh spices and ingredients are used instead.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing