We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Toko Baru

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1a Avenida sur Nr. 17 "A" | Next to Cafe Sky, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
+502 4079 2092
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

231 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 184: English reviews
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2016

I visited this place a few times during my stay in Antigua. My favourite was a the falafel which is a full meal and comes with a variety of sauces. Great food, great service at a greta price. The curries are also great as well and change daily. I'd highly recommend this over some of the bland more expensive places... More 

Helpful?
Thank The_ShutleBus
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016

This place was like an oasis within the desert of severely lacking veg/vegan options that had been central america for me up until this point. We went nearly every day we were in Antigua, and probably would have went more if we didn't believe we should give other places a try. I am all about variety and trying new things... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jess F
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

No need to say more. Ok it looks like I have to say more. The schwarma was huge, tasty and well priced. Also came with three delicious sauces!

Helpful?
Thank Dylan H
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

Totally delicious food (espec. Pita!) and cheap prices for what you get - would go back any time!!!!

Helpful?
Thank L479TRninak
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

We shared two great meals here, chicken tikka masala and chicken madras. Both came with fresh spinach and salad, in great portions and generally felt very good quality. If we were staying longer, we would have returned. Each curry worked out around £3.20 each, a complete bargain especially compared with other restaurants in Antigua. Should be higher up the list... More 

Helpful?
Thank RobandKateTravel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Indian food with some Asian influences! Delicious and really generous portions! Loads of vegetarian options! Average price is 31-35Q which is really great value for the amount of food you're given! All food comes with different sauces/dips. Relaxed atmosphere, books available to read and good tunes playing. No wifi. Accept cash only. Owner is very friendly and nice!

Helpful?
1 Thank Ashers R
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2016

I ate here several times now and it is always good and tasty. Not only tourists comes also lots of local people. You get a good meal here for a cheap price.

Helpful?
Thank Helen K
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Firstly the satay chicken was so burnt there was zero taste. There was 3 people and they brought 2 curries out and forgot mine. How does that even happen. The madras was so average. The garlic sauce looked as if it been there for a while. Chicken had zero taste. It is cheap but you get what you pay for... More 

Helpful?
Thank joe b
Toko Baru B, Owner at Toko Baru, responded to this review

Dear Joe, We're really sorry to hear that we didn't live up to expectations on your recent visit. You are right that our prices are very low, but the truth is that quality is also very important to us. We simply wouldn't survive if we served mediocre food to our clients, and as such we are saddened to learn that... More 

Fujairah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
115 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

We came here thanks to the reviews and we're highly disappointed by the lack of quality of the food. We ate the blandest korma ever. And I mean bland: no salt, no coconut milk, no spices. The falafel was average, but again no salt, and minimum flavour. I suppose if you are drunk and come from a country where herbs... More 

Helpful?
Thank raquelcoelho
Toko Baru B, Owner at Toko Baru, responded to this review

Dear Raquel Thank you so much for your review. We love to get feedback, which keeps us on our toes and helps us to improve. We of course are sad to hear that you were disappointed with the quality of our food, and that the korma and falafel were too bland for your taste buds. We do try our best,... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2016

it doesnt look much from the outside but we were recommended toko baru by a local and were really glad we came. the prices are some of the best value we saw in Antigua and they do really nice curries as well as falafel and other middle eastern dishes. would come again.

Helpful?
1 Thank emily_scorer
Toko Baru B, Owner at Toko Baru, responded to this review

thanks very much for your review! we hope to be able to welcome you again soon! toko baru crew More 

Travellers who viewed Toko Baru also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Toko Baru? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 4 - US$ 6
Cuisine
Indian, Asian, Middle Eastern, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1a Avenida sur Nr. 17 "A" | Next to Cafe Sky, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
  • Location: Central America  >  Guatemala  >  Sacatepequez Department  >  Antigua
  • Phone Number: +502 4079 2092

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Toko Baru staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?