We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tamarind Mombasa

Silos Road | Nyali, Mombasa 80106, Kenya
254 41 474600
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good28%
  • Average8%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (109 reviews)
“crab” (24 reviews)
“prawns” (26 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
African, Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
₹₹₹₹
DETAILS
Silos Road | Nyali, Mombasa 80106, Kenya
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
Reviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Used to be my favourite in East Africa since 2003. Environment still unbeatable. Food great, but service on my two last visits was worse than Kenyan restaurants chains like Art Caffe. Your wine glass is not filled up automatically, waiters not attentive. Imagine, the three...More

Thank Tore W
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Mombasa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very disappointed to learn that your recent dining experiences have not been up to standard due to the poor service you have received on all your visits. This level of service is truly unacceptable and not who we...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

We went for dinner, and it was delicious. It's a beautiful view overlooking the water, and the Swahili architecture is really nice. I had the seafood laksa, which was absolutely delicious and the perfect size for me for dinner. I was a bit disappointed around...More

Thank Rebecca B
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Mombasa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review. We are glad to hear that overall your experience was positive and that you enjoyed your food, although it is disappointing to learn that the service didn't meet your expectations and you had a problem with the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Listening to awesome zilizopendwa from the musical legend Prince Adio made my evening as I indulged in the awesome seafood cuisine was my best experience.Got to see Old Town at night and the awesome views that Mombasa can offer.More

Thank Mary M
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Mombasa, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience on the Tamarind Dhow listening to the zilizopendwa music. We appreciate you taking the time to review and are thrilled that not only was the seafood cuisine to your liking, but also the view...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

nice setting and good food although a bit pricey, The service was very slow though,maybe they were just having a bad nightMore

Thank allan-vera
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Mombasa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that overall your experience was quite positive and that you liked the setting and the food despite your disappointment in the slow service. We sincerely appreciate you bringing this to our attention and we are...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The ambience and the service is really good. Overlooking the sea, you can enjoy the beautiful view of the ocean. The seafood is fresh and delicious. Definitely a place to visit when in MombasaMore

Thank Memy H
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Mombasa, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and for taking the time to review. We appreciate the perfect rating and are really delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience. We are happy to hear that the ambience and service met your expectations and that the seafood...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were at least 50 of us on the Tamarind Dhow all to ourselves, both family and friends to celebrate our daughters and son in laws post wedding functions held in Kisumu by the shores of Lake Victoria. At the Indian Ocean the dhow was...More

Thank Amyn_Khan
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Mombasa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for giving us a perfect rating. We are delighted and honored that you chose to celebrate your daughter and son in law's post wedding function with us and thrilled to hear that it was a heavenly experience with extraordinary...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The views from the restaurant are excellent! The food is quite good, however, there were some items that were not that good. Someone ordered some sort of fish soup that was too salty, given the prices we are paying here, I did not expect this....More

Thank No R
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Mombasa, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We are glad to hear that overall your experience was positive although we are disappointed to learn that some of the food was not up to expectation particularly the fish soup which was...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food here is fab, and the crab is the highlight. It's pricey, but worth it for a special occasion.

Thank Emma S
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Mombasa, responded to this review

We are delighted that enjoyed the food at Tamarind Mombasa particularly the crab. Thank you very much for taking the time to give us feedback and we really appreciate the perfect rating. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Reviewed 19 April 2017

This restaurant was perhaps kenyas finest and best for a very long time especially during the 90s. Recently I'd noticed an upgrade in the interior decor . Felt it was time to give it another go. However the food was as bland as before ,...More

Thank Azhar K
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Mombasa, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that your return visit to Tamarind Mombasa did not meet your expectations, particularly after noticing the renovation upgrades. This feedback is very surprising and disappointing. We serve many customers each week and as you can see from other reviews,...More

Reviewed 10 April 2017

went there for snacks and tea. ordered a cardamom infused tea only to be served a ginger tea. on inquiring from our waiter, he went ahead to 'lecture me' that there is no such thing as cardamom (iliki in swahili). so I asked him why...More

Thank 4by4
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Mombasa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback about your visit and we are sorry that it did not meet with your expectations despite the nice snacks and fantastic view. We are very disappointed to hear that...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Tamarind Dhow
178 reviews
.64 km away
Jahazi Coffee House
47 reviews
1.22 km away
Tarboush Cafe
123 reviews
1.51 km away
Nearby Attractions
Fort Jesus Museum
613 reviews
1.47 km away
Old Town
360 reviews
1.32 km away
Mombasa Marine National Park
94 reviews
.64 km away
Jain Temple
21 reviews
1.59 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
birchy1606
What is the dress code ?
5 August 2016|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from labinaNairobi | Property representative |
The dress code is smark casual
0
Votes
sswf224
what is the avaerage price of a meal please - starters and mains
16 April 2016|
Answer
Response from labinaNairobi | Property representative |
The average price for a starter and main at Tamarind Mombasa is KShs 4,000/- incl of taxes, excluding drinks.
-1
Votes
MUNJU2015
Hi, we are a group of 5 and we are considering Tamarind dhow, how much will it cost us for dinner and the dhow ride. The date is 16th October 2015. Are there discounts?
14 October 2015|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from labinaNairobi | Property representative |
Thank you for your inquiry on dhow dinner for the 16th October.. The dhow dinner details are as follows; Dinner cruise - 6.30pm - 10.30pm Cost - Residents - Ksh 5,220 or $93 for non residents One welcome cocktail Dawa... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, View, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 15:00
19:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 15:00
19:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
19:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
19:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
19:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
19:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
19:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Silos Road | Nyali, Mombasa 80106, Kenya
  • Location: Africa  >  Kenya  >  Coast Province  >  Mombasa
  • Phone Number: 254 41 474600
  • E-mail