We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tamarind Restaurant

Karen Road | Karen, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
+254 719 346349
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good27%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (122 reviews)
“crab” (26 reviews)
“prawns” (36 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
European, African, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Karen Road | Karen, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 20 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

Excellent restaurant, great food, quality service. Had to visit again after coming to its sister restaurant Tamambo last month. Wonderful experience also. Would love to try their floating Dhow in Mombasa. It's not just the food, but the packaging into an experience. Keep up the...More

Thank Pastor N
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for giving us a perfect rating. We are delighted to hear that you decided to visit after dining at Tamambo. Our dedicated team work really hard to offer the best of food and service...More

Reviewed 14 January 2018

Exellent service and reliable attedant,very friendly and welcoming.Amazing place ,good atmosphere and relaxed mind.

Thank kamauwilson87
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Thank you for review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your dinner and had a lovely evening with excellent service and a good atmosphere. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Reviewed 14 January 2018

Very good food and amazing hospitality, great waiters and attentive to details,managers and chefs came to check on our table. Truly number 1 in NairobiMore

Thank Purity N
labinaNairobi, Guest Relations Manager at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Thank you for your great review and for the perfect rating. We truly appreciate your favourable comments and are delighted that the Tamarind team made a positive impact on your dining experience. Your feedback is a great acknowledgement of our efforts to provide the best...More

Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

Excellent seafood Restaurant!!Nice atmosphere and the staff are very friendly cooking is completely different than any other Restaurant I have visited .Fresh Seafood guaranteed with nice spices and sauces.More

Thank Job O
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thank you for your great review and for the perfect rating. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Tamarind and the seafood, atmosphere and friendly staff met with your expectations. Your complimentary feedback has been shared with the team and is...More

Reviewed 8 January 2018

So...lets start. Food is really good. Maybe a bit expensive. Wines are overpriced. And to finish, service is BAD. They come and full your glass with wine all the time. they just want to push you to order another bottle.This is a fancy restaurant, waiters...More

Thank Jose Maria L
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thank you for the review. We are very sorry to hear your experience was not the best and that although you thought the food was really good we are very disappointed to hear that we fell way short of our customer service mark which is...More

Reviewed 7 January 2018

We went for dinner at the Tamarind shortly before our flight. Unfortunately, the set menu we were assigned was highly restrictive and the choice disappointing. The starter was acceptable, and the main course a little better. From images previously posted it looks like we missed...More

Thank niknak586
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear your experience was not the best and that you found the food just ok but nothing special and your assigned set menu disappointing. We sincerely appreciate your valuable feedback and just to let you...More

Reviewed 5 January 2018

The food was excellent - the food we got, that is. However, when we got there at 8 p.m. we were told that crab as well as lobster were sold out. The explanation offered: It is always difficult to anticipate how many customers would order...More

Thank BettinaGermany
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

It was extremely discouraging to read your review about crab and lobster being unavailable even though you and your party of ten had booked a week in in advance. While you indicate in your review that overall the food you got was excellent it is...More

Reviewed 2 January 2018

We went to celebrate Xmas eve. The staff were very nice, but the food were not as expected. We had grilled lobster, overcooked and dry. The one to my daughter was eatable, not very good. Mine was a disaster. After the meal the offered me...More

Thank Inge F
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

It is with great concern and disappointment that we read your review. We are troubled to hear that although the staff were nice, the food did not meet with your expectations and your grilled lobster was overcooked and dry and the one that your daughter...More

Reviewed 18 December 2017 via mobile

In Tamarind, it is the best sea food you can get in the whole of Africa at least if not the whole world. The staff are amazingly kind and helpful, on special occasions they make it even better and lastly I really would recommend going...More

Thank Lochie S
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Thank you very much for your rave review and not only for recommending us to other visitors but also for the perfect rating. We really appreciate your comments about our amazing helpful staff and for the best sea food in Africa! Our team take their...More

Reviewed 16 December 2017

Tamarinda is one of the hotel that you dont wanna miss to visit while in kenya.Their services are superb, their meals are delicious and their stuffs are so welcoming.Tamarind restaurant is the place to be. I recommend it to everyone.

Thank John M
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Thank you for your rave review and for the perfect rating. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Tamarind and the food and service were to your liking. We appreciate you recommending us to other visitors and hope to see you again soon.

PreviousNext
12345650
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 170 hotels in Nairobi
Acacia Tree Lodge
56 reviews
.95 km away
Hemingways Nairobi
559 reviews
.98 km away
House of Waine
270 reviews
1.50 km away
Park Place Hotel
17 reviews
5.49 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Tamambo Karen Blixen
979 reviews
.02 km away
Purdy Arms
323 reviews
1.41 km away
Marula Mercantile
127 reviews
.95 km away
Nearby Attractions
Karen Blixen Museum
1,556 reviews
.77 km away
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden and Cottages
336 reviews
.03 km away
Kazuri Beads Factory
420 reviews
.95 km away
Utamaduni Craft Centre
85 reviews
1.35 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
ElifSonmez
31 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from vifarel | Reviewed this property |
The restaurant is located in Karen which is a considerable distance from the hotel as you will need to partly go through Ngong Road and Lenana, which gets busy at peak hours. It could be anything from 30 minutes to an hour... More
1
Vote
gfranny
12 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Geraldine D | Property representative |
Hi Tamarind is approximately 15 kms from Palacina, and depending on the traffic should only take 30 - 45 mins.
0
Votes
WanjaMburu
18 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Geraldine D | Property representative |
Hi, dinner per person is approximately US$50
0
Votes
PreviousNext
123
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 50 - US$ 100
Meals
Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Validated Parking, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, View, Kids, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Karen Road | Karen, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
  • Location: Africa  >  Kenya  >  Nairobi
  • Phone Number: +254 719 346349
  • E-mail
Description
Nairobi's iconic seafood restaurant which originally opened in August 1977, has recently moved from the Central Business District to the leafy suburbs of Karen at the Karen Blixen coffee Garden. The menu is a blend of the best of French, Asian and African cuisines with specialties such as the famous Prawns Piri Piri, and Chilli Crab which have earned the Tamarind worldwide fame.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing