We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tamarind Restaurant

Karen Road | Karen, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
+254 719 346349
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good27%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (126 reviews)
“crab” (29 reviews)
“prawns” (35 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Karen Road | Karen, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stopped here for lunch after visiting the Karen Brixen museum and was amazed at the high quality food choices and excellent cocktail menu. Exceptionally well priced. Shared entree, main and 2 mojitos only cost us $35 US each. Lovely spot on the lawn under...More

Thank Lisa R
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Lisa,thank you so much for taking the time to post such a great review.We are really happy to hear that you chose to stop off for lunch at Tamambo and you were amazed by the high quality food choices and excellent cocktail menu while...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

The meals were all different and came in good time. Wonderful tastes, amazing delivery. This was an evening meal shared and the seating allowed for family seating type atmosphere and encouraged conversations around the table.More

Thank Akariza M
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Akariza, What a fabulous 5 star review for which we thank you. It gives us great pleasure to hear that the tastes were wonderful and the service delivery amazing. Your positive feedback has been shared with the team and we all look forward to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We got there before the restaurant opened which was supposed to be 5:30p then we were told 6:30pm but they finally let us in around 6pm. That notwithstanding the food and service were really good. The wine list was also pretty good for Africa. If...More

Thank R B
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear RB Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your dinner and found the food and service really good, despite the fact that you had to wait for a while until opening time....More

Reviewed 1 week ago

The ambience is refreshingly country and a little rustic. The food presentation though is modern and the food quite 'metropolitan'. If you are a large party the food may take a little while but I find that it is always worth the wait ... well...More

Thank emwandia
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Wandia, Many thanks for taking the time to post such a great review. We are truly happy to hear that you enjoy the food and ambiance of The Tamarind and can always rely on an enjoyable meal. Your positive comments have been passed to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Tamambo Karen Blixen's hospitality is tops.Five star service.Awesome ambience. Tamarind has no peers in the sea food space. A must visit.More

Thank DismasMokua
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Dismas, Thank you very much for the five star review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience at Tamarind and found the hospitality top and the sea food delicious. We appreciate you recommending us to other visitors and look forward to welcoming...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Disappointed is an understatement, we had to pour our wine through out.. only one lady serving tables on our end. Starters were ok main course was a disaster. My duck came over cooked while I had asked for medium rare, mash potatoes were brown different...More

Thank Nina49
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Nina, We would like to thank you for taking the time to advise of your recent dinner at Tamarind Nairobi. It is with great concern and disappointment that we read your review and it certainly discouraging to learn that we fell way short of...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice restaurant pool facing; though with all those eyes I don't think I would enjoy the pool that muchMore

Thank Eric M
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Eric Thank you for the review. Which restaurant are you referring to. There are two Tamarind outlets with swimming pools: Tamarind Tree Hotel and Tamarind Village so we guess you are referring to one of these. Anyhow, whichever restaurant it is we are glad...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been to the Tamarind many times, but last week resulted in me speaking directly to management -- something I have never done anywhere before. Our food was outstanding, as usual, and on that basis I still highly recommend the restaurant. In the past,...More

1  Thank jmplav
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello We would like to thank you for taking the time to advise of your recent meal at Tamarind Nairobi. It was extremely disappointing to read of your unsatisfactory experience especially as you had been to Tamarind many times before added to which this was...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The dinner was delicious and my daughter really enjoyed the "free" candy :-)... Kudos to the chef and teamMore

Thank Mercy N
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Petal, Sincerest thanks for your wonderful five star review. We are delighted to hear that you had a lovely lunch and enjoyed the ambiance and the pretty garden. It is pleasing to know that the service was charming and the food fantastic particularly the...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely lunch on the terrace as it started to rain..... What a super place - history, delicious food, charming service, pretty gardens. My son had peri peri prawns and I decided on the tempura version, both fantastic. Highly recommended.More

Thank Petal1912
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Petal, Sincerest thanks for your wonderful five star review. We are delighted to hear that you had a lovely lunch and enjoyed the ambiance and the pretty garden. It is pleasing to know that the service was charming and the food fantastic particularly the...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 186 hotels in Nairobi
Acacia Tree Lodge
85 reviews
.95 km away
Hemingways Nairobi
618 reviews
.97 km away
House of Waine
275 reviews
1.51 km away
Park Place Hotel
18 reviews
5.50 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Tamambo Karen Blixen
1,026 reviews
.01 km away
Marula Mercantile
135 reviews
.94 km away
Purdy Arms
336 reviews
1.40 km away
Nearby Attractions
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden and Cottages
385 reviews
.04 km away
Karen Blixen Museum
1,648 reviews
.77 km away
The Hub Karen
83 reviews
2.88 km away
Oloolua Nature Trail
82 reviews
2.30 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
ElifSonmez
31 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Favourtours | Reviewed this property |
It is about 30 minutes depending with the traffic. When it is busy with traffic, you may take almost an hour since the restaurant is outside the city centre. Thanks.
1
Vote
gfranny
12 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Geraldine D | Property representative |
Hi Tamarind is approximately 15 kms from Palacina, and depending on the traffic should only take 30 - 45 mins.
0
Votes
WanjaMburu
18 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Geraldine D | Property representative |
Hi, dinner per person is approximately US$50
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 50 - US$ 100
Meals
Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Validated Parking, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, View, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Karen Road | Karen, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
  • Location: Africa  >  Kenya  >  Nairobi
  • Phone Number: +254 719 346349
  • E-mail
Description
Nairobi's iconic seafood restaurant which originally opened in August 1977, has recently moved from the Central Business District to the leafy suburbs of Karen at the Karen Blixen coffee Garden. The menu is a blend of the best of French, Asian and African cuisines with specialties such as the famous Prawns Piri Piri, and Chilli Crab which have earned the Tamarind worldwide fame.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing