We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waterfront Restaurant

Vuna Rd, Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island 1001, Tonga
+676 25-260
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good34%
  • Average9%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (17 reviews)
“profiteroles” (6 reviews)
“snapper” (5 reviews)
Open Now
8:00 AM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Seafood, European, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Vuna Rd, Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island 1001, Tonga
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great seafood in an elegant setting. If there's another restaurant this upmarket in Nuku'alofa I didn't see it. Delicious mahi mahi and snapper. Big prawns. Not at all overpriced, and no additional charge for using a credit card (rare in Tonga) Closed Sundays.

Thank Goat-whisperer
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I tried Waterfront restaurant once and it was a really nice experience. The food is good quality and service is great.

Thank hakano
Waterfront-Lodge, Manager at Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Hakano very glad you enjoyed our service and food. Please do come again when in the Kingdom :) Ofa atu from Waterfront Staff

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Sadly, I only discovered The Waterfront on the last night of my stay. The menu was excellent. Another diner highly recommended the Fish of the Day special., locally caught Mahi Mahi. Beautiful, fresh from the morning fish market. Sat out on the balcony, a nice...More

Thank Chris T
Waterfront-Lodge, Manager at Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Chris, Very glad to hear that you enjoyed every bit of Waterfronts atmosphere. Fish are def. fresh just from across the road from our local fishermen who go out every morning. We do hope you come again to Tonga for a next visit....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I loved the look of this restaurant so we decided to have a meal here. The look of the restaurant was as beautiful as the meal. Everything about this charming restaurant was faultless. The decor was tasteful. The music was mellow. The service was friendly...More

Thank tropicgirl39
Waterfront-Lodge, Manager at Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so very much tropicgirl39 for your review! We know it takes time to write a review and we thank you for taking your time to write a really special comment about our restaurant. Thank you for understanding how we want the restaurant to...More

Reviewed 2 November 2017

Heard about this place on TripAdvisor , another place you can dress nice for. Great background music , our meals were great, especially the steak with mushroom sauce, unfortunately out of season for lobster, lovely dessert, great service. Recommended!

Thank philnbev7
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

I've not found a better offering of sashimi. The accompanying sauce has me craving more! Fantastic service, beautifully presented food. Great Restaurant to get dolled up for the night. I had the sashimi and chowder, chowder wasn't what I was expecting as it was a...More

Thank Jo W
Waterfront-Lodge, Manager at Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Thank you for the kind review. Delighted you enjoyed our Sashimi & Chowder even though it wasn't as you expected. Hope to have you here again for another night out. Ofa atu

Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

Did not expect to find this standard of restaurant in Tonga. Have gone here for dinner two years in a row on our annual trip to Tonga. Have not been disappointed. Great food and when converting to NZ$ not that expensive. Great setting for a...More

Thank Robyn D
Waterfront-Lodge, Manager at Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

hi Robyn, Thank you once again for the positive feedback. it was good to have you here and hope to see you again soon. we hope you had safe trip back. malo aupito.

Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

We visited the waterfront restaurant just foe some drinks and snacks in the deck before heading towards the airport. I cannot say much about the food since we only ordered a couple of appetisers (satay and onion rings), but the place and the service were...More

Thank Guillermo M
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We visited this charming restaurant and enjoyed a delicious meal, in a delightful setting. If sitting outside, mind those pesky mosquitoes at night time !!!More

Thank Corinne T
Waterfront-Lodge, Manager at Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you very much for your review Corinne, glad you were able to enjoy the meal with those mosquitoes. Hoping the staff did put mosquito coils around your table as we do for guests that choose to sit outside on the porch. Malo Aupito, and...More

Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Feasting at the Waterfront after a day relaxing at Atata island. We have ordered 4 entrees as our meal, prawns, sushimi, squid and oyster! And what a fantasticly presented selction of food with each dishes flavours distintive and absoloutly delish. Service was bright cheeeful anf...More

Thank Duncan J
Waterfront-Lodge, Manager at Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Thank you Duncan for such positive feedback for our staff & restaurant. We hope others enjoyed as much as you do :) Hope you will visit the Kingdom again soon! Malo Lahi & hope you had an amazing experience in the Kingdom. Thank you

PreviousNext
12345612
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 21 hotels in Tongatapu Island
Waterfront Lodge
166 reviews
.03 km away
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
110 reviews
1.13 km away
Loumaile Lodge
94 reviews
1.85 km away
Seaview Lodge
190 reviews
2.32 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Billfish Bar & Restaurant
190 reviews
.46 km away
Frangipani Korean Restaurant
25 reviews
1.50 km away
Korea house Restaurant
46 reviews
.50 km away
Nearby Attractions
Whale Swim, Fish & Dive Tours
107 reviews
1.74 km away
Free Church of Tonga
55 reviews
1.97 km away
Royal Tombs
93 reviews
2.00 km away
Teta Tours and Travel Ltd
8 reviews
1.64 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Antony A
2 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Waterfront-Lodge | Property representative |
Hi Antony, No Sorry, we are not open on Sundays Regards, Waterfront Restaurant
0
Votes
Antony A
2 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Peter S | Reviewed this property |
I don't know, but I think that they are open every day
0
Votes
Google Translation
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Dinner, Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol
Good for
View, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Monday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Vuna Rd, Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island 1001, Tonga
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Tonga  >  Tongatapu Island  >  Nuku'alofa
  • Phone Number: +676 25-260
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing