We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waterfront Restaurant

Vuna Rd, Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island 1001, Tonga
+676 25-260
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good34%
  • Average10%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (18 reviews)
“profiteroles” (6 reviews)
“snapper” (5 reviews)
Open Now
8:00 AM - 10:30 PM Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Vuna Rd, Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island 1001, Tonga
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

GOod food, good service, right on the beach front walkways. get an outside table if you can. worth a stop while in Tonga

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank MarkPurdue
Reviewed 10 December 2018

While in Tongan I was taken out for a meal to this amazing restaurant. Two of us had the mahimahi. This was a generous portion, cooked to perfection. Well presented. Staff very attentive. This is a lovely restaurant in a beautiful setting. The presentation of...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank juliahD6989HR
Waterfront-Lodge, Manager at Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2018

Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate your review and hope we do see you again here at Waterfront. Our fish dishes are always fresh for our customers and we are delighted that you enjoyed on your visit. Have a joyous festive season. Malo...More

Reviewed 2 November 2018

A very pleasant dining experience with options for indoor and outdoor seating. While there was not an extensive menu, the offerings were of great quality and portion sizes. We had mahimahi fish for dinner and it was cooked beautifully. Great service from the staff and...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank AuntyLe0
Waterfront-Lodge, Manager at Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2018

Hi AuntyLe0. Thank you for your kind review. We hope you do come back to dine with us again. Hoping you have a great holiday Malo 'aupito, Waterfront Restaurant

Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile

Great service, very attentive. I had the lobster, which was a highlight for me - highly recommend. We'll definitely return next time we're in the kingdom

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank nusis2016
Reviewed 9 October 2018

We were a party of 6 and we ate here two nights out of three. All the meals were excellent. My Mahi Mahi was faultless, as was the steak, scallops, chowder,and the vegetarian meal.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank jayh0l
Waterfront-Lodge, Manager at Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Thank you for choosing Waterfront Restaurant for your dinner. We are mighty glad that you enjoyed the night and food with us. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again for another round of dining :) Regards, Waterfront Staff & Management.

Reviewed 5 September 2018

We had out last meal in Tonga here - lobster mornay and fresh coconut. A beautiful restaurant containing many beautiful local woodworks with an open verandah facing the water across the busy main road. Friendly and helpful staff and a lovely meal.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Lisa S
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

Nice place but a very unhappy parrot is kept in horrible conditions in a cage at the front of the property. I’m not sure if it’s supposed to be a tourist attraction but I feel very sorry for the bird.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Rebecca S
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

Wondered in off the street last night to this beautiful restaurant... looks beautiful when you first walk in and I thought originally it would be to pricey for a young man like myself however the first of the day was only $35TPO which is only...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank X7034ENchristopherm
Waterfront-Lodge, Manager at Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Thank you so much for your review Christopher! We are satisfied that you were satisfied with our service and dishes. We do hope to see you again soon. Malo 'aupito, Waterfront Staff & Management.

Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

Excellent seafood meal, and good wine selection. This is a bit pricey compared to other dinners we had in Nuku’alofa but worth the price. We sat outside in a garden / verandah setting and had excellent food and service. The only criticism was the lack...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank josephinev821
Reviewed 7 August 2018

I had a sashimi platter. It served with soy source and washabi. Taste was nice. But I waited long time. Because there were some many gruops. and service speed is not fast. But food was really nice. I hope to visit other time.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Minseona
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 21 hotels in Tongatapu Island
Waterfront Lodge
178 reviews
.03 km away
Dupincia Lodge
16 reviews
.63 km away
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
165 reviews
1.14 km away
The Friendly Islander- Papiloa's Place.
51 reviews
1.37 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Billfish Bar & Restaurant
210 reviews
.46 km away
Frangipani Korean Restaurant
32 reviews
1.52 km away
Korea house Restaurant
46 reviews
.50 km away
Nearby Attractions
Free Church of Tonga
70 reviews
1.97 km away
Royal Tombs
108 reviews
2.00 km away
Whale Dive Tonga
12 reviews
.30 km away
Teta Tours and Travel Ltd
10 reviews
1.64 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
548antonya
2 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Waterfront-Lodge | Property representative |
Hi Antony, No Sorry, we are not open on Sundays Regards, Waterfront Restaurant
0
Votes
548antonya
2 July 2017|
Answer
Response from PeterS12640 | Reviewed this property |
I don't know, but I think that they are open every day
0
Votes
Google Translation
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards, Takeout, Parking Available, Highchairs Available
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Monday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Vuna Rd, Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island 1001, Tonga
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Tonga  >  Tongatapu Island  >  Nuku'alofa
  • Phone Number: +676 25-260
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing