MahaNaga

MahaNaga - CLOSED

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+66 2 662 3060+ Add websiteImprove this listing
Ratings and reviews
3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles

RATINGS
Food
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
PRICE RANGE
₹23.00 – ₹80.00
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
FEATURES
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Parking Available, Free off-street parking, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
About
MahaNaga is Modern Thai Restaurant located in Sukhumvit, Bangkok. MahaNaga serves modern Thai cuisine, fresh & bursting with flavor prepared using high quality ingredients. Premier Restaurant in Sukhumvit, Bangkok that is offering the very best of Thai hospitality in an outstandingly designed atmosphere featuring two dining pavilions, an indoor and outdoor bar and a romantic outdoor courtyard, MahaNaga is perfect venue for an intimate dinner for two or a large group party up to 300 capacity.
PRICE RANGE
₹23.00 – ₹80.00
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
FEATURES
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Parking Available, Free off-street parking, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Top 3 reasons to eat here
Sponsored by: MahaNaga
1. Beautiful Ambiance
"It's hard to imagine you're in the heart of Bangkok"
5.0 of 5 bubblesJack
2. Unique and Exquisite Thai Food
"incredibly delicious and each bite was a kick to the tastebuds"
5.0 of 5 bubblescastaneezy
3. Warm Thai Hospitality
"The staff was more than hospitable,extremely kind and ready to help."
5.0 of 5 bubblesMaria
3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles221 reviews
Excellent
76
Very good
67
Average
41
Poor
17
Terrible
20
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

ReedCat
Moscow34 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2018 business
Visited place for dinner. Excellent location, you just turn around the corner and you are in quiet and cosy place isolated from city noise. Kitchen can be called "a fusion with Thai flavor", dishes from other styles are taken and Thai hint is added with sauce or during cooking. Unfortunately, there is a lottery, whether you get nice dish or not, I got a "soft crab" as a starter, it was interesting and worth tasting, Lamb shank as the main dish was horrible: cold meat with frozen fat undetachable from bone even with fork and knife combined effort, Definitely undercooked, My neighbour got roasted duck in curry sauce, which was nice, both the duck and sauce. You can try to gamble and hope you win.
Written 7 November 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mahanaga2016
Dear Reedcat , We are so sorry to hear about the lambshank. Your feedback will be worth to improve us for a better serve our customers. Please allow us to be able to welcoming you back with a good Quality of all.
Written 8 November 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Gwapo
Bangkok15 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2018 friends
Lovely setting in middle of Suhkumvit. However simple thai food should not be as expensive. Very quite evening enjoyed the food however not a standout. Would recommend as a place to have dinner with larger group of budget is not an option
Written 7 November 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mahanaga2016
Dear Gwapotroy Thank you for your comments. We will take it as a good information to improve our restaurant. There are also some items that are not pricey. We hope that we will be able to welcoming you back again.
Written 8 November 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

andreas100088
Wiggensbach608 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2018 business
Went there with a large group of business partners and we all enjoyed our dinner. Food was fresh and tasty and service was friendly and attentive. Restaurant has a nice patio to sit outside but also offers inside seating.
Written 24 August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mahanaga2016
Thank you for your compliment! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Your support means a lot to us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again when in town.
Written 25 August 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

JorgeMCBKK
Monte-Carlo74 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2019 friends
Cannot beat the combination of modern Thai cuisine in a tradtional Thai setting with Brazilian music of the 8o's ... the 4 signuture dishes we tried were amazing, delicate, creative, delicious ... yet some hot despite nop chilly on the card ... no ne4ed to evoque the traditional ever present Thai hospitality and service.
Written 20 January 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mahanaga2016
Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed our food and hospitality. We are sorry about the spiciness on cooking. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Written 22 January 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Karen R
Asheville115 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2018 couples
My husband and I went to the restaurant solely based on the recent reviews on TA. We were amazed that the restaurant was completely empty at 7:30 pm on a Saturday. I have no idea why that was and it was most unfortunate as meant the place had no atmosphere and we felt like we were sitting in a fish bowl. Tho it advertised live music there was not any. We still felt we were going to be in for a real treat but food and service were both far short of expectations. My husband ordered the lobster curry (almost $50) and I ordered a Thai tofu/vegetable specialty of the house. My food came warm, not hot and did not have any of the wonderful flavors so typical of Thai food. We finished the meal with Sticky mango rice which I will say, was good. Service was really disappointing especially given that there were 4 waiters and only one table occupied! We had to ask them to remove the refreshing face towels that had sat - used - in front of us for 10 mins. A waiter had even come over to serve drinks and made no attempt to remove the towels. We finished the drinks half way thorugh the food and no one asked us if we wanted anything more. After the bill came, the waiter stood literally staring at my husband as he signed and did not add an additional amount for service (over 10% already added). While I see that the majority of reviews found this place to be amazing, this was not our experience and wouldn't recommend or return.
Written 21 October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mahanaga2016
Dear Khun Karen, Please accept our apology on our services and the food that did not make you satisfy. We already investigated and will improve the service team to be more attentive and meet your expectation. We wish to serve you and your family again with better service quality improvement. Sincerely yours,
Written 23 October 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

gary c
Carolina12658 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2018 business
I took our whole group from the USA (12 of us) to one of my favorites, the Mahanaga. This place is super!!! There is plenty of room indoors or outdoors. The ambiance is great and the food and servers are the very best!!! This place is right off Sukhumvit road and is centrally located in Sukhumvit. I have eaten here every single trip I have made to Bangkok and this place did not disappoint at all!!!!!!! Make this a destination on your next trip to Bangkok.
Written 16 October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mahanaga2016
Dear Khun Gary, We are really appreciated your compliment and thank you very much for always selecting MahaNaga as your place of choice. We will maintain quality of food and services and looking forward to serve you in a very near future. With kind regards,
Written 17 October 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Dirk409
Amsterdam43 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2018 couples
After our previous dinner we went back and this time we sat inside because it was raining. The setting is very romantic and the staff is highly professional. My wife and I tried two of the "chef's specialities" and both of the dishes were very tasty. Also the desert with baked banana and icecream was very good. After our dinner they ordered a taxi for us and one of them accompanied us to where the taxi was standing. We had a great evening, thank you MahaNaga, thumbs up and please keep up the excellent work!
Written 22 September 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mahanaga2016
Thank you for your compliment! We are really glad that you both enjoyed your time with us. We are pleased to welcome you back in the near future. Our chef creates new special menu and more festive events are coming. Best regards, MahaNaga Team
Written 24 September 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Dirk409
Amsterdam43 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2018 couples
We've only tried one appetizer and one main dish sofar but we'll definitively come back for more. The setting is romantic (however mind the mosquitos), the service is very good and fast, the place is quiet but still at walking distance from BTS and the food is a like a real taste sensation, wow! Finally a place where higher prices result in higher quality food. It's the perfect place for a romantic evening.
Written 18 August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mahanaga2016
Thank you for your compliment! We are glad that you enjoyed our food and services. We are looking forward to welcoming you again been back in town
Written 19 August 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ekapon T
16 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2018 friends
I should have written this review a while ago. I always come to Mahanaga every time I visit Thailand which is about once a year. Its a hidden treasure in the middle of Sukhumvit area, great drinks with a gorgeous outdoor courtyard. Large parking space, they even have a great blues band when its not monsoon season. Once I came with some American friends and they proclaim the curry lobster the best lobster they've ever had. When we inquired about the dish we were told that the lobster was flown in fresh that morning from Maine. Its the curry and the freshest lobster that made that dish so special. I highly recommend
Written 12 August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mahanaga2016
Thank you k. Ekapon for your compliment! It has been our honor to serving you all these times. We are so happy that you enjoy out hospitality. We are all here looking forward to welcoming you back again when in town next time.
Written 13 August 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kimbagd
Barrington9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2018 none
Ate outside in beautiful courtyard. Had two kinds of snow fish. One in green curry and one in turmeric sauce with spice green bean salad on the side. Also Fresh mango and sticky rice for dessert. Delicious !
Written 28 May 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mahanaga2016
Thank you for your compliment! We are pleased that you enjoy your time with us. We are all here looking forward to your next visit when in town.
Written 29 May 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Max B
Sydney10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2018 couples
I took my boyfriend here for our 5th anniversary. I was not dissapointed at all except for the homophobe on the table next to us. Once that smeg left it was beautiful. we enjoyed a delicious Phad Thai and an ice cream sandwich. Afterward the evening became more erotic. The belly dancers came out and seeing as my boyfriend is bi-sexual he was turned on. I slapped him to get his attention back to me. After paying a cheap as price for a MEGA MEAL we went back to our hotel and banged koks.
Written 17 May 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

gary c
Carolina12658 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2018 business
The Mahanaga is one of the coolest places…. It’s huge!!!!!!! Indoor and outdoor eating…. But…… it has NEVER been crowded with people??? I don’t get it…. The food is super and so is the service and the ambiance and décor are out of this world!!!...as with most Thail restaurants, they serve their red wines on the cool side…. But the food is next to none….. I could eat here every single night!!!!!! The menu is huge and it’s conveniently located in Sukhumvit near the overhead trains…. Try this place!!!! I promise it will be worth it!!!!!
Written 12 April 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mahanaga2016
Thank you Gary C for your good compliment. We are so delighted that you enjoy our restaurant service. You make us a big smile. We are really looking forward to welcoming you again.
Written 13 April 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

jimjam76
Perth72 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2018 business
Visited as part of a group and enjoyed a delicious Thai banquet. The food was flavourful and presented beautifully. We had a very large group and the staff were so quick to serve all and kept the food and drink flowing. Tried lots of dishes and would recommend all of them, particularly the Yom Som O Goong Sod and the Goong Kua Prik Haeng. Great setting too, just off the Soi Sukhumvit but with a beautiful courtyard and really quiet.
Written 23 March 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mahanaga2016
Thank you very much for your compliment! we are so happy that you enjoy our food, service and venue. Once again thank you for your visit
Written 24 March 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

johniw
Ventnor13 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2018 friends
Our experience was very similar to that of your correspondent from Cowes. The food was served intermittently which meant some people had finished before our main course came. It was interesting nevertheless to while away the time watching the cats wandering unheeded and unchecked around the restaurant and listening to the trains rattling overhead nearby while we waited. My wife’s fish was cold. They had clearly forgotten and left it. We complained. Fawning apologies were followed by... nothing. No offer to replace etc. One of our friends ordered a steak. The waiter said it came with steamed rice. It didn’t - that would be extra (on top of 1,000 Bahts for his steak). By all means visit this restaurant if you you want a similar experience. If not you have been warned.
Written 24 February 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mahanaga2016
Sorry to hear your thought but then if you were in the same group experiencing the same issue as Cowes, we have already expressed our details through. unfortunately we cannot control the metropolitan train in the public area outside our territory.
Written 25 February 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

gp1560
Cowes4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2018 friends
Booked this for a special treat for our last night on holiday. Despite an email confirmation 3 days before had no record when we arrived. Eventually found us a table, the service all evening was dreadful, food arrived erratically was mostly cold and inedible. This is a very expensive restaurant I tried to pay the bill less the 10% service charge and was met with hostility by the manager a most dreadful woman who threatened to call the police. There are many far better restaurants in Bangkok. Avoid this one.
Written 17 February 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mahanaga2016
Dear valued customers, We have investigated the issue you mentioned, we are sorry to the incident. Unfortunately we were unable to follow your requests to not charge what you had finished on the plates plus the 2 dishes you complained not up to your standard with the more than half portions gone. As described on the menu clearly what are served on each item but still they were wrong against your expectations. All items served were collected back with empty plates but the last 2 fish orders which you refused to pay due to that they were different from what you had in mind but needed to taste them with more half of the fish. We are sorry that we made your last night holiday not up to your expectation.
Written 19 February 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-15 of 167
Best cheap eats
See all
Sponsored
Sri Ananda Bhawan Bangkok
₹ · Indian, Asian, Grill
Kalyana Restaurant
₹ · Asian, Burmese
Lamphu Tree Restaurant
₹ · Asian, Thai, Healthy, Street Food
The Family
₹ · Asian, Thai, Healthy
The Sixth
₹ · International, Asian, Thai, Fusion
All Meals Sawasdee
₹ · International, Asian, Thai, Fusion
Home Cafe Tha Tien
₹ · Cafe, Asian, Thai, Healthy
Mak's Noodle Thailand
₹ · Chinese, Asian, Cantonese, Hong Kong
Ama
₹ · Asian, Thai, Healthy
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

MAHANAGA, Bangkok - Asoke - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

All Bangkok HotelsBangkok Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Bangkok
Things to Do
All Bangkok RestaurantsRestaurants near MahaNaga
FlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire