We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Restaurant Sakamanga

Rue Andrianary Ratianarivo | TsaraRue, Antananarivo 261, Madagascar
22 358 09
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good46%
  • Average11%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“foie gras” (16 reviews)
“rice” (6 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
French, European, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Rue Andrianary Ratianarivo | TsaraRue, Antananarivo 261, Madagascar
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 248 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

My wife and i are now used to having dinner once a month at Sakamanga as it is a classy hotel, yet the restaurant is affordable. It is calm and intimacy downtown. Tables are candle lit and you can lie down on the sofa aboard...More

Thank Rija E
Reviewed 13 October 2017

While in Tana, we wanted to eat at Restaurant Sakamanga if only for their yummy desserts. We were not disappointed. My husband had chocolate mousse which he declared delicious. We also had Irish Coffee, a Malagasy cheese plate, and crème brulee. I would recommend any...More

Thank Karen G
vohilava, Directrice d'exploitation at Restaurant Sakamanga, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Hello Karen, How pleasant your feedback can be ! Thank you for your appreciation and for loving our chocolate mousse and crème brûlée so much. You can be sure it is an encouraging point that will keep our team going. We hope to see you...More

Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

Need to reserve but we were "lucky" to score a table. Food was bland. Foie gras looked like it came from a can, hard to chew beef, even the duck was hard. Toilet, filthy.More

Thank Cody C
vohilava, Directrice d'exploitation at Restaurant Sakamanga, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Cody C, Hello, sorry to contradict you but our foie gras has been homemade since 1992, in general it is appreciated by connaisseurs. In our entire cooking, the use of cans is strictly for condiments. I feel that you have come across the "hard,...More

Reviewed 5 October 2017

Great food and well priced ....very friendly staff who didn't hurry us at lunch time even though we were the last ones in !

Thank Jackie B
vohilava, Directrice d'exploitation at Restaurant Sakamanga, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear Jackie B Thank you so much for your positiv feedback ! We hope to see you soon agin, Your Sakamanga Team

Reviewed 4 October 2017

I tried this restaurant twice in 12 days, first time I'd like to offer 5 stars, but for second time I will give one less, maybe it was too crowded that night,the traditional food RAMAZAVA was obviously not cooked for enough time.Anyway the rest part...More

Thank XUEGANG Z
vohilava, Directrice d'exploitation at Restaurant Sakamanga, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear XUEGANG Z, The restaurant team thanks you very much for your nice feedback and for your rating, although we missed a star. We all appreciate that you have enjoyed the general mood of our main restaurant. Feel anytime welcome at our place ! Veloma...More

Reviewed 2 October 2017

Had lunch by the pool and dinner in the upstairs restaurant. Lunch pizza is pretty much good for 2 people, a little disappointed that several of the beers weren't available (particularly the Gold version), The lamb kebab much to our surprise was served as a...More

Thank 1mountain
vohilava, Directrice d'exploitation at Restaurant Sakamanga, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear 1mountain, Coco joins us to thank you for your pleasant and detailed comment. It is sometimes a bit of a challenge to find each brand of the beers we propose, but we always find a way no to fail our guests. Our entire team...More

Reviewed 18 September 2017

We had a dinner with a large group to close out a three-week tour of Madagascar. The food and service were excellent, and the price was reasonable. Nice, lively ambiance. Reservations definitely recommended.

Thank KevinB229
vohilava, Directrice d'exploitation at Restaurant Sakamanga, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hello KevinB229 ! Best thanks from our team for your motivating feedback. We will keep on going this way and hope to see you all on a future occasion again ! Veloma and see you soon ! Your Sakamanga Team

Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

Great restaurant. Good food. My wife really liked the creme brule. Make a reservation as it fills up.

Thank Mike D
vohilava, Directrice d'exploitation at Restaurant Sakamanga, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear Mike D, Thank you very much for your kind feeback towards our restaurant and its team. We hope to see you again on a future occasion. Veloma and see you soon ! Your Sakamanga Team

Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

The buffet breakfast is awesomely good and reasonably priced. Sakamanga is very quaint and boasts a small museum on the history of Antananarivo. Beware of the parrot. He loves eating toesMore

Thank Mario1547
vohilava, Directrice d'exploitation at Restaurant Sakamanga, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear Mario1547, Thank you for your comment, that we appreciate as much as you appreciate our breakfast buffet ! It is true that Coco has a unique and funny temper and he loves to leave small souvenirs for each guests he especially likes. We are...More

Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

stale and recycled chicken salad, stale and recycled deserts, bad and super slow service, extra charges for credit card payments under 100k Ariary, never again.More

Thank John F
vohilava, Directrice d'exploitation at Restaurant Sakamanga, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear John F, Thank you very much for your feedback. We can guarantee that our products are daily freshly prepared and chosen from our local small producers. Every dish that is being served in each service is home made. None of what you can eat...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
La Varangue
467 reviews
.57 km away
KUDeTA
433 reviews
.37 km away
Cafe de la Gare
591 reviews
.53 km away
Nearby Attractions
Rova - Le Palais de la Reine
394 reviews
2.05 km away
Tsimbazaza Zoo
201 reviews
2.68 km away
Piratenmuseum in Antananarivo
26 reviews
.33 km away
Helinirina Raharomanana Tours Guide
40 reviews
2.21 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Restaurant Sakamanga staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Rue Andrianary Ratianarivo | TsaraRue, Antananarivo 261, Madagascar
  • Location: Africa  >  Madagascar  >  Antananarivo Province  >  Antananarivo
  • Phone Number: 22 358 09
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing