We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

"Alo Alo" Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
10 Forest Road | Mount Pleasant, Harare, Zimbabwe
+263 77 326 5933
Today
09:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Mon 09:00 - 14:30
Tue - Sat 09:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 110: English reviews
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a great restaurant, with a great garden and very friendly staff. The food is well prepared and always served with a smile.

Helpful?
Thank KGDee
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2016

i love this restaurant beacuse it is cozy and very ethnic.this is god for all weather types i loved the heating during the cold winter.the food is amazing

Helpful?
Thank platinumpindy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

i've always Ranked Alo alo amongst the top 3 fine dining restaurants in Harare ..... but today from the meal to the service ... i was in shock , firstly it's like the waiters have no incentive to work totally disinterested in their jobs, slack service , totally nonchalant , this is a reflection of management ...... the food was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Varshjgd28
lesley170, Owner at "Alo Alo" Restaurant, responded to this review

We are most upset to hear such a review like the one you have posted and we would like the opportunity to make things better in the hope that you will return to Alo Alo and have a much better experience. I wish you had come to speak to Management straight away about all these points on the day, or... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

My missus had bacon wrapped mushrooms as a starter and pan fried hake. I helped myself to a pork schintzel. Needless to say both meala were first class. Mkoma Timothy who served us was superb. Kudos all round!!

Helpful?
Thank Farai Gorden D
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2016

Sadly my meal was tasteless... old fashioned deco dusty/dirty artificial flowers on table ...old fashioned tasteless cooking

Helpful?
Thank desfer
lesley170, Owner at "Alo Alo" Restaurant, responded to this review

We are most upset to hear such a review like the one you have posted and we would like the opportunity to make things better in the hope that you will return to Alo Alo and have a much better experience. I wish you had come to speak to Management straight away about all these points on the day, or... More 

Kigali, Rwanda
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2016

Very overpriced and uninspired food. Many better options in Harare. I was very disappointed given its higher rating on TripAdvisor.

Helpful?
Thank MuzunguWanderlust
lesley170, Front Office Manager at "Alo Alo" Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Sir We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit to Alo Alo Restaurant, please could you let us know what you think we could do to improve it :-) Thanks More 

Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

We visited Allo Allo for a midweek supper birthday celebration. It's decor is different - "cluttered antique". However my Hake dinner was tasty and well presented. The Cajun chicken salad looked good; our children enjoyed their ribs and fish fingers. We were well taken care off. The outside dining area looked pretty. Prices are midrange.

Helpful?
Thank D L
Harare
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

Good food and service, in a very interestingly decorated setting. Prices a little steep but portions are more than generous and nicely presented. We are very happy the Pomona dump smoke chose to stay away.

Helpful?
Thank kfl440
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2016

Had a business dinner on the veranda during the early evening. The wine list is a little limited but reasonably priced. We ordered several of the steak specials and one person had fish. The service was awesome and the meals were really good. The venue has a wonderfull relaxed atmosphere and i certaknly would like to dine here socially at... More 

Helpful?
Thank chillier455
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

A cosy environment for a perfect proposal from a loved one. The staff was very helpful, they assisted and l received the best engagement.

Helpful?
Thank Nomsah U

Travellers who viewed "Alo Alo" Restaurant also viewed

Harare, Harare Province
Harare, Harare Province
 
Harare, Harare Province
Harare, Harare Province
 
Harare, Harare Province
Harare, Harare Province
 

Been to "Alo Alo" Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 16 - US$ 20
Cuisine
International, European, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Validated Parking
Good for
Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 14:30
Monday
09:00 - 14:30
Tuesday
09:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 22:00
Thursday
09:00 - 22:00
Friday
09:00 - 22:00
Saturday
09:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 10 Forest Road | Mount Pleasant, Harare, Zimbabwe
  • Location: Africa  >  Zimbabwe  >  Harare Province  >  Harare
  • Phone Number: +263 77 326 5933
Description
A beautiful setting, a home away from home. Offering delicious a la carte meals lunch and dinner as well as a lunch special menu served 7 days a week. Also open for breakfast, teas, coffees and cake. You will be warmly welcomed by adrian and lesley

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of "Alo Alo" Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
3 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from "Alo Alo" Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?