We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cafe Cortado

Cnr High St & London Quay, Picton 7220, New Zealand
+64 3-573 5630
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good36%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (122 reviews)
“tapas” (34 reviews)
“ceviche” (7 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Pizza, Cafe, New Zealand, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Cnr High St & London Quay, Picton 7220, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (713)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We decided to eat there at the end of our stay in Picton. The food was awesome (starter: prawns, chicken wings, maincourse: Spaghetti Vongole, Ribeye Steak, dessert: Chocolate Fondant) but the service... ...that young lady told us, that it was her first week (so my...More

Thank Stefan_CH88
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Service is poor. Table service was friendly, but manager quite important and brusque. Food was OK, certainly edible. The best thing I can say about the restaurant that it was open for dinner and we were able to buy a meal!

Thank JEHSAH
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed a pizza here before meeting up with a group for drinks. Inside and outside dinning options, outside has heating so if it is a little chilly, you can keep warm.

Thank madamshalet
Jomacd2016, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Cortado, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the review - We love that you enjoyed our Pizza. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived relatively late, and were pleased to find this restaurant still serving. The service was really friendly and helpful, and the food when it arrived was brilliant. The fish was very well cooked and the lamb was absolutely delicious. We couldn’t fault the dishes,...More

Thank Grembo
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great service, very attentive staff. The food was delicious, as were the cocktails. Enjoyed the atmosphere, right on the water front so has a great view.

Thank Belinda M
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A nice setting on the water front and the food was ok while the staff were pleasant and friendly enough their detail to service was poor, we had to wait a bit for staff to attend to us to be seated you can of course...More

Thank Q8926NWchrist
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We saw Cortado listed as one of the top 10 restaurants in Marlborough region in an article at the place we were staying. Of course we wanted to try it. Unfortunately, it was the only disappointing meals that we had while we were in town....More

Thank skrawiecki
Jomacd2016, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Cortado, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review. We are of course disappointed that you did not enjoy your meal. Feel free to discuss this with us in person.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited during the day and had lovely coffee, and returned for dinner later. Dinner was good, but not great, as was the service. Would definitely return for coffees, not so sure I’d return for a meal though.

Thank Sally T
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I ordered the lamb, pesto and feta pizza to take-away and ate it by the water front, just a few hundred metres away, with my girlfriend. Not only was the staff very friendly and the waiting time quite short, I sincerely believe this was one...More

Thank Baptiste R
Jomacd2016, Owner at Cafe Cortado, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to give a positive review. We hope you are staying in Picton long enough to dine with us again. Happy travels

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Worst service I’ve ever had. Had to wait 30 minutes before going up the counter to order myself. Three times we were told they would be back to ‘take our order soon’. When we ordered we were told that they would come deliver our cutlery...More

Thank Emma M
Jomacd2016, Owner at Cafe Cortado, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are very very sorry that your experience with us was substandard. Unfortunately we had a senior staff member go home sick and we were left exposed with staff who were being trained. While they did their best they were unable to meet our usual...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Gusto
409 reviews
.12 km away
Picton Village Bakkerij
278 reviews
.22 km away
Seabreeze Cafe & Bar
510 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
Edwin Fox Maritime Museum
261 reviews
.23 km away
Picton Sound
177 reviews
.03 km away
Picton i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
80 reviews
.10 km away
EcoWorld Picton Aquarium
250 reviews
.15 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
george4209
20 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Jomacd2016 | Property representative |
Unfortunately oysters are out of season at present. We do however have lovely local clams, green lipped mussels, king salmon etc
1
Vote
Jennifer O
20 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Steve J | Reviewed this property |
Yes, always pays to book.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 10 - US$ 34
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Street Parking, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cnr High St & London Quay, Picton 7220, New Zealand (Formerly Cafe Cortado Picton)
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Marlborough Region  >  Picton
  • Phone Number: +64 3-573 5630
  • E-mail
Description
Cafe Cortado is located on the Picton waterfront with beautiful views over Queen Charlotte Sound and Picton marina. We have spacious outdoor and indoor dining areas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing