We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cafe Cortado

Cnr High St & London Quay, Picton 7220, New Zealand
+64 3-573 5630
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good37%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (115 reviews)
“tapas” (35 reviews)
“ceviche” (7 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Pizza, Cafe, New Zealand, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Cnr High St & London Quay, Picton 7220, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 659 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited during the day and had lovely coffee, and returned for dinner later. Dinner was good, but not great, as was the service. Would definitely return for coffees, not so sure I’d return for a meal though.

Thank Sally T
Reviewed 1 week ago

I ordered the lamb, pesto and feta pizza to take-away and ate it by the water front, just a few hundred metres away, with my girlfriend. Not only was the staff very friendly and the waiting time quite short, I sincerely believe this was one...More

Thank Baptiste R
Jomacd2016, Owner at Cafe Cortado, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to give a positive review. We hope you are staying in Picton long enough to dine with us again. Happy travels

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Worst service I’ve ever had. Had to wait 30 minutes before going up the counter to order myself. Three times we were told they would be back to ‘take our order soon’. When we ordered we were told that they would come deliver our cutlery...More

Thank Emma M
Jomacd2016, Owner at Cafe Cortado, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are very very sorry that your experience with us was substandard. Unfortunately we had a senior staff member go home sick and we were left exposed with staff who were being trained. While they did their best they were unable to meet our usual...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We popped into here for a light lunch. Coffee, tea and a panini. Our order was taken fairly quickly by a young guy and the tea and coffee arrived quite quickly. They weren't busy which helped. My chicken, cranberry and Brie panini took an eternity...More

Thank gfsc5
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Recommended to us by a local. Good pizzas Good beer. Reasonable wine list. Pleasant Outlook. Friendly service.

Thank Trudy R
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the second time we have eaten here and once again was not disappointed. Service was professional and efficient and the food was lovely, little twists on traditional items made it more interesting. Prices were fair for the quality of food and presentation.

Thank pennyt675
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Always looks attractive from the street so wondered if the experience matched. Gotta say the food was actually really nice. Saw some other meals being served looking nice too. Kids entertained, felt full and left happy.

Thank blackbattler
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We made a booking for a meal at Cafe Cortado. Food.... When we eventually got it was okay but the wait was over 1hr. We asked where the meals were and the young English man was defensive and rude in his response. This is not...More

Thank ContractTraveller007
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We dined here with our 2yo. Service was a bit hit and miss during our meal, but the food was good. We had a seafood platter - it was small but tasty. They provided crayons and colouring in pictures/puzzles to keep our daughter entertained -...More

Thank Trishka1974
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

For the first time in NZ we experienced ignorant staff and not so good service. It took some time to wake the girls up and tell them that we actually wanted something to eat. We Ordered seafood chowder and smoky brisket sandwich. The brisket plate,...More

Thank Ulf S
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Gusto
406 reviews
.12 km away
Picton Village Bakkerij
277 reviews
.22 km away
Seabreeze Cafe & Bar
509 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
Edwin Fox Maritime Museum
261 reviews
.23 km away
Picton Sound
177 reviews
.03 km away
Picton i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
77 reviews
.10 km away
EcoWorld Picton Aquarium
250 reviews
.15 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
george4209
20 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Jomacd2016 | Property representative |
Unfortunately oysters are out of season at present. We do however have lovely local clams, green lipped mussels, king salmon etc
1
Vote
Jennifer O
20 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Steve J | Reviewed this property |
Yes, always pays to book.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 10 - US$ 34
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Street Parking, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, View, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cnr High St & London Quay, Picton 7220, New Zealand (Formerly Cafe Cortado Picton)
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Marlborough Region  >  Picton
  • Phone Number: +64 3-573 5630
  • E-mail
Description
Cafe Cortado is located on the Picton waterfront with beautiful views over Queen Charlotte Sound and Picton marina. We have spacious outdoor and indoor dining areas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing