We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Akaroa Restaurant and Bar

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
75 Beach Road, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
+64 3-304 7842
Website
Today
11:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 11:00 - 22:00
Sat - Sun 09:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

230 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 215: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2016

Greeted and seated quickly. The service was excellent. Lots of selection the menu with chip/wedges to keep kids happy! We had a Pizza which was good with nice thin base. Lovely outside seating with view of the bay.

Helpful?
Thank THH21
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2016 via mobile

Went here after our afternoon harbour cruise. Friendly staff, free wifi, nice wines. Shared a plate of mussels, good value. Views can't be beaten either.

Helpful?
Thank BloodyHardToGetAName
LHotel175, Manager at Akaroa Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our restaurant BloodyHardToGetAName, much appreciated. More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2016

We ate here a year ago and it was good but they have had a change of ownership and it shows . Average main course nothing to be excited about , desert took 45 minutes to come out and then it was only lukewarm. Staff are friendly enough , ok for a drink but wont be eating there again .

Helpful?
Thank bhullo
Canterbury Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2016

We thank you very much for the loveliest night in your establishment we had a real bad day Last friday until we came to you guys, you made our day better much better. we loved your food its truly top notch and faultless , along with the smily serving faces , we are so glad we came there.My wife still... More 

Helpful?
Thank jamesharbour
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2016

We were drawn into this place because they had a special of "mussels cooked in garlic and white wine", we thought that's us! We thoroughly enjoyed our meals, there were at least 16 mussels in the bowl served with chips and aioli. Probably could have been served with fresh bread to dip into the sauce, but we were equally as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lucia Nev F
chch
Level Contributor
119 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2016 via mobile

Early dinner and great staff. Steak more medium than rare but still tasty. Big portions and all full. Calamari the highlight. Great views and location.

Helpful?
Thank Michelle A
LHotel175, Owner at Akaroa Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you MichelleaChch, Great to here you had some great Calamari again on your return visit. The calamari is a very popular dish here. We look forward to having you back soon Regards Megan More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2016

I heard a lot of good things about this place,so icame to check it out, on a monday night, had a steak that was so overcooked you could break someones head with. very disappointing .but i wanted to give the place a try again on a very busy night Saturday as you can not reallly make an opinion a on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sunny575757
LHotel175, Owner at Akaroa Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you Sunny575757, Thank you for taking the time to review us and to give us a second chance. We are really happy that our second chance payed off and you have written some very kind words. For us no matter what chef is on the quality of food coming out of the kitchen should be the same, i will... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2016

At a souvenir shop I bought a book that cost NZ$20. Since I had used up my NZ$, I exchanged US$20 for NZ$28, bought the book and got NZ$8 in change. My wife and I then stopped for beer at the l'Hotel bar. The cost for two beers was NZ$16. Since I only had NZ$8 I asked about paying in... More 

Helpful?
Thank EJS64
LHotel175, Owner at Akaroa Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Dear EJS64, We at L'hotel offer this as a courtesy it is up the to payer to decide whether or not they wish to accept the exchange. We are a restaurant, bar not a foreign exchange. We generally do not have time to work out the difference and do not hold US dollars for change. We hope you enjoyed Akaroa... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
667 reviews
337 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

Prime corner location with ample indoor and outdoor seating. A good choice for takeaway coffee at the end of the beach shops.

Helpful?
Thank David T
LHotel175, Owner at Akaroa Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you, Regards Megan More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

Asked for a table outside, was pretty much told it was their busy time and couldn't serve us, there were at least 3 free tables outside and inside was basically empty,.

Helpful?
Thank Warren W
LHotel175, Owner at Akaroa Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Dear Warren W, Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts, We have been over whelmed with the amount of pax we have had per day and have not been able to serve everybody. Our staff may not have expressed the correct way about advising you that we we possibly currently at our limit for kitchen orders and... More 

Travellers who viewed Akaroa Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Akaroa Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 11 - US$ 30
Cuisine
Seafood, European, New Zealand, Bar, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Television, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Local cuisine, View, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:00 - 22:00
Saturday
09:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 75 Beach Road, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Akaroa
  • Phone Number: +64 3-304 7842
Description
Open 7 days, from 11am till close (2016). We are open for Breakfast on Saturday and Sunday from 9am till 11am. L'hotel is situated right on the water's edge, with panoramic harbour views. L'hotel has an extensive menu using fresh local ingredients, and also catering for food intolerance's, with gluten free options on the menu. Perfect place to meet friends and family for a lively atmosphere and great food and wine.L'hotel has a fully licensed bar.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Akaroa Restaurant and Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?