We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Akaroa Restaurant and Bar

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
75 Beach Road, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
+64 3-304 7842
Website
Today
11:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 11:00 - 22:00
Sat - Sun 09:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

221 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 210: English reviews
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
110 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My partner ordered the seafood chowder, however as they had run out we both had burgers. I had the veggie burger a bit of lettuce of few mushrooms, tomatoes, a bit of cheese & a ton of mayo. He had the beef burger which was ok. The best part of lunch was the cold beer.

Helpful?
Thank kim B
LHotel175, Owner at Akaroa Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Thanks Kim B Your the first person to give a negative comment about our vege burgers, This is your impression of the burger. Ours is potobello mushrooms, Hulloumi Cheese, Grilled Tomato Lettuce with Carrot, onion and red cabbage with aioli served in between fresh burger buns. We are please to hear the beer was cold Thanks Megan More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel is very well positioned and the room balconies have a lovely view of the harbour. The food in the restaurant is also excellent

Helpful?
Thank Jenny K
LHotel175, Owner at Akaroa Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Hi Jenny K, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay, Thanks for the positive comments we hope to see you again sometime . Thanks Megan More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Please dont order smoothies here, they dont know what they are. The waitress even suggested if we wanted them perhaps to try an alternative cafe, but everything was busy to move. Smoothies X4, were like watery milk with some sort of childrens extra sweet flavouring agent. Expensive and barely drinkable. Shouldnt serve them if cant make them.

Helpful?
Thank bhmcfarlane
LHotel175, Owner at Akaroa Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Hello bhmcfarlane, Thanks for the review, We don't advertise we have smoothies we say we have an alternative to a milkshake but it's not that either. It is a schott product that we follow to the bottle directions. This product is all natural. Why when given the choice to go elsewhere would you then slam us!! it was your choice.... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed our lunch but I felt that some of the staff were a bit sniffy whenever any of us went to use the toilet facilities which were inside (we were sitting outside) because they obviously get a lot of people who aren't customers coming in to use their facilities. Over-riding memory, however will be the fantastic view of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pippola18
LHotel175, Owner at Akaroa Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Hello Pippola18 Thank you for taking the time to review our Restaurant, you are correct in the sense that we patrol the toilets. Have cruise ships in all week and those on them think as we are the first of the wharf we must be the public rest rooms and there for while they are in there paying nothing while... More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Decided on an evening meal of fish and chips after a long day exploring the beautiful Akaroa peninsula with friends. There is a reason that this restaurant is rated 16 out of 24 by other reviews. Should have checked Tripadvisor before we went and wasted our evening

Helpful?
Thank Sianrob
LHotel175, Owner at Akaroa Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review L'Hotel Akaroa, We are rated this as people put reviews on the wrong page. Maybe you should explain what or why you were not happy with !!. We can't please everybody. Trip advisor is to blame with why we are place 16-24 as they will not put the correct business name and... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived Akaroa by Sun Princess early on a cool spring morning. We had some time to explore Akaroa village on foot. Great photo opps. Leisurely wait for our bus into Christchurch, we stopped by the Akaroa Restaurant and Bar for a short black and a long hot chocolate. Friendly staff, great view, people watching. Thank you

Helpful?
Thank Steve M
LHotel175, Owner at Akaroa Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review L'Hotel, We don't seem to get much feed back for customers off the ship so it is nice to read one from a happy passenger. Hope you had an enjoyable day in Akaroa. Take Care More 

auckland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2017

Had dinner here on what was a very busy day because of a couple of cruise ships were in port . The service was rushed and my partner didn't receive what was ordered but he had a nice steak. I had the chicken filo which was awful, just mushed up chicken in a bland sauce with a side salad which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stormpipes
LHotel175, Owner at Akaroa Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, sorry to hear you didn't receive what you had ordered, i was working that evening and nothing was brought to my attention, we do hope to see you again on an evening or day when no ship is in the harbour. More 

Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

My Fiancé and I visited twice whilst we stayed in Akaroa. The Bar Staff were helpful and friendly. We fancied a few drinks rather than food, so we tried Speights Beer and the Ned Sauvignon Blanc. I would recommend both to anybody. Thank you.

Helpful?
Thank eastaroadster
LHotel175, Owner at Akaroa Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to review our Bar, It's great to hear that you felt comfortable to relax and have a couple drinks, i hope the weather was good aswell and it would have been magic having a drink in a relaxing little town. Hope to see you again Megan More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

The staff were nice and the view was even nicer! I had the vege burger and it was absolutely delicious. My boyfriend had the smokey BBQ burger which was 'unreal'!! The only downside is the burgers didn't come with any sides which made it a lot more expensive.

Helpful?
Thank Fran C
LHotel175, Owner at Akaroa Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Hello Fran C Thanks for taking the time, to review our property. It's great to hear you enjoyed your burgers. It's a catch 22 Fries vs No fries, we found that when we had them with fries we had so many left over when the guest had finished or they wanted wedges instead. This menu we priced the burgers accordingly... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2016

Had dinner here on a Saturday night. Wait staff service was good, and the meals arrived "a bit quicker" than what we had planned for (not really a complaint - just a comment) Meal was good - so yeah happy with everything, so can but only recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Phil S
LHotel175, Owner at Akaroa Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Hi Phil, It's great to read you enjoyed your Dinner, Unfortunately for us we have TEMP chefs at the moment and they just don't get the whole dinner experience we as the owners are trying to offer. but then some people can complain that it took to long as well. but the waitress can usually or should usually pick the... More 

Travellers who viewed Akaroa Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 
Akaroa, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Akaroa Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 11 - US$ 30
Cuisine
Seafood, European, New Zealand, Bar, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Television, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Romantic, View, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:00 - 22:00
Saturday
09:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 75 Beach Road, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Akaroa
  • Phone Number: +64 3-304 7842
Description
Open 7 days, from 11am till close (2016). We are open for Breakfast on Saturday and Sunday from 9am till 11am. L'hotel is situated right on the water's edge, with panoramic harbour views. L'hotel has an extensive menu using fresh local ingredients, and also catering for food intolerance's, with gluten free options on the menu. Perfect place to meet friends and family for a lively atmosphere and great food and wine.L'hotel has a fully licensed bar.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Akaroa Restaurant and Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?