We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Bar, Pub, Australian, Pizza, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Cnr Thompson Ave & The Esplanade, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria, Australia
+61 3 5952 2060
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 169: English reviews
Heidelberg, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Hey people it's a pub, the staff are nice the view is good, and we had the best Parma there in ages, we stoped in here just before hitting up the penguin parade.

Helpful?
Thank Mick123-78
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I rang to get take away. Boy very rude. Told me 1hr wait. When I did order took half hour. Asked for 2 large. Got what seemed 1 family and I small. Was hungry paid for it. Soon to discover anchovies when asked no anchovies . More pineapple than one could consume in a year. Ate half piece. Just grumpy... More 

Helpful?
Thank melissajking73
HotelPhillipIsland, Manager at Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Melissa This shall be discussed with the pizza shop manager. Would you mind to please tell us what day you ordered, so I may follow up on this matter? I'm sorry for your disatisfaction, it would appear at first the wrong order has been given to you. Needless to say, we will refund your purchase. Please email us directly... More 

barooga
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had lunch here and we were very happy. I had the lamb cutlets and they were cooked perfectly and had heaps of flavour. My hubby had the chicken Parma and a he said it was awesome. They had a nice out door area as well and we enjoyed eating our lunch out in the sunshine.

Helpful?
Thank Louise B
HotelPhillipIsland, Manager at Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Louise Thank you for your kind words and taking time to provide us with your feedback. We really appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We came here for some pizza, which were quite good, not awesome and not selfmade it total, but basically good. Most thing we did not like was the dirty of the place. It seems that the floor had not been cleaned for several days, the bench was a kind of sticky and toilets were not clean as well.

Helpful?
Thank Katharina Z
HotelPhillipIsland, Manager at Hotel, responded to this review

Hi katharina Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your experience here at Hotel. Its disappointing to hear that at the time of your visit you felt the venue was not clean. We have a cleaner in every morning to clean the venue and endeavour to wipe down tables as soon as guests leave however... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had the flat head tails, chicken Parma and a Hawaiian pizza and everything was fantastic. Super tasty and super fresh! Highly recommend!

Helpful?
Thank adamdonnaowen16
HotelPhillipIsland, Manager at Hotel, responded to this review

Hi adam Just a quick one to say thank you so much for your review and kind words. It means a great deal to us when we hear someone enjoyed their experience and took the time to let us know. Thanks again and hope to see you soon. More 

Level Contributor
420 reviews
293 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

We visited Hotel on the weekend for a yummy dinner and some drinks. We stayed there all night. Yummy meals, especially the interesting taco bowl salad. Affordable and relaxing to be able to sit outside in the sun

Helpful?
Thank Tania W
HotelPhillipIsland, Manager at Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Tania Thanks heaps for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed what we have to offer and that you had a good time. Hope to see you in the future next time you're on the island. Kind Regards More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

My daughter and I shared the seafood platter for one and couldn't eat it all!! Service was good, wick and friendly. We will definitely come back!

Helpful?
Thank KateColGriffin
HotelPhillipIsland, Manager at Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Kate, Thanks heaps for the positive review. We are so glad you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you again some time soon. Regards Management More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Dropped in for a meal totally ignored for 5 min . Almost left and then a scruffy barman appeared to take our order. We then sat at the front overlooking the bay on a sticky table whilst the kitchen staff diplayed appaling language through the servery. Then a group of what appeared to be there friends walked in to russtle... More 

Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
HotelPhillipIsland, Manager at Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Margaret, Thank you very much for your review the other day. We are continuously striving to deliver high quality service and am disappointed you didnt have a positive experience. These issues will be investigated and dealt with immediately however to aid in this process may I ask which day and approximate time you visited us? I can assure you... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Venue is not very inviting from outside but well worth a visit. We had the ribs (which were great) the Barra and the Flat-head. We did ask for the flat head to be grilled rather than battered but no go which I don't understand. Service ok without being great, don't get how if you one of only 5 customers in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve D
HotelPhillipIsland, Manager at Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Steve Thanks for your review the other day. Im glad you didnt judge a book by its cover and decided to give us a try. We are very proud of the quality of our food and are stoked you did too. In regards to the flathead we order it pre battered, and without scraping the batter off which would... More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Disappointed to see wine from Aldi that costs $2.69 per bottle sold at $6.50 per glass or $26 for a bottle. Food and service were good, great location.

Helpful?
Thank BMW1150Steve
HotelPhillipIsland, Manager at Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Steve Thanks for your feedback on this contentious issue. We recently experienced difficulties with our suppliers and it was a decision to get stock from other avenues and clearly the person who purchased the wine doesn't drink wine themselves. Glad to hear you enjoyed our food and that our service was of quality and we know, its not a... More 

Travellers who viewed Hotel also viewed

Cowes, Phillip Island
Cowes, Phillip Island
 
Cowes, Phillip Island
Cowes, Phillip Island
 

Been to Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 10 - US$ 24
Cuisine
Bar, Pub, Australian, Pizza, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Television
Good for
Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cnr Thompson Ave & The Esplanade, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Victoria  >  Phillip Island  >  Cowes
  • Phone Number: +61 3 5952 2060
Description
Hotel is Phillip Island's premier Bar, with great food, amazing cocktails and even better music!Eat, drink and enjoy the atmosphere of our street-side licensed areas or the intimacy of our courtyard and deck.Pizza at Hotel is the place to go for traditional and gourmet pizza, whether in-house, take-away or delivered to your door. Open til 2:30am Fri & Sat nights.Friday and Saturday, Hotel Phillip Island is the regions’ only late night venue. Party with our resident DJ's as well as internationally renowned special guests.From lunch until late, you will always find a vibrant and friendly atmosphere at Hotel Phillip Island.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Hotel and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Melbourne, Australia
5 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?