We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Morningside Organic Bakery Cafe & Bookstore

107 Morningside Road, Fulford Harbour, British Columbia V8K 1X1, Canada
+1 250-653-4414
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good5%
  • Average2%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible23%
Travellers talk about
“chai” (36 reviews)
“bread” (30 reviews)
“sandwich” (24 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
Cafe, Canadian, Vegan Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
107 Morningside Road, Fulford Harbour, British Columbia V8K 1X1, Canada
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

An incredibly rude owner stood behind the bar and berated us as we ordered a few things to go before our ferry ride. My husband and I left feeling blindsided by her remarks! I couldn't help get home and see if there were any other...More

5  Thank ddav68
Alan G, Owner at Morningside Organic Bakery Cafe & Bookstore, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

guess people take fake smiles and waitresses without uncomfortable emotions or opinions as a given in the service industry. discomfort is the edge upon which growth is most accessible and if you look around at the fabulous book selection you’ll find personal and collective evolution...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Abrasive and rude barista. I would like to think this is an isolated incident but looking at the other reviews it is not. If you read the responses to the other reviews the rudeness shows itself. The food and drinks were good and the wait...More

4  Thank Justin H
Alan G, Owner at Morningside Organic Bakery Cafe & Bookstore, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

morningside has been closed all week as we are expanding our shipping facility so we are curious as to how you could experience ' abasiveness and rudeness ' when we weren't opened..' could it be that you are making this all up ' that someone...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I recently ate at the Morningside Cafe while waiting to board the Fulford ferry. It was a cool, damp day and I was glad to step inside this cozy place. I like the architecture, furnishings, and decoration, and the thought-provoking selection of books and music...More

Thank Ila W
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Rude. To pretty much anyone on a whim---every single visitor I've had in the last year has remarked on this, if they happened to stop there (and I don't live that far away). I suggest you go next door instead, unless you happen to thrive...More

5  Thank Peter S
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I love that there's a healthy place for me to eat on the island. Food here is prepared with lots of love. Please visit this space with an open heart. Manon and Alan are great and extremely loving intelligent folks.

Thank Caroline J
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Its sad that after all these years the attitude in this place hasn't changed and that the proprietors havent got the message that they would have a much more successful business and many more local friends if they learned to be more pleasant and less...More

10  Thank CaptainDeepheart
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Horrible attitude and offensive. The complete opposite of what I had encountered in the past. Beware do not order a latte and cakes and then while waiting browse the books ( which are for sale.) GO as commanded to sit outside until called. By the...More

5  Thank 751gigi2015
Alan G, Owner at Morningside Organic Bakery Cafe & Bookstore, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

an odd customer that plunked herself at the ordering station and refused to move to let others order when asked to wait in our patio area? then complain about our attitude...have a close look in your mirror..

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I live on Salt Spring Island now. One of the reasons I moved here was my visit to Morningside Cafe a few years earlier. I find the atmosphere, the people, the books and of course the coffee, an uplifting and inspiring experience every time I...More

Thank Mick B
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Ordered 4 items online. They sent 2 smoked cheeses that I did not order and were most unhelpful and rude. I finally got back a $32 refund. Gee thanks. Do not recommend.More

9  Thank VIsally
Alan G, Owner at Morningside Organic Bakery Cafe & Bookstore, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

unfortunately this particular customer of the thousands of satisfied customers that we have that whatever was done to please her she complained. nothing was good enough. nothing to do with our product nothing to do with our service..all to do with her nature. s we...More

Reviewed 30 August 2017

My friend is a vegan so she was very excited to check out this cafe. We had brought in an empty McDonalds coffee cup from our car to put in the recycling, but we noticed it was overflowing when we entered. When we asked the...More

14  Thank Cassandra L
Alan G, Owner at Morningside Organic Bakery Cafe & Bookstore, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

' to a very inconsiderate rude customer who feels she is entitled to abuse us ' so let us get this straight: you walked into our beautiful cafe/bookstore bringing an empty mcdonald's cup and plastic lid to dump it into our garbage. our garbage and...More

Nearby Restaurants
Rock Salt Restaurant & Cafe
381 reviews
.04 km away
Salt Spring Island Mercantile
20 reviews
.16 km away
Bite Me! Treats
43 reviews
3.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
Salt Spring Island Cheese Company
511 reviews
1.87 km away
Southend Grooveyard
5 reviews
3.79 km away
Ruckle Provincial Park
331 reviews
3.26 km away
Mount Maxwell Provincial Park
296 reviews
6.13 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Carolyn B
12 April 2017|
Response from Alan G | Property representative |
10:30 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$ 4 - US$ 16
Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi, Takeout, Seating, Street Parking, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 107 Morningside Road, Fulford Harbour, British Columbia V8K 1X1, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  British Columbia  >  Salt Spring Island  >  Fulford Harbour
  • Phone Number: +1 250-653-4414
  • E-mail
Morningside organic bakery cafe & bookstore offers 100% organic, plant-based vegan living foods. handcrafted sandwiches, vegan wraps, woodfired pizza, soups, salads, superfood, raw chocolate, smoothies, shakes, herbal tonics, nut mylks, artisan bread, pastries, cookies, divine chai, premium coffees, and teas. our bakery section features organic woodfired heritage sourdough breads, pie, pastries, cookies, tarts, & treats. we support our local organic farmers. an eclectic collection of books: environment, ecology, poetry, alternative building, permaculture, buddhism, raw food, alternative energy, cultural theory, cookbooks, veganism, integral life teachings, surfing, gay & lesbian, health, animal rights, spirituality, children, nature & green solutions.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing