We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Arid Lands Botanic Garden Cafe

Stuart Highway, Port Augusta, South Australia 5700, Australia
+61 8 8641 9117
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good37%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“scones” (15 reviews)
“ice cream” (15 reviews)
“lemon myrtle” (4 reviews)
Open Now
9:00 AM - 5:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Cafe, Australian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Stuart Highway, Port Augusta, South Australia 5700, Australia
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Drive over from Ceduna to visit the botanical gardens and saw hat they had a cafe. The cafe was nice inside, staff very pleasant and helpful. My wife had the pumpkin salad, perfectly dressed and delicious. I chose the curried chicken pie - also very...More

Thank Smoltman
Bernie144, Front Office Manager at Arid Lands Botanic Garden Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Smoltman, thanks so much for the lovely review. We are so pleased when visitors enjoy their experience.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Service, pricing and food were all excellent. We arrived at a busy time and luckily we made reservations by phone. There was a good selection of dishes with everyone in our group commenting on the quality and size of the portions.

Thank L4940AKjenniferb
Bernie144, Front Office Manager at Arid Lands Botanic Garden Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks so much for taking the time to give a review. We love it when visitors enjoy their visit, maybe we'll see you again one day.

Reviewed 7 November 2017

Meal was slow to arrive at our table but the view and birdlife was worth the wait. the meal was a little small , still it was very nice.

Thank Larry M
Bernie144, Front Office Manager at Arid Lands Botanic Garden Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Hi Larry M Thanks for taking the time to review. I apologise for the time it took to receive your meal but am so glad you enjoyed the beautiful view & birdlife. All the best.

Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

Unfortunately the cafe closed for meals before we had a chance to get there at about 230 in the afternoon. They were only offering coffees and scones by that time so we chose to look elsewhere for lunch

Thank Sharronholl
Bernie144, Front Office Manager at Arid Lands Botanic Garden Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Hi Sharronholl I'm so sorry you missed out on trying our tasty lunches, our lunch menu finishes 2pm on weekends & 3pm on weekdays. Hopefully you'll have an opportunity to visit again some time.

Reviewed 15 October 2017

What a wonderful time we had here. They have the best local indigenous Tucker here. Give yourself a treat, and drop-in to enjoy. Funguy and Di

Thank Funguy_Di
Bernie144, Front Office Manager at Arid Lands Botanic Garden Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Hi Funguy_Di Thanks so much for the review, we are so glad you enjoyed your visit (& the food).

Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

We had a light lunch at the cafe. Staff helpful and friendly. Food tasty. Lovely views of the surrounding area from inside via the large floor to ceiling glass windows. Can sit outdoors also. Small souvenir shop and toilets inside the building also.

Thank Enjoy_the_breeze
Bernie144, Front Office Manager at Arid Lands Botanic Garden Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Hi Enjoy_the_breeze Thanks for taking the time to provide a review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed 3 October 2017

Some plants I haven't seen before, the gardens are well set out, we had it to ourselves as it was just prior to sunset and visitor centre was closed. A beauty in the desert plants that is different to typical flowery gardens. The red cliff...More

Thank lisa4864
Bernie144, Front Office Manager at Arid Lands Botanic Garden Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thanks for the lovely review lisa4864 Really glad you enjoyed the beautiful arid plants & landscape.

Reviewed 2 October 2017

We stopped for lunch on our last visit to the centre. The Angus Beef Burger was my husband's choice and he really enjoyed it. The pumpkin soup came out piping hot with a damper roll to go with it; needed time to cool down but...More

Thank sweet631
Bernie144, Front Office Manager at Arid Lands Botanic Garden Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Hi sweet631 Thanks for taking the time to provide such a lovely review. We're so glad you enjoyed your visit (and the food). Hope to see you again some time.

Reviewed 1 October 2017

Wonderful botanic garden to enjoy the beautiful SA outdoors and weather. We spotted kangaroos, goannas, bearded dragons and numerous birds! An animal discovery trail kept the little ones keen. The childrens' nature playground was a very nice surprise too. Worked up an appetite after completing...More

Thank The_squirrel_team
Bernie144, Front Office Manager at Arid Lands Botanic Garden Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Hi The_squirrel_team thanks for taking the time to provide a review. We're very glad you enjoyed your time in the garden, it's certainly a beautiful place to spend some time. We apologise for the long wait to order your meal, sometimes it's hard to judge...More

Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

Worth a visit, great to walk around with excellent views and well labelled plants. Ice- cream was the highlight in the cafe

Thank BernieR101
Bernie144, Front Office Manager at Arid Lands Botanic Garden Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Hi BernieR101, Thanks for taking the time to write a review - we're glad you enjoyed your visit (and we agree, the ice-cream is delicious).

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 10 hotels in Port Augusta
Standpipe Golf Motor Inn
185 reviews
2.16 km away
Acacia Ridge Motor Inn
331 reviews
2.31 km away
Crossroads Ecomotel
194 reviews
2.42 km away
Poinsettia Motel
52 reviews
2.76 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Standpipe Golf Motor Inn
140 reviews
6.86 km away
Archers' Table
69 reviews
2.86 km away
Indian Indulgences
56 reviews
5.27 km away
Nearby Attractions
Australian Arid Lands Botanic Garden
287 reviews
.05 km away
Wadlata Outback Centre
192 reviews
3.95 km away
Water Tower Lookout
54 reviews
2.72 km away
Port Augusta Cultural Centre - Yarta Purtli
9 reviews
3.76 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Arid Lands Botanic Garden Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Waitstaff
Good for
View, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Stuart Highway, Port Augusta, South Australia 5700, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  South Australia  >  Port Augusta
  • Phone Number: +61 8 8641 9117
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing