We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tomiko Japanese Steak House

) #33 of 118 Restaurants in Glenelg ₹₹₹₹ Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Shop 7 Marina Pier, Holdfast Shores, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
+61 8 8295 5995
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good25%
  • Average15%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“miso soup” (10 reviews)
“seafood” (13 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Japanese, Sushi, Asian
PRICE
₹₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Shop 7 Marina Pier, Holdfast Shores, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a great dinner there. Our chef Raymond was entertaining and skilled and cooked our food beautifully. Sashimi plate was generous and fresh as a starter. Probably a little on the expensive side but that's not unusual for Japanese food! Service was good and I...More

Thank Kym D
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

The team at Tomiko would like to thank you for this great compliment. We look forward to serving you and your guest in the new future. As a token of appreciation Raymond would like to compliment you with some sake on your next visit. Once...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went as a group of 11 on a Monday night and got a table upstairs. The service was friendly and efficient...nice atmosphere... Food and drinks were excellent. Watching the chef cook in front of us was fun...and you get to see exactly what you...More

Thank Paul R
Management response:Responded 2 weeks ago

Dear Customer, It was our great pleasure to serve you and your guests during your recent visit to Tomiko. We are looking forward to your return visit to Tomiko Japanese Steak House. We would certainly appreciate any feedback or suggestions you can offer on the...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

To be fair the food here was 8/10 albeit expensive - but we expected that - so no problem. We asked for "tap water" and received a bottle of water at the beginning of our meal. At the end of our meal we noticed that...More

Thank FUNKYBUNCH888
Management response:Responded 3 weeks ago

Firstly let me start by apologising, we read all feedback and our aim is to grow and provide better service through reading our customers reviews, we are deeply concerned about your review and would like to begin by apologising to you. Our bottled water is...More

Reviewed 14 June 2017

I had always wanted to dine at this establishment and when I finally got the opportunity. I wasn't disappointed. The staff are incredibly professional. I have dined here for a normal meal and also done the tepanyaki group table three times. Each time has been...More

Thank allaboutstatus
Management response:Responded 20 June 2017

Thank you so much for your review, we appreciate all feedback and are constantly working towards ensuring all our patrons experiences are have the same kind of experience as you have. Thanks for taking the time to review Tomiko Japanese Steak.

Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

We had dinner at this restaurant. We choose 8 courses menu (72$ per person). We started with beans. It took time to get all dishes, but it was worth it. Especially meat. It was tender, juicy and extremely delicious. We also had miso soup, tempura...More

Thank Daniel G
Management response:Responded 20 June 2017

Thank you so much for your review, we appreciate all feedback and are constantly working towards ensuring all our patrons experiences are have the same kind of experience as you have. Thanks for taking the time to review Tomiko Japanese Steak.

Reviewed 24 May 2017

Went to Holdfast shores for dinner, walking the deck with plenty of options available. Decided to Try the Japanese Steak House, to share a few plates and taste a few things on the menu. Overall we shared a chicken and meat dish, and the food...More

Thank Charles I
Management response:Responded 20 June 2017

Thank you so much for your review, we appreciate all feedback and are constantly working towards ensuring all our patrons experiences are have the same kind of experience as you have. Thanks for taking the time to review Tomiko Japanese Steak.

Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

We had reserved a table for six for 5.30 pm. When booking we were told that we would need to be gone by 8 pm, this was not a problem. After ordering, the food was cooked teppanyaki style at the table and came out very...More

Thank 1diningqueen
Management response:Responded 20 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Tomiko, we appreciate all feedback given as we are always striving to make sure everyone has a great experience.

Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

5 STARS PLUS!! AMAZING food and service. Will definately be back soon. Great to have Chef Richard cooking a very spectacular meal for us outside for Mother's Day! Great range of very nice COCKTAILS, I had two of them! Everything was so fresh and all...More

Thank kalleebear1
Reviewed 14 April 2017

We had the private chef with tepanyaki banquet. Fantastic. He put on a great show and the food was just perfect. . As we are dairy free, we had to ask him not to cook everything in butter. Excellent prawns, steak, vegetables and good ambience.

Thank j0hnty47
Reviewed 13 April 2017

We have eaten at most establishments along Holdfast Promenade over time, but this experience was not among the best on this particular night - maybe management has changed? The waitress was excellent and explained everything. Her space was then constantly invaded by an older, Asian...More

Thank Vicki T
Management response:Responded 20 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Tomiko, we appreciate all feedback given as we are always striving to make sure everyone has a great experience.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Wharf
268 reviews
.00 km away
The Oyster Bar
165 reviews
.11 km away
Indian Spice
105 reviews
.38 km away
Ellenika Traditional Greek Taverna
77 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
Glenelg Pier
658 reviews
.39 km away
Glenelg Beach
186 reviews
.39 km away
Bay Discovery Centre
79 reviews
.29 km away
The Beachouse
252 reviews
.29 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Tomiko Japanese Steak House staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 8 - US$ 48
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 00:00
Monday
11:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 00:00
Thursday
11:00 - 00:00
Friday
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Shop 7 Marina Pier, Holdfast Shores, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  South Australia  >  Greater Adelaide  >  Glenelg
  • Phone Number: +61 8 8295 5995
  • E-mail
Description
Tomiko Japanese Steak House is one of Adelaide's premier restaurants, specialising in a fantastic range of fresh, high quality food prepared by our expert chefs! Since opening in 2011, we have quickly established a reputation for quality & Our philosophy is to provide our valued customers with a unique and exciting dining experience, by carefully selecting and preparing the highest quality ingredients for our dishes, whilst delivering an exceptional level of service. Located on Adelaide's Marina Pier, our restaurant is the perfect spot to enjoy the sunshine and fantastic views of the Marina in the summer, or indulge in the warm and cosy atmosphere of our sheltered Teppanyaki grills in the winter. Our Menu features succulent cuts of beef including Wagyu, Chateaubriand and Hibachi; delicious seafood such as Lobster, Salmon, Scallops, and King Prawns; plus a fantastic range of Sushi, as well as an extensive and flavoursome Degustation Menu. Our speciality is Teppanyaki, a modern style of Japanese cooking that lets you sit back and watch as our expert chefs prepare and cook fresh, flavourful Japanese cuisine right in front of you and your friends! We also have The Secret Room, a fully air conditioned, Japanese-themed private function room seating up to 20, where you can enjoy the finest food that Adelaide has to offer, whilst our dedicated staff provide you with first class service. Tomiko Japanese Steak House is guaranteed to be an enjoyable and unique experience so contact us now to reserve your place at one of Adelaide's finest restaurants!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing