We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nagisa

) #19 of 452 Restaurants in Newcastle ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ Japanese, Sushi, Asian
N2 The Boardwalk | 1 Honeysuckle Drive, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
+61 2 4929 4122
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good36%
  • Average6%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“sashimi” (24 reviews)
“bento box” (17 reviews)
Open Now
11:30 - 21:30All hours
CUISINES
Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
N2 The Boardwalk | 1 Honeysuckle Drive, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Whether you're after a quick pre-theatre meal of a complete dinner this place is amazing!!!!! The first time I visited I almost left because the toilet situation is minimalist! But so glad I stayed! Since then we've been back. The service is 5 star and...More

Thank Mackanans
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nagisa needs to be careful they don't price themselves out of the market. Perhaps some competition in Japanese cuisine might do it. Small quantities for top prices. The wine list is exorbitant, Krinklewood Verdelho $70 a bottle was $40 at another local restaurant the day...More

Thank Marcia F
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived a little early for Sunday lunch with the grandparents, just before the restaurant officially opened as we needed to make a flight to Brisbane after lunch. That was no drama and we were able to sit and review the menu and chat while...More

Thank CJQLD
Reviewed 11 July 2017

This reaurant has a nice view over the harbour at Honeysuckle. It has a range of very good japanese beers on tap and well worth trying. The al a carte food is exceptional and sevice very friendly and professional. Be warned that you pay for...More

Thank Mark E
gkp2202, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your the great review, Mark. We're somewhat confused by the title of the review - are we naughty? :-) Seriously though, we are grateful for the feedback and delighted you enjoyed your Nagisa experience. See you again soon?

Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

Went for the tasting plate for two with matching wines. Was so good. The choice of tuna, kingfish and salmon sushi and sashimi were excellent. Rare wagyu beef and the scallops were also excellent and then the best course of lamb cutlets. All the wines...More

Thank MikeB1966Sydney
gkp2202, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We love this feedback! Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We hope we'll be able to serve you again soon.

Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

This place is always a great place. The food is always good, service is always polite and accommodating and the meals superb.

Thank Chris F
gkp2202, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We're delighted you enjoy the Nagisa experience, Chris, and appreciate your time letting us know about it. Thank you.

Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

We spent a couple of brilliant hours on a very rainy evening at this restaurant. It was packed, always a good sign, but even so it only took a short time for our entrees to arrive. We were not that hungry so just ordered a...More

Thank kim g
gkp2202, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Thank you for that amazing review, Kim. We love your turn of phrase on the black sesame sponge! :-) We are very much looking forward to seeing you at restaurant again.

Reviewed 13 June 2017

The last time I reviewed Nagisa, I was cranky because we were turned away for lunch, as they were hosting a group of schoolkids, and swore never to return. Well, in spite of my crankypants review, I kept hearing too many great reviews to hold...More

Thank Siankat71
gkp2202, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Thank you so much for the amazing review. We're delighted you had a change of heart and gave us a try. We're even more pleased that you enjoyed the experience! We sincerely hope we'll be serving you again soon.

Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

Had neice 21st lunch. Food was fantastic and fresh. Reasonably priced and great ambience with view of harbour. Service was great and thanks so much for the birthday cake. Will be back

Thank gingie71
gkp2202, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback. We're glad you enjoyed the experience at Nagisa and hope we'll see you again soon.

Reviewed 1 June 2017

Wow, our second visit here and we were not to be disappointed. The staff were all over it, smiling and efficient. The place was busy and the food was exactly how we thought it would be, fantastic. View the photo's, you won't be dissapointed

Thank Steve A
gkp2202, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Thank you , Steve. It warms our hearts to receive such positive feedback. We look forward to the next chance we have to serve you.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Meet
279 reviews
.08 km away
The Dockyard
223 reviews
.01 km away
Honeysuckle Hotel
430 reviews
.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
Newcastle Museum
294 reviews
.11 km away
Christ Church Cathedral
180 reviews
.93 km away
Foreshore Park
79 reviews
.97 km away
Maritime Centre
50 reviews
.01 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Dan F
20 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from gkp2202 | Property representative |
Hello. I'm very sorry for the late reply. I presume you are referring to okonomiyaki? In which case, we do not have these on our menu, though I believe we have offered them on special at some point. I'll discuss the... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 6 - US$ 85
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available
Good for
Romantic, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, View, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 15:00
Monday
11:30 - 21:30
Tuesday
11:30 - 21:30
Wednesday
11:30 - 21:30
Thursday
11:30 - 21:30
Friday
11:30 - 21:30
Saturday
11:30 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: N2 The Boardwalk | 1 Honeysuckle Drive, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Greater Newcastle  >  Newcastle
  • Phone Number: +61 2 4929 4122
  • E-mail
Description
Here in the Honeysuckle Precinct of Newcastle, a modern take on a rich history of cuisine in a restaurant that also brings you the exotic mix of the teppanyaki bar, fresh sashimi and sushi, rare Japanese craft beers, whisky and sake, degustation menus, banquets and a venue for group functions.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing