We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Border Inn Hotel

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Floors marked for social distancing
Updated 14/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 14/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

#1 of 6 Bar in Moama
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$ 3 - US$ 36
CUISINES
Bar, Pub, Australian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveller rating
152
99
25
14
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
152
99
25
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thai beef salad nasi goreng scotch fillet gnocchi nice outdoor area on tap wednesday night cooked to perfection meals chips echuca melbourne bistro
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Second time eating here in 6 weeks and second time disappointed with our meal. Shared a steak sandwich today ($24), sour dough bread soggy, steak chewy, small bacon bits, Swiss cheese not melted and ordinary salad not to mention aoli way too garlicy. Chips were...the hero of the meal. Seriously it won't be lockdowns that impact your business, its your mediocre overpriced meals on offer.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 17 July 2021

Asked to be moved due to noisy table next to us.....that was OK but it went downhill from there. Food was average, Arancini balls cold, Steak gristle, Nasi Goreng swimming in oil, Risotto same....all in all so dissapointed. Asked the manager (after waiting 20 mins)...to clear the table...his abrasive nature lead to a heated argument. Employees on Covid duty at the door were rude - so all in all, a big no from us (6)More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 June 2021

We had breakfast and dinner at this hotel and found both meals excellent for hotel meals. Friendly helpful staff and food at reasonable prices.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
peter s, Public Relations Manager at Border Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2021

Hi Ian, thanks for the awesome feedback, We also offer some great winter accommodation rates. Things a little crazy in these covid times but we are grateful for your support and hope next time you are in town you can join us for some of...More

Reviewed 29 May 2021

This hotel in Moama provided great meals and had a good vibe. The service was excellent, kudos to the staff. Our meals on both nights we ate there, were good quality and tasty; no skimping on portion sizes here either. Recommend duck spring rolls, Thai...beef salad and nasi goreng. My partner didn’t complain about his meals either. Good job guys, in trying timesMore

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
peter s, Public Relations Manager at Border Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2021

Hi Billies, awesome review, times are a little challenging but the support from our visitors and locals is so greatly appreciated. I love the duck rolls and the Thai beef and Nasi are some of our most popular dishes we serve. We have some winter...More

Reviewed 28 April 2021 via mobile

Unfortunately undercooked rice is a huge faux pas in the pasta marinara world. I requested the gluten free option for my partner and wasn’t told it would be a risotto base - My partner returned the meal and minutes later the female manager or chef...confronted him about the undercooked rice being the gluten free option. It was an awkward moment, she appeared defensive which is understandable ....but the rice was crunchy. He ordered a steak instead with sauce and she corrected him by saying the sauce wasn’t gluten free. He then said no sauce because he was hungry and abit over it. I ordered the roasted beetroot salad. The beetroot wasn’t roasted it was either cooked in the microwave or a pot. I couldn’t tell you how many baby beets there were possibly 4, cut up into small chunks, with small portions of goat cheese and what seemed like a bag of washed mixed salad leaves from Coles which I couldn’t eat. It was a disappointing meal/experience sorry. The outdoor dining area was pleasant to sit in.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
peter s, Guest Relations Manager at Border Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2021

Hi K, extremely disappointed that we have not met your expectations with your dining experience. Our Italian chefs take great pride with the classical dishes that we serve but there seems to have been a communication breakdown somewhere. I have spoken to our chefs and...More

Reviewed 11 April 2021

Props to the staff cos it was a very busy evening they did an okay job keeping up with the demands of the customers. They could of benefited with extra staff. Opon entering the hotel we noticed it was very noisy and for the rest...of the duration of time there. It was difficult to hear people talking over the table. We were seated in the corner under the kitchen serving window which made it even more difficult hear conversation ,cramped,uncomfortable in tight space. Service was slow due to the busyness but that was expected. When the waitress did take our orders there were very few meals available on the menu as they’d sold out of most dishes -bit disappointing. The meals eventually arrived and were cold and tasteless. We were recommended the fish of the day although the fish was oily and lack flavour. The nasi goreng was clagy and pretty underwhelming and the steak was dry and ordinary. Our waitress was nice and I was pleasantly surprised she remembered me calling and booking the table asking how our drive up from Melbourne was and fitting us in last minute. All in all no body really enjoyed there meal but as we were so hungry from our travel we ate it. Post restaurant we all felt a bit sick with one actually vomiting I wouldn’t recommend going here.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
peter s, Guest Relations Manager at Border Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2021

Hi Kim, extremely disappointing that your visit with us was not a positive one We take great pride in delivering a quality fresh locally sourced product but it seems on this occasion we did not meet your expectation. I hope on your next visit to...More

Reviewed 28 March 2021 via mobile

Came in to have drinks late afternoon and decided to stay for dinner. So glad we did. Husband had nasi goreng and raved about it. I had calamari and it was delicious. Staff were also very pleasant making sure we enjoyed our meals. Nice outdoor...area. It seemed to get busy so get in early, the word must be getting out that they serve good food!More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
peter s, Guest Relations Manager at Border Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2021

Hi B, thank you so mush for the awesome review. Nasi is one of most popular dishes for sure and the calamari certainly is delicious. We have some great cocktail special going at the moment perfect reason for a early knockoff Friday. Thanks again for...More

Reviewed 5 February 2021 via mobile

Have had a few breakfasts here recently and food is good, but not exceptional. Coffee was good and service is okay.

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?1  
peter s, Guest Relations Manager at Border Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2021

Hi Robbie, interesting feedback we would really love your input on how we can make your experience better at the Border inn on your next visit. Give us a call at the hotel anytime. Cheers

Reviewed 24 January 2021 via mobile

Three of us had a very good meal. Was typical pub type food, but a little better presented than the usual. Price was good, professional and attentive waitstaff, lightning fast delivery - which was surprising as they were full of customers. Will go again as...the Duck Spring Rolls are to die for.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
peter s, Guest Relations Manager at Border Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2021

Hi Para thanks for the great feedback. Duck spring rolls are certainly my favourite. Great to be trading with all of our regulars visiting from interstate. Hope you can join us again soon check out some of our great new cocktail specials. Cheers

Reviewed 29 December 2020 via mobile

Fabulous breakfast menu with large serves. Very friendly staff too. Thought we'd try dinner too which was dissapointing. Chicken snitzel far too dry and overcooked with salad that might as well have come out of supermarket bag. Nasi goreng was also just adequate. I saying...that, really nice and up market pub environment with ample indoor and outdoor areas.will definately return for breakfast.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Moama Motel
26 reviews
.05 km away
Bridges on Meninya
125 reviews
.14 km away
Moama Central Motel
63 reviews
.20 km away
Meninya Palms Moama
152 reviews
.35 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
MV Mary Ann
1,255 reviews
1.05 km away
Junction
227 reviews
.21 km away
Moama Bowling Club
627 reviews
.23 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Madison Day Spa
25 reviews
.57 km away
TwistED Science - Echuca
120 reviews
1.32 km away
National Holden Motor Museum : Echuca
504 reviews
1.25 km away
Port of Echuca Discovery Centre
972 reviews
1.14 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Border Inn Hotel staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Border Inn Hotel

Yes, Border Inn Hotel is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Border Inn Hotel is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4