We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carlton Bar & Restaurant Christchurch

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2017 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings

Location and contact

PRICE RANGE
US$ 9 - US$ 30
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
CUISINES
Steakhouse, Bar, European, Pub, New Zealand
FEATURES
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (442)
Filter reviews
426 results
Traveller rating
177
145
53
34
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
177
145
53
34
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews duck fat potatoes steak ribs seafood ice cream bread bar snacks cooked perfectly great meal new zealand sides booth garlic motel nz
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 426 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We ventured here to have our last meal in New Zealand before heading home and were encouraged by the chance of a big bit of steak. We were shown a few t-bone cuts and chose what we thought would be a nice dinner but it...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank TrevFerra
GarethCHCH, General Manager at Carlton Bar & Restaurant Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded today

Hi, thank you for taking the time to review your experience, that's certainly disappointing that the steak you choose was of the highest standard. Could you please let us know a little more about your visit by email so we can look into what happened...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

Couldn't have asked for more - had booked another place for lunch for a special birthday but the menu they'd suggested was only available for dinner, not lunch. So we were getting off to a bad start for birthday celebrations when one of the locals...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank RonWamberal
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family and I went for lunch there and the place is fantastic. The staff were amazing and friendly. We didn't have to wait to be served and the meals came out in a short time. The meals are delicious and are reasonably priced. We...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Mark1970CHCH
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We picked the Carlton as we had been there previously and the service and food was great. Once we arrived we were seated at a table beside the door and we ordered drinks. Approximately 10 minutes later we asked the waitress how the drinks were...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank deraullee
Curiosity64770497469, Manager at Carlton Bar & Restaurant Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Deraullee It is disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your experience with us especially after previously having such a good experience which led you to make the choice to return. I apologise that your experience was not up to our usual standard....More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I have just left this establishment, and for the second year running, the food, and service was like a yo yo. Our group had a private function, with a number of tables. Some received gourmet chicken, cheeses, etc, other got bits of basic bread with...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank RichardM8390
Curiosity64770497469, Manager at Carlton Bar & Restaurant Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

RichardM8390 It is disappointing to read that you did not enjoy the Christmas function you attended with us recently. I would like the opportunity to contact you if you could provide me with a phone number or email address. Kind regards Nikki operations@carltonbar.co.nz

Reviewed 30 November 2018 via mobile

Three of us met for our annual Christmas lunch. No parking, unless you count the 60 minute strictly enforced parking ($200 to get your car back if towed). Once inside we were seated and after some time got to order drinks and food. I ordered...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank 698tonir
Curiosity64770497469, Manager at Carlton Bar & Restaurant Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2018

Hi 698tonir It is disappointing to read that your lunch experience was below your expectations, and well below our normal service level for this I apologise. Would you let me know a contact number or email we can reach you on to find out more...More

Reviewed 24 November 2018 via mobile

Booked for 4 people to celebrate a wedding anniversary... arrived to be greeted with no booking was made. Yet I had emailed on 19th November and rung on 20th November assured that my booking was there for 24th November NOT!!. We were then seated at...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Traceystratton66
Curiosity64770497469, Manager at Carlton Bar & Restaurant Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2018

Hi Tracey Very sorry that your eperience with us was no where close to the slick service we pride ourselves on. Would you let me know a contact number or email we can reach you on to find out more about your visit please. Kind...More

Reviewed 21 November 2018 via mobile

Booked for 8 people for dinner to celebrate my husband’s birthday. Place was neat and nice; spacious table & seats. We ordered starters which came quite quickly which was really good, but we waited really long for our mains and drinks to arrive. Drinks arrived...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank angeliem17
Curiosity64770497469, Manager at Carlton Bar & Restaurant Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2018

Angeliem17 So sorry that your experience was anything but fantastic, this really isn't up to our standard which we pride ourselves on. Would you let me know a contact number or email we can reach you on to find out a little more about your...More

Reviewed 19 November 2018 via mobile

The best selection for breakfast. Everyone of our group was covered and it was great food. As usual the staff wee on the ball and super friendly. as we were catching Helitours to the racecourse timing and organisation were superb. thks Olivia and Nikki and...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 743prueh
BritneyP53, Manager at Carlton Bar & Restaurant Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2018

Good evening! Thank you so much for reviewing your cup day experience with us. We really did strive to out on a show for such an important occasion in Christchurch and are glad to hear the whole helicopter package did not disappoint! Look forward to...More

Reviewed 12 November 2018 via mobile

When walking in I was getting a vibe of a higher end pub with the tall chair backs and moody decor, so it felt a little awkward to be seated alone, but then loud voices and laughter were coming from behind a random curtain. Turned...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank NicW110
BritneyP53, Manager at Carlton Bar & Restaurant Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2018

Hi Nic. Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. So glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again for the future and out-doing your last experience. Thanks again. Britney Parker.

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Carlton Bar & Restaurant Christchurch staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing