We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ocean Cafe & Bar Scarborough

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Cafe, New Zealand, Bar, Seafood, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
147 Esplanade | Clock Tower End, Sumner, Christchurch, New Zealand
+64 3-326 7923
Website
Today
08:00 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Fri 08:00 - 21:00
Sat - Thu 08:00 - 17:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 39: English reviews
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very pleasant, staff lovely and food great overlooking the ocean on a lazy summers day, doesn't get better than that :)

Helpful?
Thank AvrC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Local friends introduced us to this great little restaurant and bar by the sea. A menu to suit most tastes and friendly attentive staff. I'm sure it helped that our friends are regulars at this place. Great location on the foreshore. If you are in the area give it a try.

Helpful?
1 Thank George S
Bedfordshire, England
Level Contributor
80 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

Stopped off for a light lunch - delicious pulled pork pizza, fries and berry smoothies. Friendly, hard working staff. Enjoyed the view over the Pacific Ocean watching the surfers and paddle boarding.

Helpful?
Thank LBuzzard
Jules P, Owner at Ocean Cafe & Bar Scarborough, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you very much for your lovely review - it is a difficult thing to keep all customers happy as I'm sure you would appreciate! Makes it all worth while when we receive positive feedback. Thank you! Cheers Jules More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

One of the best cafe sea views in Christchurch Nicely prepared meals Excellent service Seafood chowder very nice We will come again

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Jules P, Owner at Ocean Cafe & Bar Scarborough, responded to this review

Hello! Its great to see that you enjoyed your time at Ocean. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Cheers Jules More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2017

We were witness to a most appalling incident where the manager was shouting at 2 women who were sitting in a sheltered outside spot with their dog and had been given permission by the staff to do so. We found the food average and also noticed that on a beautiful summer day, when an ice cream van came down the... More 

Helpful?
Thank DaisysMum_11
Jules P, Owner at Ocean Cafe & Bar Scarborough, responded to this review

Hi there, Can I ask if Adriandcass is a friend of yours? With regards to the situation on Saturday - one of our junior staff was approached by one of the ladies to ask about sitting down for lunch - Kara, our staff member clearly said yes no problem, however, Kara did not see the dog the 2 ladies had... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2017

I feel sorry for the staff at this restaurant. The guy in charge is rude and has no idea about customer service. Food is average. Very disappointing lunch, and then he also prevented us from getting a Mr Whippy icecream through his anti competitive behaviour. Not a business to support. Plenty of choice in Sumner

Helpful?
3 Thank Adriandcass
Jules P, Owner at Ocean Cafe & Bar Scarborough, responded to this review

Hi Adriandcass, I've just been alerted to your review from Trip Advisor & I have to be honest, I'm totally surprised. As you can see from previous reviews we offer excellent customer service & excellent food - we pride ourselves on this at Ocean Cafe & Bar. My concern is, you may have the wrong restaurant, as we don't have... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2016

we only had a hot drink and a cake but really enjoyed our visit. the sheltered verandah was perfect for watching the activity out on the water, so close! after missing out on marshmallows on our hot chocolate we politely asked and were rewarded with a whole cupful! thanks guys :) we were warm enough but appreciated seeing a big... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AdrienneJ15
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Perfect place to dine, right on the ocean, yummy food, bright and happy staff, reasonable prices, tables indoors and outdoors.

Helpful?
Thank Nettie P
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
102 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

New Zealand is an island with fabulous beaches but there are not many where u can enjoy a coffee overlooking the beach. Oceans is one. We cycled along the promenade and had a great breakfast overlooking the sea. Even some of the inside seats have great views. The French toast and creamy mushrooms were great. There is dog parking outside

Helpful?
Thank onerosenz
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2016

My wife and I were out enjoying the sun and decided to try the cafe for lunch. We were met at the door by a smiling waitress shown a seat and given a menu all with the feeling she enjoyed being there which also made us enjoy being there. we had the tasty pizza and excellent coffees. All staff were... More 

Helpful?
Thank russell b
Jules P, Owner at Ocean Cafe & Bar Scarborough, responded to this review

Hi there - thanks for yr great review. I've had a chat to our male staff, light heartedly of course and have nicknamed one of them Grump! Glad you enjoyed the pizza special and coffee. Hope to see you again! Cheers Jules More 

Travellers who viewed Ocean Cafe & Bar Scarborough also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Ocean Cafe & Bar Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 3 - US$ 15
Cuisine
Cafe, New Zealand, Bar, Seafood, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 17:00
Monday
08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 17:00
Thursday
08:00 - 17:00
Friday
08:00 - 21:00
Saturday
08:00 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 147 Esplanade | Clock Tower End, Sumner, Christchurch, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: +64 3-326 7923
Description
What better place is there in Christchurch to enjoy a relaxing dining experience whilst looking at the surfers, the SuP's, the seagulls & the swimmers - located on Sumner Esplanade, down by the clock tower.Follow us on Facebook : OceanCafeBarScarborough

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Cafe & Bar Scarborough staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?