We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant

₹₹₹₹Seafood, , European
Jervois Quay | Queens Wharf, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
+64 4-499 9069
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good31%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (72 reviews)
“tuna” (35 reviews)
“bluff oysters” (18 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, New Zealand, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Jervois Quay | Queens Wharf, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (860)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 826 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

Wonderful recommendation from the hotel. It is an excellent choice for dinner. The food quality was wonderful and the service was terrific.

Thank shendrix
shed5crabshack, Manager at Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi there, Thank you for your review, I'm pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience as well as the service. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Wellington! Best wishes from all at Shed 5.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited on a Monday evening and the place was quite busy which was a good sign. We were seated and our order taken quickly. The restaurant has a policy of taking your wine bottle away from the table and bringing it back when you need...More

Thank Tony G
shed5crabshack, Manager at Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Tony, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read you were not happy with the timing of your dining experience with us. We strive to deliver exceptional food and service in a reasonable time and I am sorry your wife had to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just enjoyed a nice long lazy lunch and loved it. The food was very good... we enjoyed the bruschetta and white bait to start, followed by seafood risotto and a salmon dish. Loved the side of asparagus and broccolini with pesto. The service (from Sam)...More

Thank annieandnick
shed5crabshack, Manager at Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Annie, Thank you for your review. I am pleased to see you had a wonderful time with us on a Sunday lunch. Shed 5 is a lovely place to enjoy a long lunch out with fantastic view on the water front. I am glad...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very good food, inventive menu and we'll cooked. Our waitress was delightful, we had let the restaurant know when booking that this was a birthday celebration but there was no mention of this. Also during our meal the restaurant became very cold as they must...More

Thank travelmadbob
shed5crabshack, Manager at Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there! Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your meal and are sorry you experienced the need to put on your coats during the evening. I wish you had let us know so we could promptly fix the issue....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Shed 5 provides great food and very good service. Located on the waterfront it specializes in fresh sea food. Reservations are suggested as it is very popular.More

Thank daveO7659XN
shed5crabshack, Manager at Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Dave, Thank you for your review, excellent to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us! As you mentioned, we do offer the freshest fish & seafood in town and are glad enjoyed your meals. We look forward to seeing you again! Best...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went to Shed 5 and had one of the best fish and chip meals. Also the eye fillet was delicious with tasty Gorgonzola in the spinach. I had a creme brûlée it was nice.

Thank Sue T
shed5crabshack, Manager at Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Sue Thank you for your comments, it's fantastic to hear you enjoyed your dining experience with us, particularly your Fish and Chips! We look forward to seeing you again very soon! Best wishes from all at Shed 5.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I've always passed this restaurant and thought it looked nice, but with so many other amazing places and recommendations here in Wellys, I'd never made it. Sure, it was pricey. But the restaurant has a great outlook, the service was good, and, the food was...More

Thank Emsy22
shed5crabshack, Manager at Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there Thank you for your comments, I'm pleased you celebrated your special occasion with us! I'm glad you enjoyed your dining experience and in particular our freshest seafood! We look forward to seeing you again Best wishes from all at Shed 5.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had some of the best sea food ive ever had, here. I asked the waiter about the food, and I feel she was just trying to sell me as much as she could. I had a starter and a main, AND two sides, which...More

1  Thank EdiMees
shed5crabshack, Manager at Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi there, Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our seafood selection, in particular our very special Seafood Chowder. I am sorry to read you felt the urge to order 2 sides. Our waitstaff are indeed very enthusiastic about the...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Shed 5 is our go-to place for taking visitors we are hosting in Wellington. The menu is simple, but great. Tasty locally sourced food, the market fish is fresh and well prepared, the lamb and beef options consistent and presented nicely. The wine list represent...More

Thank Allan S
shed5crabshack, Manager at Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Allan, Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read we are your go-to place when receiving visitors and are proud to be serving the freshest seafood in town accompanied by great local wines. Located on the waterfront, Shed 5 is a great...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very friendly and accommodating. Just had a coffee but the food and drink looked excellent. Nice atmosphere.very clean.

Thank bc4449
shed5crabshack, Manager at Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi there, Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your time for a coffee with us. You should try our lovely selection of drinks and freshest seafood next time your are in town. Best wishes from us all at Shed 5.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Charley Noble Eatery & Bar
793 reviews
.14 km away
Chameleon Restaurant
345 reviews
.16 km away
The Crab Shack
1,333 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wellington Museum
1,015 reviews
.15 km away
City to Sea Bridge
210 reviews
.37 km away
Frank Kitts Park
172 reviews
.30 km away
Wellington Underground Market
174 reviews
.30 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Prof50
9 February 2015|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Carlos Alfredo G | Reviewed this property |
I don't think so cause es were on jeans.
0
Votes
Google Translation
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 21 - US$ 59
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, After-hours
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Highchairs Available, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, View
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Jervois Quay | Queens Wharf, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Greater Wellington  >  Wellington
  • Phone Number: +64 4-499 9069
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing