We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crab Shack

) #28 of 692 Restaurants in Wellington ₹₹ - ₹₹₹ , Seafood,
Queens Wharf | Queens Wharf, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
649164250
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good42%
  • Average14%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“crab” (252 reviews)
“seafood” (175 reviews)
“calamari” (66 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, Seafood, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹ - ₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Queens Wharf | Queens Wharf, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (1,226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,157 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Ver busy place fun great food crab wonder softshell crab the best!!!! fish dish too sweet great service even when busy staff kids really very friendly and helpful nice if you like prwns and crbMore

Thank Michael A
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hey there, Great to hear you had a blast with us, I'm glad you enjoyed your experience and found the service to be up to usual standard. Thank you also for the kind words on the food, the soft shell crab and the prawns are...More

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We rang a few days before to book a table for 4 to be told they didn't take bookings. So we decided to dine early to ensure a table. We turned up just before 5 pm and were pleased to see the place empty to...More

Thank Alipa50
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi there, Bummed to hear we couldn’t accommodate you at the time of your arrival. It was a good idea to come in early but please be advised we do run a waitlist once we are full. Thus the empty seats in the restaurant would...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lured in by the Monday daily deal of half price mussels from 3pm to 6pm this was a hugely disappointing visit. Arrived at 4.30pm. Ordered drinks, a shared starter and two mussel main courses. Drinks and starter duly arrived. At 5.55pm we were advised by...More

Thank Wallacemonument
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi there, I’d like to apologize profusely for your dining experience with us. We are totally at fault for misjudging the quantity of mussels that would be sold throughout the deal that day which is unacceptable and highly embarrassing for us on a deal promotion...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Cool atmosphere. Lovely food and drinks. Friendly staff. Chocolate brownie sooooo yummy. Good idea to book as they get busy. If the are full, they take your number and call you. So you can go have a drink somewhereMore

Thank Clare T
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi there, Thanks so much for the choice feedback! I’m glad the whole experience was one to remember for you accompanied by swift and friendly service too. Hopefully you'll pay us another visit next time you're wandering the waterfront. Please be advised we only do...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

great food, great atmosphere, it was super busy as it was match day but the food was great. Prawns were brilliant.More

Thank BEA818
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi there, Good times are what we’re all about! Thanks for your positive feedback we do our best to give everyone the best experience so they will come back and see us. The prawns are choice! Next time you visit you perhaps try them in...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

A busy, fun place on the waterfront. Very relaxed dining on mainly high bar stools - some a little wobbly! If you love seafood you will love The Crab Shack. They also offer menu options for non seafood fans. Excellent, friendly and helpful service from...More

Thank lmwainui
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi there, Super to hear that you had fun with us hear at the shack! It’s true we do provide other options on our menu to accommodate everyone. For those who don’t enjoy seafood there are ample dishes to choose from. We look forward to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It was Ok but having been there on three previous occasions they were better ! Not stunning and some dishes were pretty average . Not likely to make a fifth visit there are better options.More

Thank Alneatz
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi there, Thanks for your feedback, disappointing to hear your fourth visit wasn’t as good as the first three. We aim to provide the best food and service and 99% of the time we hit the mark. Without any specifics provided I’m at a loss...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It's been awhile since we attended but both times I was underwhelmed. I remember being unimpressed with the serving of food on enamel plates and wine in enamel cups. They are going for that low key homely feel but the prices didn't really match that...More

Thank Cristy-NZ
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi there, Sorry to hear your experience this time around wasn’t up to usual standard. The crab is a little bit of hard work and takes a bit of time I understand, this can be frustrating, but! Perseverance is key! It’s all part of the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

we had to wait 30 mins for a table but we had a choice to sit at bar or to come back. We ordered onion rings, bread, manchego salad and blue swimmer crab with garlic butter sauce. the crab was worth the visit; sweet, messy,...More

Thank ivyleague10
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there, Thank you for your positive feedback. I’m happy to hear that you decided to wait for a table to dine with us. But! Like you mentioned we do have a great bar in Shed 5 (our sister restaurant) where we encourage people to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Firstly, this place isn't baby friendly. With very limited number of "low tables" available, and "no bookings for tables under ten" we arrived at an early hour of just before 5pm, to find still we had to sit at a high pub style table with...More

Thank Shanni F
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there thank you for your feedback in regards to your dining experience at the Crab shack. We take all feedback seriously so we can constantly improve our service. I would like to apologize that we didn’t hit the mark on this occasion. I apologize...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant
809 reviews
.02 km away
Charley Noble Eatery & Bar
717 reviews
.13 km away
Chameleon Restaurant
315 reviews
.16 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wellington Museum
970 reviews
.14 km away
City to Sea Bridge
181 reviews
.35 km away
Wellington City Library
235 reviews
.45 km away
Frank Kitts Park
162 reviews
.28 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Shaq M
3 April 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from gazzy43 | Reviewed this property |
Hi Shaq. Sorry - just seen your question a week late. Try calling them to ask. One of my Grandsons has an allergy problem so if we were to go to any place (let alone Crab Shack) we would explain our issue and see if they... More
0
Votes
Qinni
6 November 2016|
Answer
Response from Steven R | Reviewed this property |
No I dont think so. You can see the menu on the Internet if you google the crab shack -Wellington NZ
1
Vote
Qinni
6 November 2016|
Answer Show all 7 answers
Response from harvey s | Reviewed this property |
No sorry
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 11 - US$ 26
Cuisine
Bar, Seafood, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Accepts Discover
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 22:00
Monday
11:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 22:00
Thursday
11:30 - 22:00
Friday
11:30 - 22:00
Saturday
11:30 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Queens Wharf | Queens Wharf, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Greater Wellington  >  Wellington
  • Phone Number: 649164250
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing