We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bistro Lago

) #21 of 92 Restaurants in Taupo ₹₹₹₹ European, ,
80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
+64 7-376 2319
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good23%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“lamb rump” (11 reviews)
“sorbet” (5 reviews)
“truffles” (5 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
European, New Zealand, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
₹₹₹₹
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
Reviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 140 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

We enjoyed every aspect of our meal. Plates were well presented, tasty mains and lovely sides. We wished we hadnt had the bread because we bcouldn't fit in dessert however the surprise petit fours for our anniversary managed to disappear. Very attentive service from Vishal...More

Thank StephAnie E
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2015

Dear StephAnie E, Thank you for taking time to write your recent feedback on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent anniversary experience with us. I have passed your feedback on to the kitchen and front of house staff. We look...More

Reviewed 22 August 2015

We had two breakfasts here, as guests of the hotel. Both breakfasts were the worst we ever had at a Hilton. First of all, the buffet was lacking, and was not on a par with buffet breakfasts in other Hiltons. Secondly, the place was filled...More

1  Thank TheShis
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2015

Dear TheShis, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor in regard to your breakfast experience back in April. I am sorry to hear that we fell short of you expectations and you felt that our offering and service were not...More

Reviewed 17 August 2015

As 2 couple we had dinner to celebrate our significant wedding anniversaries & birthdays. What a great choice we made. From moment we arrived until we left we were treated as extra special guests. We all ordered a single main course only and that was...More

Thank AytonWellington
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2015

Dear AytonWellington, Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review on Tripadvisor. I am extremely pleased to read that we exceeded you expectations when celebrating you birthday/wedding anniversaries and have passed your feedback on to the team. Thank you again for your...More

Reviewed 10 August 2015

Lovely Taupo bistro This is usually our favorite choice for dining in Taupo, the place is cosy so ring and book to ensure getting a table. Great staff, lots of character, great food in a place run by real Taupo locals....what more could you want.More

Thank Tony P
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2015

Dear Tony P, Thank you for your recent feedback on tripadvisor I am glad that we are your favorite choice when visiting Taupo. I have passed your feedback on to our front of house staff and kitchen. We look forward to welcome you back to...More

Reviewed 3 August 2015

While staying the the Hilton we ate here for dinner and breakfast. The staff are friendly and helpful the decor very pleasant and the view great. We had a delicious meal at dinner time combined with some lovely wine recommended by the waiter. All the...More

Thank HampshireRoadrunner
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2015

Dear HampshireRoadrunner, Thank you for your wonderful Feedback on TripAdvisor. It was fantastic to read that you had enjoyed your dining experience with us. We are very lucky to have such a Beautiful view of the lake and mountain, with good food to match. I...More

Reviewed 3 August 2015

The scenery doesn't get better than this. It's such a wonderful place to enjoy breakfast. My husband and I had the whole restaurant to our selves . The food is a great display of fresh NZ produce. The service is excellent. Food always tastes better...More

Thank Meridee K
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2015

Dear Meridee K, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor in regard to your breakfast experience. We do have beautiful array of NZ foods and our omelettes are made with free range eggs and locally grown vegetables. Your feed back...More

Reviewed 20 July 2015

Wonderful cosy restaurant to have pre or post drinks by the fire. Dinner was very nice. Friendly staff.More

Thank VettySG
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2015

Dear VettySG, Thank you for your recent feedback, I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your evening. Our staff do thrive to make all our customers feel welcome and we are lucky that our bar area has a fantastic fire place where guests can...More

Reviewed 16 July 2015

Conveniently located in the Hilton, this is a great 'hotel' restaurant... not a massive menu but a good cross section, and a comprehensive wine list. Service was great as well. Extremely good breakfast restaurant.More

Thank L170KUjimc
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2015

Dear L170KUjimc, Thank you for your recent post on TripAdvisor and I am glad to hear you enjoyed your recent experience with us. I will pass your feedback to both our front of house and kitchen team. Looking forward in welcoming you back in Bistro...More

Reviewed 13 July 2015

After a long weekend, on a cool Sunday afternoon in June by an open fire, eating great food and drinking great wine, it doesn't get a lot better. The atmosphere this particular afternoon was exceptional, attentive waiters and bar staff but they left us alone...More

Thank CreteW2015
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2015

Hi CreteW2015, Thank you for posting such wonderful feedback on TripAdvisor, and I am delighted to see that your group enjoyed your afternoon with us and you you could not fault our service, food or atmosphere. CreteW2015, thank you again for your lovely comments and...More

Reviewed 8 July 2015

Had the fish for lunch and mine was slightly overlooked. Not by much and I did enjoy it. It was quiet. Our table for two and one other. It was a beautiful winters day although fresh and the views and location are pretty special. See...More

Thank Viv W
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2015

Dear Viv W, I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent lunch experience and you for taking the time to post your wonderful comments on TripAdvisor. I did share your comments in regard the fish dish to our executive chef for his reference....More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Mole & Chicken
216 reviews
1.17 km away
Espresso Cove
77 reviews
1.18 km away
Edgewater Restaurant
181 reviews
1.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
Great Lake Taupo
208 reviews
1.59 km away
Waipahihi Botanical Gardens
117 reviews
.72 km away
Wairakei Geothermal Power Station Visitor Center
72 reviews
1.03 km away
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
396 reviews
.15 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
gogirl17
Do you have local trout on the menu?
13 January 2016|
Answer
Response from Guido P | Property representative |
Hi St. Augustine, Sorry for the late reply. Legally we cannot have trout on the menu, I am afraid. However if you catch one, we are more than welcome to cook it for you. all we need to see if your current fishing license... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$ 17 - US$ 28
Cuisine
European, New Zealand, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Waikato Region  >  Taupo District  >  Taupo
  • Phone Number: +64 7-376 2319
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing