We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Gusto Restaurant

₹₹ - ₹₹₹
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
55 Ocean View Parade | New Plymouth, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
+64 6-759 8133
Website
Today
10:00 - 14:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 09:00 - 14:00
Mon - Tue 10:00 - 14:00
Wed - Fri 10:00 - 21:00
Sat 09:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

265 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 264: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Mum and I came for lunch, scallops were amazing,awesome place really enjoyed my coffee, friendly staff and great service

Helpful?
Thank Tess K
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have just come home for having a lovely meal at Gusto. What an enjoyable evening. The service was first rate, the staff were helpful and friendly and attentive. All the people in our party really enjoyed their food. Will go again - soon. Jean R

Helpful?
Thank thereeds757
Meeniyan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The location is right by the breakwater good food well presented & reasonable priced ,friendly service

Helpful?
Thank Frank A
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great friendly service, awesome ambiance, amazing view over looking the ocean. Food was Quick with a good selection on the menu

Helpful?
Thank rickychapman
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

New Plymouth is a gourmet delight. This restaurant is right on the seaside plenty of light and wonderful view. Our waiter was knowledgeable and very attentive. We had to wait a bit for drinks at the start but we were a large group. Two of our group were disappointed in the meal and this was acknowledged and another dish was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dianne A
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

In 20 years of dining out with my husband who is in a wheelchair we have never been offered to have the table raised to allow wheelchair to fit under. and then on top of that I was given a couple of cushions so I wouldn't be too low. friendly attentive staff and beautiful presented meals made a lovely evening... More 

Helpful?
Thank Natalie C
gustotaranaki, Manager at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Natalie, We are all thrilled to hear such a charming friendly couple had such an enjoyable time at Gusto last Saturday. We like to think it is the little things that make a big difference and we are always happy to go the extra mile to cater for our customers needs! We look forward to you joining us again... More 

Havelock North, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Came here for breakfast today as we wanted a waterfront location. It is a great spot down at the busy harbour but lacking in atmosphere. Service was good as was the coffee but the eggs benedict at $21.00 was a disappointment as the spinach under the eggs made the bread soggy. The prices were a bit high for New Plymouth... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan W
gustotaranaki, Manager at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Alan, Great to hear you enjoyed our location, service and coffee. Sorry to hear you were disappointed with your eggs benedict. It is one of our most popular dishes and your feedback is unusual. Had you informed us we would have been happy to get you an alternative breakfast. We try to price our meals fairly according to production... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having read the reviews and spoken with two groups of locals we were looking forward to our evening at Gusto. The food was bland, the service was intrusive and unpolished, the ambiance was non existent. All in all it was underwhelming considering the prices. Despite the fantastic location and outlook at dusk we felt the staff just wanted us fed... More 

Helpful?
Thank solomon08
gustotaranaki, Manager at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Solomon, We are all sorry to hear you had an underwhelming experience at Gusto. Without knowing further details we are unable to comment on your bland food. We have taken your feed-back on our intrusive and unpolished service on board and will use it for further staff training. Normally our customers create their own atmosphere. We realize in bigger... More 

Lyttelton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
134 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very pleasant staff and met with a big welcoming smile ... lovely. Thoroughly enjoyed my smoked salmon and scallop fish cakes, beautifully presented with colourful super fresh salad. Lovely to have a sea view while we ate.

Helpful?
Thank HelenJG786
gustotaranaki, Manager at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Helen, It has been a pleasure for Gusto to host many visitors here for this years garden festival. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your meals and our friendly service with a smile. Thank you for taking the time to comment on your very positive experience! More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Dinner for 6 last night, very nice food and view. Beautiful pan fried snapper with vegetables which was very tasty. Great portions. Certainly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank JUPANDMUP
gustotaranaki, Manager at Gusto Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Jupandmup, We are all so pleased to hear your party of six had a delightful evening with good food, generous portions and great views too. Nothing beats fresh fish right on the water. Thank you so much for your glowing recommendation! More 

Travellers who viewed Gusto Restaurant also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Gusto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$ 11 - US$ 30
Cuisine
Seafood, European, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Discover
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 14:00
Monday
10:00 - 14:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 14:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 21:00
Thursday
10:00 - 21:00
Friday
10:00 - 21:00
Saturday
09:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 55 Ocean View Parade | New Plymouth, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Taranaki Region  >  New Plymouth
  • Phone Number: +64 6-759 8133
Description
Gusto Restaurant is a new spacious dining experience right on the waterfront, with plenty of deck space for outdoor dining on fine days, or warm, cosy waterfront dining indoors on cooler days or nights. We are open every day for breakfast, lunch or dinner with plenty of parking available. Our chefs source top quality ingredients fresh daily to ensure our meals are enjoyed by everyone, and they come back to Gusto time and again.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Gusto Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Gusto Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?